We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Embassy Row to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #81 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Mystic, CT
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Getting better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've stayed here several times over the last 3 years and I felt I had to hang in there as Marriott s usually shine and this one was just OK. I laways liked it's location as it's easy to walk downtown within 10 minutes, I could walk tio the U street shops/restaurants, Whole Foods is only a few blocks away and Dupont Circle is a 10 minute walk.

Well.... they redid the lobby and it's beautiful. Light, feel very open, ultra clean, private booths in the lobby w/ TV 's or work and to meet friends and it's all good. Modest size rooms that have that nice Marriott touch and are always clean. i guess it was the new Lobby that impressed me but now a real charmer , good restaurant off lobby that was packed at Happy Hour and just a real pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Front is on a traffic circle but still well insulated. Nice Happy Hour off lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    129
    47
    16
    5
See reviews for
65
49
17
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very spacious room nicely decorated. Comfortable bed. Restaurant serves great crab cakes. Bathroom had separate hand basin/mirror area which was very convenient. Bath tub was slow in draining. Staff were very friendly. Spa pool needs updating with new jets and it wasn't hot enough. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location and SUPER STAFF! This Courtyard is convenient to sights in DC and front desk staff (esp. Tiara!!) were all most accommodating with our requests. Traveling with 4 women (1 a two-time Breast Cancer Survivor) we had several health issues and concerns - Manager met them all with professionalism and consideration. Definitely will stay there again and definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We needed a clean, inexpensive hotel for a long weekend visit to DC. This fit the bill on every front. The room was clean and ready - even though we arrived around 10:30 am. The staff was very accommodating. The cafe offered quick breakfast options, served with smiles. I was a bit apprehensive having valets park my brand new car. But those concerns were also alleviated when they retrieved the vehicle three days later with not a single scratch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What was Good/Positive:
- Room was spacious and nice, although no refrigerator. Front office (Mr Ibanez) was very helpful in changing the room from one in the back (noisy) to one in the front of the hotel (nice room)
- Bed was comfortable.
- Pool was average

What was negative:
- During the morning of our check out, the cleaning knocked at our door 3 times, at 0800, 1000 and 1130.
- We asked in the morning of our check out to the front office for a taxi to Dulles Airport for the afternoon and were told it was 60 $ (even if in the room brochure it says 40$). We arrived back at the hotel to get the taxi we had booked and the price had gone up to 75 $ without an explanation.

Altogether I would rate as average with good rooms in the front upper floors of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front upper floors of the hotel as the ones facing the back are very noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent a night at this Courtyard in September. It was centrally located between the Mall and Dupont circle. It was within walking distance to either place. Rooms are typical Courtyard, and the public areas were nice and newly renovated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in July for business. There was a bit of construction at the entrance, which would determine which entrance you used at different times of the day, however, despite this, the stay was quite nice. Great coffee in the lobby, and close to everything. Within walking distance of the Metro, National Monument Park, and tons of places to eat. My room was fine, typical of a Courtyard, the staff that was working the week I was there could probably use a bit more training when it comes to federal government bookings, but we got it staightened out in the end. As a frequent traveler, it is something I come across at several locations. Room was clean, and my room was quite large, my requests were met in a friendly and efficient manner. Couldn't really ask for more. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Embassy Row 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Embassy Row, conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, is a great choice for business, leisure and convention guests looking for sophistication, style and world class Marriott service. Stay within minutes of myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall, to the Capitol Building. Experience local DC neighborhoods, like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot, or take a quick metro ride from one of three nearby stations. The Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes comfort. Our luxurious, spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious little assurances of a familiar name. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with a playful and progressive cuisine to help satisfy roaring fans. The Courtyard uniquely fuses style with savvy service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.