We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great save” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #63 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great save”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Just got back from spening a week at this location and can not say enough good things about this location. We checked into the hotel with out having prior reservations. The front desk staff was great. Are room was clean and quiet. The metro is only three blocks way. The area has enough bars and food locations to keep you moving around every night. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    109
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
89
45
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

I stayed at the Residence Inn Dupont Circle in Washington DC for a conference (located at a different hotel). This facility is your average Residence Inn. It is adequate in all regards - not poor, but certainly not outstanding.

The slightly above average qualities included a clean, well-apportioned room; convenience to Metro and area restaurants and stores; friendly food staff.

The slightly below average qualities included dreary common areas (elevator, breakfast bar); noise, both inside and out; and quality and lack of any recreation or fitness facilities (unless I didn't find them).

You shouldn't go out of your way to stay here, but you don't need to avoid it either.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Noise, inside and outside
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Dupont Circle for a couple of days during the Thanksgiving weekend. This hotel was obtained via a $51 bid through Priceline (comes out to $62 per room-night). This low, low rate wasn't available during weekdays -- I tried.

Priceline places this hotel in the 3-star category, and that's a reasonable placement. I was put into a 1-bedroom suite, which was about 400 square foot, so it was fairly spacious, even though it had a double bed.

Having a suite was a good deal. With a hotplate, a microwave, a fridge, and even a dishwasher, one didn't have to eat out all the time. Rooms are clean though well used, and plumbing was functional, though older.

The hotels near Dupont Circle are exceptional location-wise. The Residence Inn is about 3 blocks from the Dupont Circle subway stop, which allows you to hit most of DC. There are good restaurants and cafes in the area, and a small grocery store right next door. Which wasn't completely needed for breakfast, as it was complimentary -- standard free breakfast fare, though they need to fix their toaster, which shorted out and caused an 8am fire alarm throughout the hotel.

The facility is generally clean. There isn't much soundproofing between rooms -- you hear doors opening and closing all the time. Plus, window insulation isn't that great, and P Street does get decent traffic throughout the day. Buy earplugs.

All in all, considering the price of accommodations in DC, this facility offers pretty good value even at standard business rates. At a Priceline rate, it's a good bargain.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We spent 6 nights here the week of November 2, 2008.

The location is extremely convenient, it is three blocks from the DuPont Circle Metro Red Line station. You can be at any of the major sights in DC in 10-20 minutes with a single transfer, at most, to one of the other Metro Lines. We bought the $26.40 7-day Short Trip passes. Unless you are traveling out very far into Virginia or Maryland at rush hour this pass is sufficient. It took about 20 minutes on the Red Line to travel to the shopping mall at Pentagon City during rush hour, there was no extra fare required.

There is no lack of dining choices in the DuPont Circle area. There is a Metro Market (a smaller supermarket) on the ground floor of the next building west of the Residence Inn. There is a CVS Drug store at the south side of DuPont Circle. The neighborhood is extremely safe, Embassy Row starts just north of P Street and the neighborhood is full of single family townhouses, flats, etc., and several hotels.

The staff were very friendly, perhaps some of the most friendly and helpful that I have encountered at a Residence Inn. The breakfast selection was a little monotonous but adequate and the Monday through Wednesday "Manager's Reception" was OK. Thursday evening is "Desert Night", they had three different kinds of layer cake this week, each slice had a full-day's ration of calories.

There is daily maid service and the bed linens are changed twice a week unless you request otherwise.

There is free Internet access in each room. There were a few stains on the carpet and couch but this is to be expected in a place like this, some people spend weeks or even months here.

Because each unit has an individual heat pump furnace AC/Heating forced air system, you can hear the compressor when it is running but it is much quieter than the through-the-wall systems. You can open the windows in the suites to let in fresh air if so desired.

The room and hallways were odor-free. All Marriotts are smoke-free so they don't have cigarett odor or have to use odor-killing air sprays.

We drove to DC so parking was $25/day plus $3 tax in the hotel's underground garage. Parking is expensive in DC but half of that in Manhattan.

  • Liked — Quiet, two TV's, close to public transportion, dining, shopping
  • Disliked — expensive but then it is DC
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I've been staying at the Dupont Circle Residence Inn all summer, in 3 separate blocks of time. The service every single day has been so friendly that I'm writing my first review ever. Also I'm writing because one review of this hotel gave a bad rating to the service. Of the two dozen staff I've encountered these last two months, not one has been less than going out of their way to be friendly and of service. Examples such as staff running down the hall to help with luggage, to genuinely friendly breakfast greetings, to remembering my name, all contribute to a really nice feel to the place. Plus, it's very clean, and the area has great restaurants (try the Mediterranean place across the street...way good!) Quick to the Metro (go by Q St and walk by some nice trees next to embassies). Great place, plus my lengthy stay has given me elite status so I can spend some of my rewards on a vacation instead of a business trip.

  • Liked — cleanliness; kitchen
  • Disliked — kitchen light switch on far wall
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

I stayed here over a weekend for a mini-vacation and was very impressed. It is a short walk from the Dupont Circle train station and the neighborhood is "lively and eclectic" but I always felt safe. Dupont Circle is not close to monuments and museums but it is a quick train trip and is on major tour routes.
The hotel staff were nice, I really had no problems.
The room (1br) itself was updated and decorated well. It had good kitchen amenities and was clean. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean and up-to-date. No complaints about the room. I was along the street and could hear street noise but that is expected when staying in a big city.
There is a market/vending machine downstairs but it was pricey. There is a small grocery store a block or two away but also pricey and limited, there are other stores within walking or train distance if you want to get more stuff (I think that the hotel will also pick up groceries for you). Try the pizza place about a block up (you have to go downstairs to get there), it was fabulous.
The breakfast buffet on the weekend left a lot to be desired. They were out of some things and it was dirty. Not a huge deal as I grabbed something while sightseeing but this is included in the price of the room. I was there on a Monday and the breakfast was better (most likely for the business travelers).
There did not seem to be a lot for kids to do there (no pool/arcade), though I did see some families in the hotel.
I would stay here again, I like Residence Inns and this one lived up to their standard.

  • Liked — Room size/layout
  • Disliked — Weekend breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Inn, Dupont Circle the week before Christmas. We were very satisfied with the hotel and the amenties. Breakfast each day was more than enough, my husband liked the traditional breakfast with eggs, sausage, potatoes, etc. I especially enjoyed the granola with extra raisins and pecans. Our room was cleaned each day and it was very quiet, though we were in room 404 and there was a view of a parking lot and garbage cans. We walked to the White House one evening and took the metrorail daily from Dupont Circle. It was a 10 minute or less walk to the metrorail. We bought a senior pass the day we arrived and used it all week. We took a cab on Sunday to the National Cathederal and it cost $13.50 and coming home we walked across the street from the Cathedral and took the bus back to Dupont Circle for $.60 each (senior fare). There were several small grocery stores nearby. Several nights we bought take out pizza and Chinese food and ate in our room. The kitchen had everything we needed. There were complimentary daily papers (USA today and Washington Post) except on Sundays. Mondays through Wednesday they have evening meals in the Hospitality Room and Thursday evening was dessert night. We went and enjoyed it two evenings. The Hospitality Room has lots of tables and chairs, couches, a nice fireplace and a computer for anyone to use. We printed out our boarding passes the day before we left and researched a few historic places to visit in the area. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — nice neighborhood
  • Disliked — view from window
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle

Address: 2120 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.