We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - Washington, DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International - Washington, DC to your Saves list
Hostelling International - Washington, DC
1009 11th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$3 off room rate
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for five days in October with my sister in ten bed female room. It was our first time to stay in a hostel, rooms were clean, safe area, great location and friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and John was terrific, ensuring everyone got to know each over over breakfast. Plenty of organised trips and tours. Highly recommended for all

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
tbyrne87: I'm so happy HI-DC could host you for your first hostelling experience! And it's fantastic that you and your sister had such a positive experience. John, at breakfast, truly is a remarkable person. Please think of us when you come back to DC, and try other HI hostels where ever you travel. Thanks for the note! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    168
    67
    19
    14
See reviews for
11
38
155
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stay here two nights in the private room on the eight floor.Staff were great and really helpful.Can walk to all the main tourist attractions.The staff help me get my phone fixed up T mobible.Breakfast was great and John? was a great way to start the day off.Loved this place,thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
krugerandmore: It's so nice to read that HI-DC helped you to have a great start to your trip! We get loads of wonderful comments about John, who deserves every single one of them. Thanks for passing along your happy vibes! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

this hostel is in quite good condition. The rooms are good, a little cramped- but what hostel isn't like that. The complimentary breakfasts in the mornings are great, and a great way to meet people. The "common room" is the only area that gets wifi so people tend to sit there on their laptops and phones, not really talking to others which is a bit of a shame. Great location though, not a bad walk to all the main monuments.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
woodsyo: Most of the descriptions you posted are lovely. Thanks for those! Too bad about the title ("not bad"). We strive to be so much better than that.

I'm sorry that the Wi-Fi situation isn't what you would have wanted. We've heard from other hostels that have Wi-Fi in the rooms that there is a challenge between those who want to sleep and those who want to use their computers.

We thought that encouraging hostellers with laptops to use them in the common spaces would do two (2) things. First, it would help to create an environment more conducive to sleep in the rooms. Second, it would bring everyone down to the Common Room and encourage more face-to-face interaction. We're still evaluating that, and we'll keep your comments in mind. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I was very tiered from travelling the hole day when i arrived at the hostel and just pick a locker. Unfortunally i took the wrong one/wrong number and the hostel broke there inside. For me there can be no sorry to fix that in no way, cause its my only privacy/privat space and they ignored that totally !!! I got my staff back but thats not how u handle such things, there are much other lockers and a little bit more flexibility and communication could help. Thanks for broking in my locker/privacy. Just for sleeping the hostel is really ok.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Clemens26: I'm so sorry that we had to cut your lock. We do try to locate the person who used the wrong one before cutting, but it looks like we couldn't find you. Happily, all of your belongings were returned to you.

You are absolutely right about the locker being the one place for privacy and security in a shared room. That's why it's so important that people use their assigned locker (and sleep in the assigned bed). With people coming and going on different days, it's the only way to ensure that everyone has their own space for security (and for sleeping). Otherwise, no one would know what's theirs.

I'm very sorry that this affected your impression of the hostel and your experience. If only there were a better way to keep this from happening. We have locker / bed numbers on each locker / bed, and we ensure that we tell everyone their number at check-in. It's also on the Access Receipt and Sign-In Sheet everyone receives at check-in. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, U.K
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although it might be better to use the Metro where possible, this hostel is in good proximity to the monuments. The place itself had a great information area and social lounge, and the rooms were very basic. I wasn't a fan of the curtain-only communal showers, but it wasn't a big problem. I'd recommend a stay here. I met a few good friends who would say the same thing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
George K: Thanks for the nice note and comments! It's so nice to read that you made new friends here. That's why we do what we do.

Good news on the shower area: We're adding changing areas for 2 out of the 3 showers in each bathroom (we'd do all of them, but there just isn't room). One caveat is that the changing areas will have curtains, as well. At least you'll have a separate changing area, though! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The HI in Washington was my second experience staying at a HI hostel and I was slightly disappointed. While the location is convenient to the Metro, most notable museums and Pennsylvania Ave, the accommodations themselves are unimpressive. There is one elevator in the entire building, old and slow. The wifi is only on the first and second floors, so the signal barely reaches any of the dorms. That might be fine if the common areas weren't always crowded with people clamoring for network signal and wall outlets. Oh, what to say about the outlets. I have never been to a place with such a shortage of working plugs. In the rooms, only the bottom bunks have access to plugs while those in upper bunks had to scrounge for whatever plug one can find in the room to charge phones, cameras etc. Perhaps I'm spoiled having stayed in places with wall outlets at both top and bottom bunk to address this very problem. The hostel should really look into at least replacing the damaged outlets.

Otherwise the staff were helpful, the place was spotlessly clean considering the sheer number of people it was accommodating, and I would likely stay there again whenever I'm back in the area because it is good value for the location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
SK K: All of your comments are right on. Of course, I preferred all of the nice things you said at the end. Truthfully though, the outlets are a problem. I so glad you mentioned them because now I get to tell you about what we're doing. We ordered these snazzy bed lamps for each bed that are a 3-in-1 type deal. The bed lamp is, of course, a reading light. It's flat on top, so that it can be used as a shelf for glasses, room key, mobile phone, etc. -- but not big enough for a laptop. Here's the cool part...wait for it...the unit has 2 outlets on it for charging your stuff or using your laptop in the rack.

I have to admit that I'm a bit surprised about the lack of outlets on the 1st Floor. They're everywhere. We wired up banks of them along the walls behind the couches and in the Library. I'll have my team check on the functionality of any faulty plugs. Thanks for the heads-up!

Wi-Fi in the rooms is an iffy one. I hear comments fairly regularly about hostellers wanting signals in the rooms. On the flip side, I also hear (and read) complaints about hostels that have Wi-Fi in the rooms, but it's a disturbance with clicking (and video chat) for those who want to sleep. It's not a problem to put in the Wi-Fi, but the primary function of the rooms is for sleeping, regardless of the time of day. There are already challenges to sleeping in a shared space, and I'm hesitant to add to the difficulty. Anyway, that's my dilemma. Thanks for writing!

~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidder, MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was my first stay at a Hostel. I chose the PERFECT one! It is located 6 blocks from the Whitehouse and close to other attractions.

A bus stop is just outside the building; the metro rail is 5 blocks away. Chinatown is close. YOu can WALK everywhere you need to go!

The free breakfast is as good as any hotel (5 brands of cereal, toast, oatmeal, bagels, fresh fruit, coffee, and juice); fresh fruit is available throughout the day, too.

Rooms are quaint; good security. Bathrooms are down the hall and stocked with soap/shampoo.

Staff was helpful and informative.

I will definately stay there, again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on a lower floor. It is very HUMID in DC and the room a/c on upper floors does not al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark-GM, General Manager at Hostelling International - Washington, DC, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
MysticGreyStar_2: Thanks for sharing your wonderful experiences at HI-DC, and the great scores! Please do come again! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Washington, DC

Address: 1009 11th Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-DC is the best value in DC! Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together international and domestic budget travelers in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. We're Gold Level Certified by Sustainable Travel International's STEP ("green") program, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International - Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.