We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have splurged for downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1917 Bladensburg Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #97 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Warren, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should have splurged for downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I wanted to save a few bucks and it ended up costing in the long run. I was not aware of $15 a night parking fee until we got there and the few miles drive into the city was a total drag. The room was clean and nice with housekeeping doing a nice job. The guy at the front desk wasn't always pleasant answering my question about check out in one word sentences, but the remainder of the staff were very professional. I think this hotel might be good for some travelers in DC but didn't work for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our goal is to provide a friendly, clean, safe and warm enviroment at a great value for our guests all the time. We met most of that goal with you but fell short in other areas. We apologize that you were not informed of the parking fee in advance causing an unexpected additional cost you weren't prepared for.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest and thank you for the business. We're sorry to see that you feel it wasn't the right fit for you but appreciate you staying with us while in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    65
    24
    18
    7
See reviews for
67
43
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 3 days with Reward Points. Had large 2 Q bed suite with frig and microwave. Hotel was clean and comfortable: breakfast was outstanding. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Shuttle took us to Union Station each morning. It was extremely hot (91) and we didn't want to wait for the 6 pm shuttle back to the hotel so we took cabs ($14). Location was not great but there were plenty of fast food restaurants near-by. An earlier shuttle pickup would have been a nice option.

Room Tip: GPS took us in on I-395 to New York Ave.--very congested. Cab driver suggested H St. to Bladenburg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the accommodations, the amenities and our staff treated you well during your visit. Thank you again for the business and please come back and see us again if your travels bring you back to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

was a nice hotel, huge rooms with great beds and lots of room for kids... breakfast was ok and nto bad and included in price which was good, a little far from all attractions but still fone and easily found... close to mcdonalds and has takeaways that deliver to the hotel which was good after a long day seeing all the sights

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with us. We always strive to provide a clean, safe and friendly environment and exceeding our guest expectations is what we work so hard for. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations and amenities were a perfect fit for your family. Thank you again for your business. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to the Washington DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia area
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

+e booked this late on Easter weekend so all other choices were full...at least the ones that would accomodate our family and had an indoor pool.
The room was fine except we were told we had a pull-out couch and the couch did not. We figured that out at 10 PM with tired children so 5 people squeezed into 2 double beds. Its one of the reasons we picked that hotel and paid over $300 for a room. Unhappy.
Its not very close to the city and we drove through a slightly questionable neighborhood on our way there. Of course, we were driving out of that area by the time we got to the hotel. There isn't very many food options that are close other than fast food. We drove quite a ways for dinner.
For breakfast, there wasn't enough seats (typical of almost every hotel we've been to) so people were scrounging for tables.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your review. We would have been more than happy to have a team member assist you with the pull out sofa, but we completely understand that at that time of night, you just wanted to put the kids to bed and get some rest. We will ask housekeeping to check it to see what may have caused it stick and not open.

Our goal is provide 100% guest satisfaction and we did not meet that with you. We hope that you can accept our apologies for an uncomfortable night and difficult time at breakfast. We appreciate the business and wish that we could have provided a better stay for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is in a formerly industrial-only location. It is 3 miles NE of Union Station. It is not near any of the sites in Washington D.C. There are only a few fast food restaurants nearby, along with a large railyard and a large construction dump.

It is about 1.5 miles to the nearest Metro station. I would not feel comfortable walking to the station, or taking the bus to the station. Because of this, the hotel advertises that they have a "Shuttle Service" to take you to Union Station (which is also a Metro station). I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, on 6 continents (I travel for work). Most of the hotels I have stayed in have a legitimate shuttle service.

The "Shuttle Service" at this Holiday Inn Express is crap. Only five times a day, and only in the morning, with only 14 seats available, the "shuttle" will take you to Union Station. Only twice a day, and only in the early evening, with only 14 seats available, the "shuttle" will take you from Union Station to the hotel. EVERY shuttle I asked about taking, except for one, was full. It doesn't even make sense that they have 70 seats, total, going to Union Station in the morning, and only 28 seats, total, coming back. Crazy, and not what I would remotely call "shuttle" service.

