We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating hotel for business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Washington Embassy Row to your Saves list
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #73 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very accomodating hotel for business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Courtyard Embassy Row and was overall very impressed. The lobby has plenty of seating options and working space, and they have a tiny market with some food options. There is also an adjoining restaurant Nage that is pretty good (high price point for the food options). My group appreciated the fruit-infused water in the lobby at all times (orange in one and lemon in the other), as it was above 90 degrees everyday. I shared a corner room with three others and it was HUGE! Definitely larger than we expected for a city hotel room. The room had two double beds and a sleeper sofa. They have some refrigerators that you could request at check-in, however we were unable to get one. The bathroom was tiny but adequate, with the sink outside of the bathroom. The only major complaint that I have for this room is that the beds aren't comfortable. I knew I wasn't going to get my Tempurpedic, but a spring mattress? My back was constantly in pain, however we were there for 6 nights. Others may not be as sensitive to this issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstServiceManager, Manager at Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback in regards to our amenities and rooms. However, I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our beds. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our property, and comments such as yours go a long way to help facilitate this. Again, we greatly appreciate the feedback and praise, and we hope to see you again on your next DC trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    151
    56
    22
    5
See reviews for
88
59
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ullin, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My sister and I were happy with the our travel agent's hotel choice from the time we entered the hotel. The hotel is located on Scott Circle. The staff were always helpful and courteous. I used a Debit Card and had $100 held on my card. It really helped to have this explained to me. Our room was clean, spacey, and comfortable. Looked like the hotel may be doing some room remodeling. It is always hard for me to sleep at hotels, but this bed were great. If you use the Hop on/Hop off Big Bus, the stop is just around the corner about two blocks at the Mayflower Hotel. There are many restaurants with in walking distance that do not appear on the Internet.

Room Tip: When using a Debit Card know that the hotel will have a security hold of $100 on your card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstServiceManager, Manager at Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so glad you were satisfied with your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row. Your comfort is our number one priority, and we are overjoyed that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

When I arrived, I was excited because I thought based on room location that I would have a quiet, out of the way room; however, my windows over-looked a very noisy alley. There is nothing like what I assume are deliveries at both 10:30 PM and 5:30 AM (while I understand the deliveries may not have been to the hotel, I am not sure it matters). What was even more disappointing about my noisy alley view was that there was almost no natural light allowed in, and inadequate room lighting to account for it.

If you can get over noise and poor lighting, the accommodations were fine - comfortable bed, decent sized room, appropriate water temperature and pressure. The restaurant downstairs is awesome - I used to dine here for lunch often when I lived and worked in DC. I may give Courtyard Washington Embassy Row another chance, but I had a better experience during my last hotel stay in DC, when I stayed in the Doubletree that is almost across the street (just on the other side of Scott Circle)...

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstServiceManager, Manager at Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First off, we would like to thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row for your DC travels, and for your kind words about our restaurant. That being said, we are immensely disappointed to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you on your next visit.

Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just checked out of this friendly hotel. As soon as we arrived check-in was faultless and we were given a room. The room was large enough for a family of four and of a similar standard to a Holiday Inn in the UK. There were plenty of towels and on request you could ask for extra shampoo as there wasn't enough. There were coffee facilities in the room and a bottle of water which again wasn't much for four people but extra could be requested. The room seemed clean but we did find a dirty sock behind a curtain which had been missed! The pool was good but the Jacuzzi was far too hot to sit in. On the plus point the hotel was in an excellent location only a few blocks away from the White House and about 15 walk from the restaurants at The Dupoint Circle. Whilst visiting book a tour around the Capitol Building it is amazing, Georgetown is also within walking distance about 30 minutes and is brilliant for shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel as the facilities are good and the staff are so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstServiceManager, Manager at Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your business, and for your kind remarks; in the hospitality industry, this kind of praise goes a very long way. I will be sure to pass on the compliments to our staff.

We look forward to serving you again next time your are in DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a great hotel and a very good location. Close to Metro, shops, Bars, restaurants and DuPont Circle. Staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. I think the only drawer back was the parking. I think it was about $30.00 a night..... I parked off site. Pool and Jacuzzi was great. The gym was lacking but the hotel had passes to the YMCA one block away. That place was very large
I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstServiceManager, Manager at Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel! We take pride in our staff and their level of service, so it is wonderful to hear your positive feedback. We truly look forward to seeing you again soon and only improving on your opinion of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Decent location. Good value. Looked like lobby was recently re-modeled. So we were pretty pleased. Then we got to our room. Not so much. Room was large enough but needed some updating, maybe that is next. Since we were not there that much was not a big deal. No bar refrigerator. We were there during a heat wave and a cold bottle of water would have been nice to include in our backpack as we went touristing. Pretty noisy outside. Lots of sirens and honking, but guess that goes with the territory. Did have black out curtains which did help us go back to sleep after we were awakened by the outside noise. Did not eat in the restaurant. Parking was different. You leave them the car keys and they bring the car around. They say give them 20 minutes, but it was usually 10 in our case. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstServiceManager, Manager at Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row; we are always happy and appreciative to hear complements on our friendly staff. Room renovations are next on our agenda, and we hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit so you can enjoy them!

Thanks so much for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

had room 213 which over looked the front of the hotel/rhode island ave nw...rooms were adequate for the four of us...clean, no bed bugs as stated in the prior review. the hotel staff was pleasant. would recommend this hotel for a quick stay in D.C. I put poor for kids activities and spa because we didn't use that option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Embassy Row 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Embassy Row, conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, is a great choice for business, leisure and convention guests looking for sophistication, style and world class Marriott service. Stay within minutes of myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall, to the Capitol Building. Experience local DC neighborhoods, like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot, or take a quick metro ride from one of three nearby stations. The Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes comfort. Our luxurious, spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious little assurances of a familiar name. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with a playful and progressive cuisine to help satisfy roaring fans. The Courtyard uniquely fuses style with savvy service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.