We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #68 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Huge Room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I happened to get a room here one night from Priceline. I never stayed there before, so I am not a member of their rewards club. So I got my room and walked up to it. When I got in there, I was AMAZED by the size of it. It was about 3 times the size of the normal rooms I've gotten in other hotels. Room was immaculate and actually very nicely decorated. Beds were amazing.

Other hotel amenities, gym was great and they offer some finger foods for dinner that are free of cost. Breakfast was pretty good as well. A free full breakfast is hard to come by, but for the most part, this wouldn't be considered standard fare Continental breakfast.

Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    144
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
109
74
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family really enjoyed our Washington vacation, and the convenient location of the Residence Inn. The White House and surrounding area was a short walk from the hotel, and the subway was conveniently located 2 blocks away. The rooms are large and the hot breakfast is a nice bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here three nights while visiting Washington DC. The people were so friendly. They gave us advice somewhere to eat. They gave us directions to Baltimore for an Orioles game. And the folks who serve breakfast gave a cheery greeting each morning. We stayed in a studio with a pullout sofa. The room was very nice and perfect for our three people, probably okay for four. Everything was very clean. We were only about four blocks from the White House. We felt very safe walking around at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, ON
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from out trip to Washington DC, stayed at the Residence Inn with my husband and son and it was simply excellent.
The Hotel is perfectly located, near subway, on bus route, easy access to highways, etc.
Staff is beyond thoughfull and friendly, from the Valet Driver to the Front Desk Staff to the Kitchen Staff. Everyone is always with a smile on their faces and always willing to help. Couldn't ask for more!
Room was very clean, spotless I may say, including the kitchen, bathroom, beds, etc. Studio was fully equipped with cuttlery, full size fridge, over the range microwave and... a dishwasher! Perfect! We could live there!
Breakfast was perfect, there was everything for absolutelly everyone! From sausages, eggs, variety of breads, bagles, to cereal, oatmeal, several tyupes of coffees, variety of juices, make your own waffle (2 flavours), plenty of fresh fruit, yogurts, you name it, they have it!

CVS 24h downstairs was also a plus, handy and convenient for sure!


We've stayed at quite a few hotels already and this one, is definitely one of the best ones, in all aspects!

Highly recommend it for families, business, vacations, etc etc.

Definitely want to go back there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed there for a week on a trip to attend a conference. The staff was polite, the rooms were nice and clean adn the breakfast had quite a lot of variety.
Nothing surprising as youd expect such standards from the hotel, but its always a plus when those standards are actually met !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice clean hotel with free wifi and breakfast. Great location near McPherson square metro stop. Front desk staff, especially Marie are very very nice and helpful. Only downside is the furniture in room is pretty shabby and shower floor was stained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Awesome location. Room was very clean and quiet; my son and I were in DC for a boys sightseeing trip. Room was perfect for us. Breakfast was 1st rate - even the coffee was good. Attached to hotel is a CVS and across street is a Starbucks. Just down street is a liquor/beer store. Lots of places to eat around and close to Mall and White House. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is $28/night by valet....hey, it's downtown DC! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown

Address: 1199 Vermont Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington Dc / Vermont Ave. Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Vermont Ave
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.