I would not stay at this hotel ever again.

Washington D.C. is NOT car friendly. It is very hard to get around, and hard to find parking, and the parking is expensive. IF you were to stay at this hotel, you need a car, or you need to pay about $30 per day to get to and from the hotel and Union Station via taxi. I do NOT recommend driving in D.C. (we did two days of driving, and it was quite difficult). If you aren't driving, then you are overpaying for this hotel, because you have to add $30/day for taxi fares to get into the metro system.

Rating the hotel itself, it is a somewhat below average Holiday Inn. There is a free breakfast, which is good, but the food quality is typical for a free breakfast, which means it is very poor, low quality, food that is not very good for your health (like most American food). There is a small pool and a workout room, which is equipped below average. I am used to a more comfortable bed. They DID have fitted sheets, which I feel is required to have a comfortable night's sleep.

They advertise their bedding as being very good. It was average....not good, not bad.

The staff was friendly and helpful, except that they could not get shuttle transportation for those of us in the hotel, due to the lack of capacity.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is never easy to read that we provided any less than 100 % customer service and I would like to personally apologize that due to the reasons you listed, you had an unpleasent experience with us.

While we cannot change the location of the hotel or challenges faced with the city driving we can improve upon our personal service provided to our guests and thank you again for your providing your feedback, we are sorry to hear you will not stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel overall is very good. Everything was clean especially the rooms. Full hot breakfast was great except the eating area is small so be at breakfast early. It's about 15 mins drive to D. C. & but they do offer free shuttle service that runs about every hour. Around the hotel there are very few choices for dinner so eat downtown or if you prefer there are a few places that deliver to the hotel. Overall a nice clean place to stay & the staff very courteous.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for the very nice 4 star review. It means a lot to us when our guests let us know that they had a great experience at our hotel and we are delighted that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you staying with us and should you have the opportunity to visit Washington DC again and we would love to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I traveled to the DC area with my parents for cardiac surgery for my 78 year old father at Washington Hospital. We decided to stay at the HIE because the hotel offers shuttle service to & from the hospital and had good reviews online. The hotel was located less than desirable area of the city but we felt safe and the hotel was very clean and comfortable. The service and hotel staff were outstanding. The staff went above and beyond to assist us the day of my dads surgery. Laurie and Richard were very gracious and assisted us during a very stressful time. We are very thankful and felt truly blessed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your kind words and your 4 star review. The hotel offers not only a complimentary shuttle service for our guests to and from the hospital, but a special rate as well, because we know that transportation and a where you will be staying, should be the least of your worries. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that the service your received from our staff was exceptional and for recognizing both Laurie and Richard personally in your review. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again and thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Address: 1917 Bladensburg Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#81 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Northeast Washington, DC Hotel Near the Capitol Building The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Northeast Washington is near many hot spots for DC visitors. Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) is less than 10 miles away, Union Station and New York Ave Metro are within 2 miles, giving travelers easy access to our hotel. Travelers can immerse themselves in history while visiting the 19 museums of the Smithsonian Institute or popular, downtown Washington, DC memorials. You can escape to the beautiful outdoors when you visit the National Arboretum just beyond your DC hotel room. The close proximity of our Washington, DC hotel to local businesses and government offices makes the commute easy for business travelers. You'll find the Washington Times, the FBI and both Georgetown and George Washington universities within just five miles of our hotel in Washington. In addition, our 900 square feet of meeting space and a 24-hour business center can help you host a conference during your stay. Our hotel rooms overlooking DC offer entertainment for the whole family with free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access in every room. Unwind anytime in the 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool or whirlpool. For a complimentary hot breakfast and a convenient stay, choose this Washington, DC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Washington Dc-Northeast
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.