We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double check taxi prices to the airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Washington Embassy Row to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #79 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Double check taxi prices to the airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What was Good/Positive:
- Room was spacious and nice, although no refrigerator. Front office (Mr Ibanez) was very helpful in changing the room from one in the back (noisy) to one in the front of the hotel (nice room)
- Bed was comfortable.
- Pool was average

What was negative:
- During the morning of our check out, the cleaning knocked at our door 3 times, at 0800, 1000 and 1130.
- We asked in the morning of our check out to the front office for a taxi to Dulles Airport for the afternoon and were told it was 60 $ (even if in the room brochure it says 40$). We arrived back at the hotel to get the taxi we had booked and the price had gone up to 75 $ without an explanation.

Altogether I would rate as average with good rooms in the front upper floors of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front upper floors of the hotel as the ones facing the back are very noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    134
    50
    19
    5
See reviews for
77
52
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent a night at this Courtyard in September. It was centrally located between the Mall and Dupont circle. It was within walking distance to either place. Rooms are typical Courtyard, and the public areas were nice and newly renovated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in July for business. There was a bit of construction at the entrance, which would determine which entrance you used at different times of the day, however, despite this, the stay was quite nice. Great coffee in the lobby, and close to everything. Within walking distance of the Metro, National Monument Park, and tons of places to eat. My room was fine, typical of a Courtyard, the staff that was working the week I was there could probably use a bit more training when it comes to federal government bookings, but we got it staightened out in the end. As a frequent traveler, it is something I come across at several locations. Room was clean, and my room was quite large, my requests were met in a friendly and efficient manner. Couldn't really ask for more. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

stayed here for 3 days in August... good hotel in a great location. Our room was huge and updated.. very comfortable bed. Hotel lobby is under renovation and I believe will be for a few months, so getting to and from the room was a little confusing. Lots to do within walking distance. Overall good place to stay for a long week

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Staying efficient during the throes of a major physical renovation is a difficult bit of sleight of hand, but the team at the Embassy Row Courtyard pulled it off during my recent stay.
Granted, it is a bit of a maze to negotiate, but once indie the staff is accommodating and very helpful. The room was larger than a typical Courtyard room, though furnishings were the same.
The location was great. The area is close to restaurants, shopping and the Metro, and not in the maddening center of the District's tourist zones.
In all, a great value for DC. A fine property. I will definitely stay there again and can't wait to see the new lobby!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Arrived on 8/1/12 in the middle of lobby renovation, stayed 5 days. Staff went out of their way to accomodate any issues due to construction, but it really didn't affect the stay at all. Metro stop at McPherson too far, but much closer stop at Farragut North and can transfer anywhere. Room was great and well maintained although probably could use a little updating - large enough for me and my husband, plus one big teenager! Dining tip - head down to 17th Street a couple of blocks and it is restaurant row with very reasonable prices for cozy, neighborhood spots. Only used Nage for over-priced breakfast once, better off at nearby coffee places.

Room Tip: Ask for front room facing the circle, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here in the end of July 2012 with two young kids. The price was decent and location was great. The room was a nice size (2 queen), with plenty of room for the kids to play. The location was close to Connecticut Ave where there are lots of casual restaurants and shopping. A short walk to the White House, longer hike to the Museum area. We did find a nice playground within a 5 minute walk north along 16th St NW from the hotel, which is always a bonus for our kids. No refrigerators in the room, you might have to request them. We were able to keep milk cool with the ice in our cooler. We ate once at the hotel restaurant - convenient, but expensive with kids. The hotel staff was very friendly and even brought us warm, freshly baked cookies for the kids one afternoon. There is an indoor pool in the basement, but it is tiny. Note, in the end of July they were renovating the lobby, it was a little inconvenient, but did not bother us while we were in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Embassy Row 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Embassy Row, conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, is a great choice for business, leisure and convention guests looking for sophistication, style and world class Marriott service. Stay within minutes of myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall, to the Capitol Building. Experience local DC neighborhoods, like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot, or take a quick metro ride from one of three nearby stations. The Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes comfort. Our luxurious, spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious little assurances of a familiar name. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with a playful and progressive cuisine to help satisfy roaring fans. The Courtyard uniquely fuses style with savvy service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.