We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Gregory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added St. Gregory Hotel to your Saves list
St. Gregory Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2033 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi & Parking
Ranked #85 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My friends and I stayed for just one night but we're sure to come back. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious. All the staff we encountered were friendly and accommodating. Conveniently located to the metro and various shops, I can't wait to come back for a longer stay. I'd recommend St. Gregory to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    321
    118
    52
    37
See reviews for
184
232
67
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Did a one night getaway for mothers day with my wife. They had a flash sale I assume because of some minor rain. Was upgraded to a suite and was able to check in several hours early. Everyone at the desk was very pleasant and the door was opened each time we went in or out. Would highly recommend and will stay again. There is no view but it is not in a view area so no big deal there. Restaurant on site was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I needed a place to stay for one night in DC recently, so I looked in the Georgetown area for a decent place and came by the St. Gregory. It wasn't cheap, mind you, but it had 4 stars and was in a good location so I said I'd give it a try. The people were friendly and there were no problems, per se. But the decor of the rooms looked like something out of the late 1970's, with the cheap wood furniture, (and blinds), and glass paneling. The air condition wasn't central air - it was a box under the window that made a lot of noise. The bathroom was clean, but dated, and the sheets were an awful color and looked old. The room was spacious, but that was about the only good thing. This hotel should have been rated a 2 1/2, maybe 3 star for the amenities, or lack thereof.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The front desk seemed stuck up when we checked in and it seemed as if our questions were an inconvenience to the staff. Then we forgot one of our coat at the previous hotel 15 blocks away. Our schedule while in DC was booked solid. We asked if the hotel had anyone to pick up our coat for us, we would even pay for the inconvenience to the hotel. They told us there was no way they could get our coat within 2 days and suggested fed ex... Not 4-5 star service. The valet was expensive at $37 but the valet service was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and lovely. Overall, the price exceeded the service and experience and we would not stay there again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel from Friday 25/4/14 to 28/4/14.
On arrival the reception staff were very poor, lack of a welcome, no forthcoming information about the hotel and its facilities. Took ages to find an available room despite arriving an hour after check in began. On asking about parking our rental car was told charge is $37 per night. I replied that this seemed excessive and staff member said - well it says it on our website so you should of known (staff member called Jorge, rude throughout).
On checking into the room, found that Wifi is also an extra charge of $12, which is absurd when you can get free wifi everywhere these days. Paid for the wifi thinking that was it for the stay, but NO its $12 every 24hours. Spoke again to reception who said this was true and that should have been told this at check in!!!!

Overall the hotel has a good location and rooms are comfortable, however the attitude of the staff and ridiculous extra charges soured our stay significantly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our trip. Great deal for the price and excellent location! Make sure you book directly on their website! We selected one of their value packages which included two welcome cocktails, discounts at their restaurant, and 50% off daily parking! The package was cheaper (with all the added bonuses) than booking through discounted travel sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was my second stay at the St. Gregory - I thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful suite that I was fortunate to have been upgraded to (at no add'l cost), complete with balcony and beautiful city views! It was a phenomenal experience.
I would highly recommend this hotel to most visiting the city - also based on the terrific location!

Room Tip: Pick the Penthouse with balcony and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#62 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Dupont Circle
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
#46 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Gregory Hotel

Address: 2033 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Gregory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Gregory Hotel And Suites
St. Gregory Hotel Washington Dc
St Gregory Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Gregory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.