We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Trendy Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Gregory Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St. Gregory Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
St. Gregory Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2033 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Trendy Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and 7 month old daughter stayed here during an overnight trip to Washington D.c. in May of 2014. We did not initially pick this hotel, we found a Groupon for it, so we did not know where we would be staying until we booked the hotel.

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The most difficult part was finding a place to park. There is street parking but it is very difficult, so we let the hotel valet park our car. The only part that I found a bit crazy was that even to park your car overnight was around pricey. So if you can find a parking spot, I would try that first. The lobby is absolutely beautiful and has a statue of Marilyn Monroe right as you walk in. You could it was more of where the trend setting couples stay as there were a lot of people at the bar.

Upon check in the hotel staff was very kind and very accommodating to us. We needed a pack and play for our little girl and one was delivered to our room almost immediately after check in. The bell hop took our bags to our room for us and was very nice as well. We only stayed for one night. The only down fall was that there really wasn't any type of breakfast offered without a hefty price tag(It was mother's day weekend and I believe they were all booked up anyhow) so we just went to the local CVS and got some pop parts.

The room was gorgeous! We had a great view. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was a kitchen so you were able to do pretty much whatever you wanted. If we are traveling to the area again we would most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    308
    114
    50
    36
See reviews for
178
226
66
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I recently stayed at the St. Gregory for nearly four weeks. My original stay of a couple nights kept getting extended. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating. I live and work in DC. I know the hotels. I was impressed by the size of my room (a suite with living room, kitchen and bedroom) and the very competitive rates. The location is excellent: approximately 3 blocks to the subway and Dupont Circle and 6 blocks to Georgetown. I travel the world and stay in 5 star hotels as a rule. But if I were visiting DC for any duration or on a budget, I would return to the St. Gregory in a heart beat. I could tell from the way everyone treated me that the hotel staff knows the value of teamwork and they each take pride in their work. These are essential ingredients for success in the hotel business.

Room Tip: High floors are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Located a five minute walk from the monument mall in a very nice neighborhood. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Rates were very reasonable. Fully furnished rooms, very modern decor. I think I was outclassed with my cooler full of beer and champion basketball shorts.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

St. Gregory Hotel & Suites was the best decision I could have made for me and my mother's stay in DC. Right in the middle of everything but removed enough from everything for relaxing nights was amazing! We enjoyed our suite that one day we cancelled our plans and stayed in the suite playing games ect. The staff is INCREDIBLY accommodating and reassuring as well as honest good people. They could have allowed us to stay in their lot and pay an addition night of parking but they let us know that street parking was free that night to save us money!!! It's a little expensive but I think it was well worth every penny!! And my mom fully agrees!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The St. Gregory was listed as a nearby hotel for an appointment we had in DC. We had no idea what to expect. We were taking our chances and feel we hit the jackpot.

The staff was wonderful, the facilities clean and well-kept. It was so nice to stay at a "non-chain" hotel that exceeded expectations. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to DC.

Room Tip: Due to street noise, the higher floors are probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights, and I found it very impressive.
The hotel was in a good location, quiet even though I faced the street and the staff very pleasant.
The bathroom was spotless and spacious and there was nothing in the room I felt was needed.
So why only 4 stars, well firstly it was the $12 per 24hr charge for internet access, 2 no ability to direct the airflow from the air conditioner and thirdly a right hand hinged refrigerator inside a left hand hinged cupboard.
No deal breakers here and a member of staff kindly explained that their fee for Internet was cheaper than other DC hotels, however I would ask, why are any charging extra?? Someone needs to be bold and step up and not charge, it really is unnecessary, first place I have stayed in the US for quite a while that charges.
I would recommend this hotel to other guests.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The St. Gregory's location is wonderful for walking around D.C. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioner in the room was loud, and the bathroom door did not easily close, but the excellent location made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to St. Gregory Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Gregory Hotel & Suites

Address: 2033 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Gregory Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Gregory Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Gregory Hotel Washington Dc
St. Gregory Hotel And Suites
St Gregory Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Gregory Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.