We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, good location, good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Suites Georgetown

Save Saved
You added Avenue Suites Georgetown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Suites Georgetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big rooms, good location, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Can't really complain about anything. Good value for big comfortable suites. Nice location. Great for families or extended travel.
But there are a few minor issues that did not really detract from the overall experience but could be easily addressed and improve even more. The room cleaning could be a bit more thorough and the standards seem different day to day. Nice service but not terribly attentive on details (ran out of umbrellas on a rainy day). They have a laundry room that ran out of soap. AC is loud and does not cool the room evenly. Kitchen appliances circa 1990 - work well but a bit dated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Greetings Malacuervo,

It sounds like for the most part we were able to impress you while staying with us at the Avenue Suites. I do agree that our kitchens are certainly "retro" and will be going through an updating process shortly. I would love the chance to speak with you in a little more detail regarding our housekeeping service and have added my phone number below so that you may call me at our earliest convenience. We are constantly working towards a goal of perfection and all feedback is essential.

Thanks for your great review,
Mitchell Turow
phone: 202-464-5609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    125
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
259
76
13
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights at this property and would have no hesitation returning. Within walking distance of the Kennedy Centre, the Lincoln Memorial (and into the Mall), and the very enjoyable Gerogetown area. Also on the circulator bus route ($1 fare to any point) that takes you to Union station and connects with other circulator routes. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped, a Trader Joes across the street helps stock the large fridge with essentials and the staff were friendly and tried to be helpful. My only gripe was an information deficit which seemed to run throughout the city - whereas everybody was nice and tried to be helpful the depth of information was very thin. We were there for 4th July and nobody could tell us anything about what was happening - I would have thought a free concert on the 4th by Barry Manilow and Neil Diamond would be worth broadcasting. In fact there was also a free dress rehearsal the evening before that we stumbled accross. Asking about the baseball games (how to get there, how long they run for etc) drew answers of I don't go.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
50nightsperyr,

Thank you so much for spending the 4th of July with us here at the Avenue Suites. It is so wonderful to hear that word of our beautiful hotel has reached all the way to Ireland. Our proximity to Trader Joe's is indeed a great bonus and is perfect for stocking up on supplies while visiting historic Washington DC. I must admit I am a bit shocked about our inconsistency with service and city knowledge. Please give me a call at your earliest convenience so we can discuss it a tad further.

Thanks again for your great review,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved the location between Foggy Bottom and Georgetown. Staff was great. One bedroom suite with kitchen was terrific value. We saved money by making breakfast every morning and had dinner in one evening. The kitchen was perfect for us. The kids- 12 and 10- would have liked a pool but other than that really enjoyed the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 605 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
scott_ca_1970,

Thank you for sharing your Avenue Suites experience with all of our friends here on TripAdvisor. I agree that room 605 is spectacular as it has large windows which overlook Pennsylvania Avenue. Our kitchens are indeed perfect for preparing meals for your family before a long day of Washington DC sightseeing. Please e-mail with the dates of your next so we can coordinate the whole thing together.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue ridge mountains
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Really comfortable suite for the 2 of us and 3 grandkids, one of whom used the sleeper sofa. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and we had a delightful stay. We really enjoyed the mojitos in the lobby when we returned from our days of sight-seeing. Note that the continental breakfast, which might appear to be included, is not -- but the Keurig coffee makers in the room make a reasonably nice cup of coffee -- and just across the street is Trader Joe's, which has milk, cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. N.B. the check-out queue there can be intimidating, but they have a dozen+ registers handling folks, so the queue moves fairly quickly, though it took us 17 mins on a Sunday night (popular time for locals to shop). As for public transportation, seniors can save money on the senior smartcards, but the inconvenience of having to purchase them (only) at the main office downtown can wipe out the savings, unless you do a lot of traveling. Also, if you're traveling with kids, note that 2 of our credit cards stopped allowing smartcard purchases after 2 cards (same thing happened in NYC), even after we'd notified the CC issuer that we'd be traveling, so we had to use 2 credit cards and an atm card to buy our 5 smartcards, since the machine designers didn't give us the option to buy multiple cards on one purchase -- same situation for adding money to the cards. At the Foggy Bottom station, the big machines are for adding money to the smartcards, but the cards may be bought only on the 2 small machines to the right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
glassyraven,

What a spectacular start to our day to read your incredibly detailed review of your recent visit of the Avenue Suites. It was so nice to meet you and your grandchildren while you were enjoying your time in Washington DC. It means the world to us to read when incredibly experienced travelers write 5-star reviews of our beautiful hotel. Our Keurig coffee makers are indeed a favorite of all guests and are happy that you were no exception! Please pass my regards onto your entire family on behalf of all of us here at the Avenue Suites Washington DC.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and three young sons (8,6 and 1) over Memorial Day weekend as we were in town for a wedding. Mitch at the front desk was so helpful and pleasant each and every time we passed through the lobby. All the staff were warm and attentive.

