We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy pool - far from DC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1917 Bladensburg Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #96 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Filthy pool - far from DC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We are a fairly low maintenance family when it comes to hotels. It needs a pool for the kids and access to transportation to the sights. When we arrived, the hotel staff took 20 minutes to find our reservation (for which I had a confirmation number). They kindly let us check in early and until our room was ready, we went to the pool. Both the pool and the hot tub were FILTHY the Sunday we arrived and in fact both my husband and one of my children became ill, which I suspect was from the pool. Our room was on the back side of the hotel away from the main road but at 5am, busses in the parking lot started backing up with their reverse sirens beeping, which woke the kids. We asked to move, so they put us in the front of the hotel where we heard traffic all night. The free shuttle into DC was often over booked and did not run often enough. While the staff were friendly, this was overall a terrible hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest; I'd like to thank you for bringing these items to our attention and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We will have the filters checked at the pool and whirlpool to make sure they are not clogged as that can make the water appear dirty but the chlorine is always maintained at an appropriate level keeping the water clean. We are sorry that your family had a restless stay due to the location of your guest room. We are on a busy intersection, we should have offered you a room in the middle if we could have so you would not hear the city traffic quite as much.

We strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction and did not offer that to you and your family. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you faced as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    74
    28
    18
    7
See reviews for
72
48
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple Hills
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staffs are friendly and accommodating. My family were accommodated even though we didn't have advance reservation and arrive at night. Room is well maintained and clean with spacious bathroom. Breakfast was very good and complete. The location is very accessible, near Basilica Cathedral. Easy way in and way out from parking. We will stay here again on our next trip to DC and Virginia. Will recommend to my friends. A walking distance fast foods restaurants near-by.
Proud87325

Room Tip: good view at corner or facing the road (I think east side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest; On behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, National Arboretum, we'd like to thank you for the wonderful comments you left and for the 5 star review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be a convenient, clean, and comfortable place to stay for you and your family. Word of mouth advertising is the best compliment we could receive, thank you in advance for recommending our hotel to your friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you all back upon your return to Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpster, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many hotels over the years....normally we stay at Holiday Inn Express...this location had the most outstanding staff by far! Friendly, courteous, efficient, just plain awesome! Whoever is training/managing this staff should be commended. I would most definitely recommend this location and will stay here on future trips to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the 5 stars you gave us. We will definitely let the General Manager and the rest of the team know that their service was well received and commend them for a job well done. Thank you for recommending our hotel, that is the best compliment we can receive. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again when you return to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I wanted to save a few bucks and it ended up costing in the long run. I was not aware of $15 a night parking fee until we got there and the few miles drive into the city was a total drag. The room was clean and nice with housekeeping doing a nice job. The guy at the front desk wasn't always pleasant answering my question about check out in one word sentences, but the remainder of the staff were very professional. I think this hotel might be good for some travelers in DC but didn't work for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our goal is to provide a friendly, clean, safe and warm enviroment at a great value for our guests all the time. We met most of that goal with you but fell short in other areas. We apologize that you were not informed of the parking fee in advance causing an unexpected additional cost you weren't prepared for.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest and thank you for the business. We're sorry to see that you feel it wasn't the right fit for you but appreciate you staying with us while in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 3 days with Reward Points. Had large 2 Q bed suite with frig and microwave. Hotel was clean and comfortable: breakfast was outstanding. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Shuttle took us to Union Station each morning. It was extremely hot (91) and we didn't want to wait for the 6 pm shuttle back to the hotel so we took cabs ($14). Location was not great but there were plenty of fast food restaurants near-by. An earlier shuttle pickup would have been a nice option.

Room Tip: GPS took us in on I-395 to New York Ave.--very congested. Cab driver suggested H St. to Bladenburg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the accommodations, the amenities and our staff treated you well during your visit. Thank you again for the business and please come back and see us again if your travels bring you back to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

was a nice hotel, huge rooms with great beds and lots of room for kids... breakfast was ok and nto bad and included in price which was good, a little far from all attractions but still fone and easily found... close to mcdonalds and has takeaways that deliver to the hotel which was good after a long day seeing all the sights

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with us. We always strive to provide a clean, safe and friendly environment and exceeding our guest expectations is what we work so hard for. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations and amenities were a perfect fit for your family. Thank you again for your business. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to the Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia area
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

+e booked this late on Easter weekend so all other choices were full...at least the ones that would accomodate our family and had an indoor pool.
The room was fine except we were told we had a pull-out couch and the couch did not. We figured that out at 10 PM with tired children so 5 people squeezed into 2 double beds. Its one of the reasons we picked that hotel and paid over $300 for a room. Unhappy.
Its not very close to the city and we drove through a slightly questionable neighborhood on our way there. Of course, we were driving out of that area by the time we got to the hotel. There isn't very many food options that are close other than fast food. We drove quite a ways for dinner.
For breakfast, there wasn't enough seats (typical of almost every hotel we've been to) so people were scrounging for tables.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your review. We would have been more than happy to have a team member assist you with the pull out sofa, but we completely understand that at that time of night, you just wanted to put the kids to bed and get some rest. We will ask housekeeping to check it to see what may have caused it stick and not open.

Our goal is provide 100% guest satisfaction and we did not meet that with you. We hope that you can accept our apologies for an uncomfortable night and difficult time at breakfast. We appreciate the business and wish that we could have provided a better stay for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Address: 1917 Bladensburg Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Northeast Washington, DC Hotel Near the Capitol Building The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Northeast Washington is near many hot spots for DC visitors. Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) is less than 10 miles away, Union Station and New York Ave Metro are within 2 miles, giving travelers easy access to our hotel. Travelers can immerse themselves in history while visiting the 19 museums of the Smithsonian Institute or popular, downtown Washington, DC memorials. You can escape to the beautiful outdoors when you visit the National Arboretum just beyond your DC hotel room. The close proximity of our Washington, DC hotel to local businesses and government offices makes the commute easy for business travelers. You'll find the Washington Times, the FBI and both Georgetown and George Washington universities within just five miles of our hotel in Washington. In addition, our 900 square feet of meeting space and a 24-hour business center can help you host a conference during your stay. Our hotel rooms overlooking DC offer entertainment for the whole family with free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access in every room. Unwind anytime in the 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool or whirlpool. For a complimentary hot breakfast and a convenient stay, choose this Washington, DC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Washington Dc-Northeast
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.