We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Washington Embassy Row to your Saves list
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #54 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

4 of us travelled to Washington DC in late July 2007.

While searchng for a hotel to stay out we found out that hotels in DC are very expensive and fill up pretty fast so you have to reserve a hotel well in advance.

To be honest, the Mariott Courtyard Washington Embassy Row hotel was the only hotel that had a room available for us so we went ahead and booked in even though we would have liked to have paid a little less for our room.

We found that there is free espresso coffee in the lobby, free internet access, free cookies or muffins in the morning in the lobby.

Bathroom was big and clean with big tub. Room was big and clean and looked out onto the Street. No traffic noise. No noise from other rooms. (Note to Australian travellers: this hotel is just across from the Australian embassy so if anything happens you're staying at the right place !!) Great position - within reasonable walking distance to the White House and all other important buildings. When we were there the White House was fenced off for some reason so you couldn't really get a good look at it.

TIP FOR DAYTIME: The hop-on hop-off sightseeng bus that goes around to the various hot spots.

TIP FOR BREAKFAST: The Nage - right next to the hotel on the ground floor (you can go through to the restaurant through the interconnecting door from the hotel lobby). Great waitresses there at The Nage. Nice decor.

TIP FOR DINNER: The Nage again. We went to The Nage for dinner on our last night in DC here. Charming waiter and delicious food (though expensive but didn't mind because the food was good).

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    159
    56
    23
    5
See reviews for
101
68
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Like other Courtyard's I've stayed at, there is never anything that really makes me want to say "this was a great stay". It was definitely a good stay though. I was here on business. Check-in was fast, the room was clean, the property was clean. Here are a couple things that did stand out:

- WEIRD, kind of creepy pool area way down in the basement, actually one level below the workout area. I think whoever takes care of the pool area misunderstood the instruction "make the pool very clean" with "make the pool very green". The jacuzzi was nice though.
- Convenient location, pretty close to White House, maybe a 20 minute walk.
- The Nage restaurant. I was surprised that Marriott let the restaurant put the following phrase on their advertisement card in the room: "This is not Marriott food". Are they saying Marriott food is bad and their's is better or Marriott food is awesome and their food stinks? Anyway, I ordered what sounded like it was going to be a huge steak and it turned out to be just a little bigger than a golf ball (see picture). It was excellent though, as was the asaparagus and potato pancake-like side.

Bottom line: The place was clean, quiet and convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Convenience.
  • Disliked — Green pool.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

Very nice hotel clean up-to-date rooms a bit on the pricey side but no complaints here. Internet access was a bit in and out so be prepared.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

We were able to book this hotel with a fantastic special. (especially if you are travelling with a large family like I am!)
Right now they have a Family Fun Package advertised. You must stay two nights. You get a second room for your kids at 50% off!! I got our room for $109. If you book online, your total doesn't show the 50% for second room, but if you call and book they'll explain that it'll be correct at checkout.
- Two nights in a quality room
- 50 per cent discount on the second room for the kids
- Free pay per view movie
- Spongebob Squarepants themed room and amenity for the kids
- Hand-made chocolates
- Large tote for carrying around everything you will need
- Munchies and spring water
- Maps and area information
- Four Metro passes

The two rooms were a FABULOUS value if travelling in DC with children. We weren't too far to walk to attractions and everything was as advertised in the special. The bathrooms were super clean and the rooms were SPACIOUS! The children loved the HUGE plasma tv's in each room! WOW, what a great place.

  • Liked — The two adjoining rooms, cleanliness, price, big TVs, themed kids room
  • Disliked — Tiny indoor pool, but did the trick for tired feet after a day of walking DC!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

According to the website for this hotel, refrigerators are one of the amenities (listed under Accommodations.) When I called to confirmed the reservation, i was informed that the refrigerator would be no problem. It was a requirement since we had medicine with us that required refrigeration.

Upon entering the room it became readily apparent that there was no refrigerator. I went downstairs to the desk and was informed that refrigerators are "not guaranteed". WELL, MARRIOTT, then you should say that on your website and when you are called!!! In any case, the staff was as accommodating as possible offering the use of the kitchen of the restaurant (not owned by the hotel, but located on the hotel's grounds) and temporarily in the employee's lounge (the restaurant was closed upon our arrival.)

Two days into the vacation, at 4:30 a.m., the air conditioner started to make a raucous sound equivalent to an alarm going off. Suffice it to say there was no maintenance staff at that hour, so we were offered alternate accommodations. Unfortunately the air conditioner in that room was not very quiet. What does it take in this day and age to get quiet accommodations?!

The location was satisfactory, although we did notice hotels closer to the Metro. I make this point since it was 99F when we arrived and pretty much stayed at that level during the entire stay.

One other point: the restaurant does not provide room service for breakfast and stops serving breakfast at 9:30 a.m. There were only two other places offering breakfast after this time in the whole of Dupont Circle and neither were very good. (I love breakfast!)

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

This place is expensive. To park your car it is 25.00 per day. Even if you dont use it. The rooms were nice. They had a weird smell tho. The internet service went down the for a whole day, which made it hard to check-in for the plane. My wife and I ordered room service, and it was 42.00 for a peice of chicken some veggies(but not much) and a salad. To me that is EXPENSIVE. When we checked in, the lady behind the counter was hard to understand, and she was a little short and rude. It was hard to find anywhere to eat near the location. It was a 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro station. I will absolutely not stay there again.

  • Liked — Television
  • Disliked — EXPENSIVE for parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

The Courtyard Embassy Row seemed very geared up for economy business travellers needing a quick stopover in DC but is not especially nice for a vacation. For the tourist the location is far from ideal; we found the walk to the White House to be a very long 6 blocks, and the National Mall even further. The nearest Metro is not particularly near either, which is a shame because the Metro is clean, cheap and efficient, but taxis were easy to hail from the hotel and from central DC.

On the plus side the room was clean, had a nice High Def TV set, was spacious and the beds were comfortable. We were next to the elevators but the air con drowns that out- and you need the air con when DC gets steamy in the summer, as it was when we were there. We also found the bar atmosphere to be convivial and the breakfast adequate. There are food and drink vending machines in the lobby for a quick snack. The fresh complimentary cookies were a nice touch. The area felt safe, if a little too quiet at the weekend.

Downsides included unfriendly front desk staff, $25 a night valet parking and long walks to the sights. Our room had a drab alley view, and furnishings were adequate but not delightful. The bathroom was also functional, but not pleasant.

On balance, if need a hotel for a business stay but the budget is tight you will find the hotel to be adequate, but don't expect to be be pleased.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#82 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#45 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
DoubleTree Hotel Washington DC
#92 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#57 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Embassy Row

Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Embassy Row 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Embassy Row, conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, is a great choice for business, leisure and convention guests looking for sophistication, style and world class Marriott service. Stay within minutes of myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall, to the Capitol Building. Experience local DC neighborhoods, like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot, or take a quick metro ride from one of three nearby stations. The Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes comfort. Our luxurious, spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious little assurances of a familiar name. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with a playful and progressive cuisine to help satisfy roaring fans. The Courtyard uniquely fuses style with savvy service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Washington Embassy Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.