Great room. Clean and comfortable, although it was a little tricky to get the room to stay a comfortable temperature. Two queen beds in the bedroom and a good-sized separate living area (couch, desk, table with four chairs and flat screen tv) and a well-equipped kitchen. (With Trader Joe's across the street, we were able to stock up on preferred snacks and beverages, which really helped keep us all happy.) Being a family trip, we didn't get to enjoy the beautiful patio and fun bar area as we would have liked, but we will definitely keep it in mind for future trips. It really looked like a great place to hang with friends in the evening and relax with drinks.

Great location. Just a short walk, cab or train ride to all attractions: National Mall, Lincoln Memorial, White House, National Zoo, Georgetown shopping/dining, Arlington Cemetery, Nationals Park, etc.

Only complaint is lack of clothing storage. As a family staying for a long weekend, we had a lot of clothes and not a lot of space to store/hang our things. We pretty much had to keep most of our clothes in our luggage and lay our luggage in the corner fo the living room on the floor.

One other point to mention... We stayed over Memorial Day weekend and there were A LOT (thousands!) of motorcycle riders in town to visit the war memorials. The motorcycles were extremely loud up and down Pennsylvania Avenue at all hours. Not sure how loud traffic is normally, but you may want to bring a white noise machine if you have one, in case traffic noise disturbs your sleep.

I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Bring along a white noise machine if you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Leah14072,

WOW! It was so wonderful to read your incredibly detailed and flattering review of your recent trip to the Avenue Suites Georgetown. I am glad that I was able to help you and your family while you were staying with us. As you said, Pennsylvania Avenue can be a tad noisy at times which is why I urge all guests to e-mail me prior to arrival with their guest room preferences so I can customize their visits on their behalf. Once again, thank you for your spectacular review and we look forward to another visit soon.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently was in DC for several weeks for work. I was put up at the Avenue with the institution hosting me (so I can't say if its a good deal). However, it is an extremely well located hotel, about 5 minutes from both M Street's many restaurants (in Georgetown), maybe a ten minute walk to Dupont Circle, and maybe 5 minutes to the nearest metro. If you want to take advantage of the kitchens, there is a Trader Joe's just across the street, and a Whole Foods right next to the metro stop (GW-Foggy Bottom). The rooms were large. As a bonus, the staff -- both front desk and in the bar/restaurant -- was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
C F,

It is always so special to receive 5-star reviews from experienced Tripadvisor travelers like yourself. Thank you for taking the time to share your outstanding experience with everyone! It is great to know that we were able to dazzle you throughout your extended stay here at the Avenue Suites. Please shoot me an e-mail the next time you are planning to travel to DC so I can coordinate your hotel visit personally.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just spend 3 nights at the Avenue Suites with my wife and two teenage boys. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left everything was just soo perfect! First the hotel: the lobby and outdoor sitting areas are really comfortable and spacious. Great spot for a cup of coffee and a book every morning as well as an afternoon cocktail. (FYI - they provided free afternoon Mojitos and Shirley Temples for guests..nice touch!) The room was clean and really nice with all new amenities through out. Funky little kitchen with a full size fridge is really nice to have especially with Trader Joes across the street. Plenty of room for a family of four like ourselves. Now to the staff: from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff was just excellent! They provided excellent recommendations for food (the first of which is a restaurant in the Foggy Bottom Circle called District Commons...awesome!!) and made the reservations. They had great tips on getting around the city such as renting bikes from Capital Bikeshare across the street which allows you to drop them off at many spots around the city. Through out our stay the staff were always so friendly and helpful doing all they could to make us feel like we were at home! So great hotel, great staff and great location made for a Fantastic 3 day stay in D.C.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Good evening CAHappyboy,

It was such a pleasure to read your phenomenal review about your recent review of the Avenue Suites here in Washington DC. Our proximity to Trader Joe's is indeed perfect for families as everyone can cook their own meals in the full-sized kitchens in all of our guest rooms. I have passed your amazing kudos onto our entire staff who thrilled to hear how elated you were with their great service.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Suites Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.