We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with large rooms and free wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Embassy Row to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #80 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with large rooms and free wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice large rooms with plenty of outlets for recharging phones, laptops, etc. Free Wifi. Within walking distance (10 min) to the Dupont Circle Metro stop and easy to get a cab from the Hotel. Great for a Washington trip. A minor negative is that the cable TV doesn't have comedy central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    134
    50
    19
    5
See reviews for
77
52
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at The Marriott Courtyard Embassy Row from 2nd to 7th nov 2012. The hotel is extremely noisy, I had to change rooms twice because the windows are not soundproofed. I endend up in one of the ground floor rooms the windows of which do not open and have thick pans. Otherwise it is unbearable, it is like having your bed in the street .

WAKE UP CALLS FORGOTTEN : Twice the hotel did not wake me up and I had to rush to meet my appointments in ten minutes . Even after the first incident and my complaining at the front desk nothing was made to fix the problem, no explanation, no apology , no compensation , and same problem occurred again the following day ! They are really taking the guests for fools !

WIFI CONNECTION EXTREMELY WEAK: I was disconnected several times. It was extremely difficult to work as it was impossible to have a decent connection. Either getting disconnected or slow!

Very limited rooms service, only during the opening hours of the hotel restaurant and neighboring ones .

Stay somewhere else... there are several hotels in the neighborhood: Westin, Grand Hyatt (rooms viewing the lobby seem quiet), Fairmont, Ritz Carlton etc ... some others right in front such as Holiday inn , Homewood Suites ... but I did not test them .

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor rooms. There is about 6 rooms with numbers in the 100s. These are the only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel. Very nice Courtyard. Walking distance to clubs like Ozio. The restaurant Nage is good also. Valets are good. Close to white house and monuments. The only problem i had was that im a Gold elite member and was not recognized!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

decent hotel in a good location within easy walking distance to all main attractions.....white house 10 mins walk etc. nice bar area and free tea and coffee next to reception - a decent chain hotel...

Room Tip: lower rooms are more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, CT
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've stayed here several times over the last 3 years and I felt I had to hang in there as Marriott s usually shine and this one was just OK. I laways liked it's location as it's easy to walk downtown within 10 minutes, I could walk tio the U street shops/restaurants, Whole Foods is only a few blocks away and Dupont Circle is a 10 minute walk.

Well.... they redid the lobby and it's beautiful. Light, feel very open, ultra clean, private booths in the lobby w/ TV 's or work and to meet friends and it's all good. Modest size rooms that have that nice Marriott touch and are always clean. i guess it was the new Lobby that impressed me but now a real charmer , good restaurant off lobby that was packed at Happy Hour and just a real pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Front is on a traffic circle but still well insulated. Nice Happy Hour off lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very spacious room nicely decorated. Comfortable bed. Restaurant serves great crab cakes. Bathroom had separate hand basin/mirror area which was very convenient. Bath tub was slow in draining. Staff were very friendly. Spa pool needs updating with new jets and it wasn't hot enough. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location and SUPER STAFF! This Courtyard is convenient to sights in DC and front desk staff (esp. Tiara!!) were all most accommodating with our requests. Traveling with 4 women (1 a two-time Breast Cancer Survivor) we had several health issues and concerns - Manager met them all with professionalism and consideration. Definitely will stay there again and definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Embassy Row 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Embassy Row, conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, is a great choice for business, leisure and convention guests looking for sophistication, style and world class Marriott service. Stay within minutes of myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall, to the Capitol Building. Experience local DC neighborhoods, like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot, or take a quick metro ride from one of three nearby stations. The Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes comfort. Our luxurious, spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious little assurances of a familiar name. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with a playful and progressive cuisine to help satisfy roaring fans. The Courtyard uniquely fuses style with savvy service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.