We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our DC stay even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - Washington, DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostelling International - Washington, DC to your Saves list
Hostelling International - Washington, DC
1009 11th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$3 off room rate
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Made our DC stay even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I bicycled into DC and stayed in a private room at the hostel. Not only is it in a great location and so much more affordable than any hotels in the area, it was fun to stay there. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We met and talked to nice and interesting people of all ages from throughout the US and beyond. We joined one of the free, daily activities and were hosted by a gracious gentleman who accompanied us to the Kennedy Center for a free concert.
The breakfast was another plus, and if you care to you can prepare other meals in the large kitchen. The hostel was clean and comfortable, and the shared bathroom was well set up. We had good storage for our bicycles as well. If you are looking for luxury you won't stay here, but if you are more interested in people and places than in a big TV in your room, this hostel is a great choice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
PIAustin: Thank you for all of your kind remarks! For only staying with us for a week, you sure did a lot! Manny, a volunteer here for over 20 years, hosts the Sunday Free Concert event at the Kennedy Center. I'm so glad you were able to meet him. And John, at Breakfast, is a veritable HI-DC legend. He ensures that everyone who comes to breakfast meets new people and makes new friends.

It's a treat to read a note from someone who was able to use our free covered bike parking. We get cyclists throughout the year, but for some reason we don't see that many postings from them. Thanks for breaking the "cycle!" [I know, silly pun. But I just couldn't resist!]

Everything you wrote about what we offer is right on. We're not a 5-star resort by any means, but we do everything we can to offer great experiences, friendly staff and volunteers, an unbeatable location, a wide range of amenities and events, and a good night's rest in a fun, clean, and safe home-away-from-home. Cheers! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    156
    65
    19
    14
See reviews for
11
33
145
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hostel is very well located. It is near the museums and the white house. Has only one elevator to attend all the floors, the wifi does not work in the rooms. Good breakfest for a hostel.

Hostel com boa localizacao perto das principais atracoes turisticas. Ha somente um elevador para atender todos os andares, o wifi nao funciona no quarto. Possui um bomcafe da manha para um hostel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Igor_Perdomo: I'm glad you found much of your stay to your liking, specifically our location and breakfast. I'm sorry that some of the amenities didn't work out for you. Our Wi-Fi should reach all of the guestrooms; we have wireless routers on every floor. I will check them to make sure that they are working properly. Thanks for the heads-up! Thanks for sharing about your stay! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at this hostel for a week. The location was great, free breakfast, heaps of complimentary tours, free wifi and the TV room was a nice touch. Great place to make friends and really experience DC.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Brisbane L L: Thank you for the lovely note and the PERFECT RATING! We're all super-psyched that you had a great time in our city and at our hostel. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed 3nights in HI Washington, Staff is really nice, and mostly the "breakfast man", he's funny !!
I stayed in 4beds, facilities are shared with the floor, was enough showers and toilets.
It is clean and nice. and there is elevator if you have heavy luggage.
The breakfast is good, bagels, cereals, bread, juice, milk, tea, coffee, peanut butter, jam, butter.

Location is close to subway, museum, place to see and places where you can eat. A Safeway is close by.

Good deal to staying in Washington DC

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
AmyCaUS: Thanks for the nice note! John, at Breakfast, is renowned for helping strangers to meet one another during breakfast. Glad you like the cleanliness and other features of the hostel, too! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Overall, this was a great hostel. It had everything you needed in abundance, the kitchen is huge and you never have to wait for appliances. The lounge and other common areas were a great place to charge your phone and chat with fellow travelers. The front desk people would help you out of you asked them questions about the city but they weren't too friendly otherwise. The bunks are comfortable for hostel standards, and the lockers in room and in basement were great for storing things while you were away. Also, the security is pretty tight there- so it was nice not to have to lie to my parents about that:)

I have a few suggestions to make this hostel a 5/5. First, as a few people have already mentioned, there is a zero alcohol policy which, makes you feel like you're being treated a bit like a child. Changing this would change the atmosphere and make the adults in the hostel have a better time! Secondly, I went on the Monuments Walking Tour and it was pretty awful, not for a lack of trying, our guide was really friendly but not the most knowledgable. We had so much walking to do that we couldn't stop at monuments for more than 3-5 minutes without losing the guide, he didn't have a noticeable sign so finding our guide in the crowds was REALLY difficult. Moreover, there were no bathroom breaks (our guide didn't even point out the bathrooms!) This tour would have been 100 times better if there was a bus that took us back to the hostel at the end of the tour, it was almost 10:20pm by the time we finished and took another 1/2 hour to walk back. I did like the fact that we went to several monuments I wouldn't have gone too on my own so it was worth it!

Overall, fantastic stay! Had everything you would need and a relaxed atmosphere! Oh, and HI DC has a very basic free breakfast every morning that tides you over until lunch. Will stay again next time I'm in the DC area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Nordic_gypsy: Thank you so much for all of your inputs! There is some great information in there. I am a bit concerned about the friendliness issue. Usually, we get high marks as our team genuinely enjoys helping hostellers. I will speak with them to see what happened. My apologies.

The ideas you have for the tours is truly excellent. We are already developing a strategy strategy for bathroom breaks and Guide visibility. The general knowledge part is probably a training issue, which I think we can address pretty quickly. To be honest, the bus idea is probably a non-starter. We offer free tours and events; if we had a bus, then we would have to charge money for them. Totally not what we're going for. We want to have as many cool, fun, and free events as we can.

Thanks, again, for all of your insights! Super-helpful! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hostel has some great facilities. I stayed 3 nights, in a mixed gender room. The communal bathrooms are a little dated (especially the showers) but clean nevertheless.

The common room seemed to be pretty quiet most of the time but there is a pool table and a cards room as well as computers. The wifi is fantastic, worked even in my room on the 7th floor!!

There's not much going on in the evenings but they do offer tours etc of the city.

Free breakfast is awesome, bagels, toast, cereal, muffins, fruit and juice. John the breakfast monitor is a legend! So funny and cheerful, just make sure you tell him "good morning" in a language other than English or you might find yourself the centre of attention in the breakfast room, introducing yourself to everyone on your table..

The front desk staff are all really cheery and ready to help you with anything you need.

All in all enjoyable stay at the hostel, not my favourite HI but well run nevertheless. Only downside would be the lack of organised evening activities.

Room Tip: Lower floors if you can because the elevator is appallingly slow, and taking the stairs to the 7th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Bogisz: Thanks for the grand review! We're jazzed that you like the cleanliness, amenities (we just upgraded the Wi-Fi, so glad you enjoyed!), tours, breakfast, and staff friendliness. You are spot-on about John. He is phenomenal!

We do pretty well at meeting our goal of having at least one (1) activity per day. Sometimes they are during the day, and sometimes they are in the evenings. It's all about our uber-cool cast of Volunteers and what they are able to do. Generally, we have about four (4) evening events per week -- pub crawls, night monuments tour, dinner nights, etc. The rest are more day-oriented, like some of our other tours, Sunday concerts, and such. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Awesome!! The hostel is great for single travelers. It is right in the heart of the city and everything is a small walk away. The breakfast is good. Meeting fellow travelers and making friends is one easy task if you are staying here.The beds are in good condition and don't squeak all night. I would recommend this one to you for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
KCn2487: Great stuff! So glad you enjoyed. You made our day! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Washington, DC

Address: 1009 11th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-DC is the best value in DC! Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together international and domestic budget travelers in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. It's the only Energy Star Certified hostel anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International - Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.