We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #30 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was most helpful in changing our reservation to add an extra night to our original reservation and making sure that we did not have to change rooms. The front desk personal where most helpful in advising near by restaurants as well as informing me where my business meetings were going to be held and what time they are scheduled.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    746
    155
    45
    17
See reviews for
536
475
109
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Weekend stay for viewing PICTURING MARY IN ART at the Natl Museum of Women in the Arts which is a block away. Located just across the street from the Macpherson Square metro stop. Easy metro trip from Reagan airport. Nice hotel with friendly service and comfortable room. Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner with variety of choices.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear PSAtlanta,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. Our location makes sight seeing and traveling around the city simple and stress free. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is great to be back to Hilton Garden Inn in DC. The manager, George, is wonderful. His team is superb and I feel like I am coming home every time. It is great to go to breakfast and hear Genaro. The attendants at the desk are great and so helpful, Yessica made a miracle in working our bill in no time. I strongly recommend it if you want to spend some great time in DC.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Rita M,

Thank you for your response. Out team works tirelessly to make all of our guests feel right at home. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I'm very loyal to the Hilton brand because I've always had pretty good experiences minus a couple problems here and there, but this was easily the worst experience ever. Maybe I got my hopes up thinking my favorite chain in our nation's capital would be the best. Our first room was horrible (loud housekeeping, horrible view, small room, heating/cooling system blew out cold air only). When we moved to a new room, I left a work binder in the room which I immediately tried getting back to no success. After leaving a message with housekeeping and calling back again in the morning when they failed to contact me I was told a housekeeper threw out all my paperwork and kept the binder (please make sense of that to me). To top it off we had the rudest, laziest server the next morning for breakfast. The only bright spot during this stay was Gennaro in the restaurant staff. He's very polite and professional and was very accommodating when my wife and I tried to order room service for dinner, but they had ran out of our meal choices. The reason I rate this as the worst stay ever is that hotel failed to apologize for their shortcomings or even compensate for them. My wife and I were trying to enjoy our anniversary and Valentine's day, but instead we were just dealing with one problem after the next.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Wesley R,

I am very sorry you had this experience in my hotel.

I am usually in a position where I can explain many issues. Sometimes things happen or simple miscommunication. Your experience is rare in our hotel but it should never happen. Things started going wrong and we had no response. My response needs to be better.

We have corresponded privately and hope the remedy at least illustrates our commitment to you.

Thank you for reminding me and the team that we can't take anything for granted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel is close to attractions, restaurants, and Metro! Staff was courteous and helpful. Coffee and cookies were a nice touch as was the fireplace in a lobby. We enjoyed the stay and found the desk staff and concierge extremely helpful.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Ann R,

Thank you for the review. Our location cannot be beat when it comes to seeing the sights and tasting the cuisine that DC has to offer. During the cold winter months, our fire place and complimentary coffee and hot chocolate are a smashing hit with our clients. Please visit us again when you travel to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenson, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights for a volleyball tournament over Presidents weekend. Room comfortable and clean. In room Keurig (ALRIGHT!), fridge and microwave. Got back late one night with no dinner and they had a great selection of food at their Pantry which was a life saver! Excellent and courteous service! In house restaurant was delish!

Room Tip: Take a room off the back wing to avoid street noise. Sirens can't be avoided no matter where yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Karen B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that you had a splendid time at the volleyball tournament. We do supply our rooms and pantry with amenities that make a multiple day trip convenient and relaxing. We hope we can welcome you back to DC the next time you decide to stay in the Nations Capitol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bedrooms were very comfortable and as I had a high up room it was relatively quiet. Having said that I did not have the windows open and there was not much traffic around on the street the first night of my stay due to the freezing conditions. The location of the Hotel for downtown business and sightseeing was perfect and there is a Metro Station directly opposite, making getting away to farther destinations very easy.
Staff are warm and welcoming, but the public areas, restaurant and bar are pretty cold, functional and unwelcoming. Made worse by the extreme weather conditions - whenever the front door opened the icy blast filled the whole lobby and bar area, despite and open fire trying to keep things warm!!

Room Tip: As always in any city hotel, take a higher room (to minimise traffic noise), away from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.