We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Suites Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Suites Georgetown to your Saves list
Avenue Suites Georgetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BOOK DIRECT GET 10% OFF
Ranked #3 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Value, Great Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Firstly, Avenue Suites is situated on the edge of two great neighborhoods - Georgetown and Foggy Bottom. Secondly, it is a short walk to the Metro, grocery store and a variety of restaurants. Thirdly, this hotel is a great option for those not wanting to spend all of their holiday dollars on a place to lay their head.

Upon arrival the staff were very welcoming, which seems to be their signature. Check-in was quick and efficient, the room was quiet and clean, and it was nice to have a separate living room and kitchen. The beds were a bit soft for our liking but they were still okay. The windows are good quality - we faced Pennsylvania Avenue and noise wasn't an issue.

If you want to save a few dollars and stay in a great neighborhood, Avenue Suites is a good bet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
4tunate1s,

Nothing feels better than a great review from an experienced TripAdvisor traveler like yourself. Our fantastic location between Georgetown & Foggy Bottom is perfect for visitors of all sorts and we are proud to show it off! Our warm greetings are indeed our signature and are happy to hear that your arrival was no exception. Thanks again for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    154
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
318
117
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Avenue Suites was a perfect place to stay. Outstanding staff...Mitch, and his entire staff, were wonderful - professional, friendly, accommodating, really delightful! Love the spacious suites...plenty of room and the full kitchen is very convenient. Very nice restaurant in the lobby...good location convenient to Georgetown. Highly recommend Avenue Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
MP53_13,

It was so great meeting you last week here at the Avenue Suites. I have passed your kind kudos onto our staff who were elated to hear about your memorable visit. Thank you for telling all of the TripAdvisor readers about our fantastic location and walk distance to nearby Georgetown. I look forward to working with you again very soon.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived here very tired for just a quick visit to Washington and the staff were really friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations for good places to eat. Our suite was lovely and the location was very convenient. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Mons944,

While your stay with us was brief, it is wonderful to hear that it was just what you needed after a long trip from Australia. Thank you for taking the time to recommend the Avenue Suites to all of our friends here on TripAdvisor. We very much look forward to your return visit with us.

Thanks again,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Avenue Suites was perfect for a weekend getaway for our group of friends. The staff was friendly and professional and well, just wonderful! The rooms are very nice and much larger than typical hotel rooms. We had suites in a corner that could be sectioned off from the hallway, allowing us to leave our doors open and go between the rooms. The bar was a great spot for happy hour. The location worked beautifully for all our plans - a short walk to Georgetown in one direction and Metro in the other. Truly a perfect stay. I highly recommend Avenue Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Greetings Eliza02,

On behalf of all of us here at the Avenue Suites, I would like to thank you for your wonderful entry about your recent visit. You are correct that our rooms are much larger than your typical hotel room and feel more like your own apartment while staying in Washington DC. As we discussed, please continue to reach out to me directly for futures stays so I can continue to customize your visits.

Thanks again and best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend stay at Avenue Suites and we could not have made a better choice. Spacious, comfortable accommodations for us (and our bicycles!) with a hip vibe and a great location. All staff were very welcoming especially the dynamic young manager, Mitch Turow, who went out of his way to personalize our stay, from e-mailing us before we even arrived to ask about our room preference to helping us greatly with the logistics on our getaway day. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
jsl1998,

It was such a pleasure meeting you and your wife last weekend here at the Avenue Suites. We are working hard to personalize as many memorable visits as we can and it is great that yours was such a success. As we discussed, please continue to reach out to me directly for all future visits so I can ensure everything goes perfectly.

I look forward to working with you in the future once again,
Mitchell Turow
phone: 202-464-5609
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I truly can not say enough great things about my recent stay at Avenue Suites in Georgetown. From the moment I spoke to the bellman, the experience was one of the best I have ever encountered! The courtesy, kindness, friendlisness and thoughtfulness of the staff is not to be matched! The ambiance of the bar, dining area, sitting areas was just the right combination of casual, friendly and inviting. The rooms were clean and the open sitting area and full kitchen perfect for anyone with children who may be interested in staying in the Georgetown area-although my companion and I did not have any children and still thought the room was perfect for us.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in a great priced, great stay in D.C.!
M.L.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
MJL08002,

We are elated to read your amazing review about your recent visit to the Avenue Suites here in Washington DC. I have shared your comments with all of our staff who were thrilled to hear that your experiences with them were so positive. I must agree that our bar and restaurant is a great space in the city and perfect for a cocktail or a small meal. Thanks again for your great survey and we look forward to your next visit with us here at the Avenue Suites.

Best wishes,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just home from a four night stay in these wonderfully comfortable, and surprisingly large, suites. Hotel is perfectly placed for exploring Georgetown and just a few minutes walk from some superb restaurants and shops. We walked miles each day, exploring the sights, and it was great to return 'home' to the suites. Just a few niggles ... our bath plug didn't work so we couldn't soak away our aches and pains, but more dangerous was the faulty toaster that went on fire within a few seconds of being turned on. I reported it at reception and was assured it would be replaced. Next morning, assuming it had been replaced, I tried it again, and up it went again, this time resulting in singed hair and a bad burn to my hand. I reported it again but was too afraid to try again. Even taking this into consideration, I would recommend these suites in a heartbeat, just don't leave the toaster unattended!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were allocated one at the back of the hotel. No view to speak of, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell T, Front Office Manager at Avenue Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Eskimo0550,

Rest assured that your evil toaster has been retired and a new one has been placed in the guest room. It is great to hear that everything else was so enjoyable here at the Avenue Suites and you took the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor public. I would love to try another room option the next time you are in our area so we can try to get you in a quiet room that has a view. Please reach out to me at the e-mail below so we can discuss it further.

Thanks for the great review,
Mitchell Turow
e-mail: mturow@modushotelsdc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Suites Georgetown

Address: 2500 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly Washington Suites Georgetown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Suites Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Suites Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Hotel Georgetown
Washington Hotel Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Suites Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.