We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small oasis in an urban semi-desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1917 Bladensburg Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #96 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A small oasis in an urban semi-desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this facility for 3 nights while attending a conference at the US National Arboretum. This is a relatively new facility and it's still shining. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My room had a king bed and couch with foldaway. The furniture was all in good shape. Bed wonderfully comfortable. Small fridge, which was a bit noisy actually, but not disturbing. Two HDTV's, the reception not the best on several channels, but I only use as a sleeping aid anyway. Continental breakfast was included and was generous enough for "continental". The US National Arboretum is just a stone's throw away, an easy and safe 10 minute walk, if you want to walk. I wouldn't say there was mulch else in the immediate vicinity that I found attractive--hence the title urban semi-desert. But, being that the Inn is located at the corner of New York Ave and Bladensburg, many DC areas of interest are not very far away. And, judging from the construction within sight of the front door, it probably won't be long before there are new "go to" shopping, dining and other social areas very near. The weekday price was only average; a better rate is available, as for most of DC, on weekends. Fifteen bucks was charged per day to park, even out here in the hinterlands. Guess their property taxes are high. Still, bottom line for me, the facility and staff were both very nice, and that goes a long way toward making one's experience pleasant. If you need accommodations in this general section of DC this is a good place to rest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review about your recent stay with us. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is four years young as we opened our doors in May 2008. We appreciate you letting us know what you did enjoy ( the hotel accommodations and amenities) and what you did not enjoy (not a lot to do in immediate walking vicinity). The area around the hotel is continually growing with current economic redevelopement taking place, as a matter of fact, the construction next door is slated to be a national retail chain store which is perfect fit for the location and we are excited for the grand opening coming soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    75
    28
    18
    7
See reviews for
73
48
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the holiday inn express 10/19-10/21/2012. When we first arrived there was a mixup, we reserved a double queen bed room....we were given a king bed room. The hotel staff was excellent and went through great lengths to make sure we were given the room we reserved. Javelyn and Tierra really helped us out alot, they found a guest who had a double room but she was alone thankfully the guest agreed to switch rooms with us. Javelyn and Tierra went to the room and personally cleaned it for us .......there efforts should be appluaded!!! I was very pleased with their customer service. I will stay here in the future and the complementary breakfast was also good!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest; We can't thank you enough for the wonderful review you posted! We have a terrific team with a "can do" attitude and appreciate the compliments about them and their service. We will make sure that Javelyn and Tierra are congratulated on a job very well done for you. Our entire time is so pleased to hear that everything worked out in the end and you had a great stay. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our Nations Capitol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed three nights here, the first being a Saturday. I mention that because the place was really jumping on the Saturday night, as it seems there was a big children's party there and the hotel was packed and people were coming and going all the time, at least until we turned in. Breakfast was very crowded, too. I think some teenage sports teams were staying, too. We also had a room facing the main road and intersection, so traffic was noisy on the Saturday night. Fortunately we were tired so it really wasn't an issue, but what I'm suggesting is that, if you check in on a Saturday (and perhaps a Friday) night, you ask for a room away from the main road.

The following couple of nights and mornings were fine. No noise, no crowds. Breakfast was very good, with a good range of items available, including hot savory ones. Our room was very nice - clean and well appointed.

We were impressed with the efficiency with which everything was done, especially at reception, including the booking, which I did over the phone as the internet booking got a bit tangled. This is the only Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at, and if it's typical of these hotels I'd say they have a very good system going. My compliments to the staff who were on duty during our stay.

The shuttle from the hotel to Union Station is very helpful. Even though the hotel is a bit away from the centre of town this is no disadvantage because of the hourly shuttle. We were also provided with a special shuttle for our group of five for an early train from Union Station, which was a real bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the compliments for our staff and hotel. Should your travels bring you back to Washington DC, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was an extremely pleasant overall experience. Prices were good, place was clean and well cared for, and they gave free rides to Union Station (from which there are a multitude of ways to get around Washington). Nothing fancy, but all one needs on a vacation is a clean, safe place to sleep, right? And the Holiday Inn Express delivered that. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you letting us know that your experience was very pleasent we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to having you return for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

As an HIE afficianado (and self-admitted snob), this was a good middle of the road hotel. Rooms were clean and well-appointed, nothing fancy. While a good value, the location was fair, quite a ways out of the way if you are seeing the sites and don't care much for city traffic. Staff was fair while we were there. Not too sure if we were imposing on one of them when checking in. The day folks were good though. Worth a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DC as your place to stay while on business, we appreciate your loyalty to HIE brand. Pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we look foward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nites and I gotta say it was really nice. Room was big enough for my family of 3. This place is ok location wise. The front desk staff was nice and helped me out with all my questions so I had no complaints there either

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience while staying at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, DC. We are pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you return for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was so nicely greeted when arriving early because we travelled by train to DC. The shuttle picked us up from Union Station and took us to the hotel. They allowed us to check in several hours early. Breakfast included was a great added bonus. We loved the shuttle service as we were able to visit all over the city without traveling by car. We were able to easily navigate Washington DC by metro. And the hotel staff was so helpful in the smallest things like where to choose to order take out food from, and the recommendation was great. Room was clean and pool was wonderful. Would stay here again for sure and recommend to all my friends who are interested in a trip to DC.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Mary - Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC. We are very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you had a wonderful time while staying with us. Our staff is great at letting our guests know where all the hidden gems are in DC and things to do and see while visiting the area. Metro is a economical way to get around town and glad you were able to take advantage of that. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future and appreciate the recommendation to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Address: 1917 Bladensburg Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Northeast Washington, DC Hotel Near the Capitol Building The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Northeast Washington is near many hot spots for DC visitors. Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA) is less than 10 miles away, Union Station and New York Ave Metro are within 2 miles, giving travelers easy access to our hotel. Travelers can immerse themselves in history while visiting the 19 museums of the Smithsonian Institute or popular, downtown Washington, DC memorials. You can escape to the beautiful outdoors when you visit the National Arboretum just beyond your DC hotel room. The close proximity of our Washington, DC hotel to local businesses and government offices makes the commute easy for business travelers. You'll find the Washington Times, the FBI and both Georgetown and George Washington universities within just five miles of our hotel in Washington. In addition, our 900 square feet of meeting space and a 24-hour business center can help you host a conference during your stay. Our hotel rooms overlooking DC offer entertainment for the whole family with free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access in every room. Unwind anytime in the 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool or whirlpool. For a complimentary hot breakfast and a convenient stay, choose this Washington, DC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Washington Dc-Northeast
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.