We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast Deal
Ranked #26 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We rented three rooms on the 12th floor facing 14 th street for 4 nights. The staff were excellent from front desk to wait staff. All were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The rooms were comfortable and clean with comfortable beds. There also were refrigerators and microwaves and safes in each room. None of our group had issues with noise. The breakfast had a nice selection each morning. This hotel is across from the McPherson Square Metro stop so very convenient plus just a few blocks from the White House.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    714
    148
    44
    14
See reviews for
518
456
105
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Picked option where breakfast was included only to be charged during breakfast. Staff who welcomed us on check-in even mentioned that our reservation includes complimentary breakfast. When I mentioned this to the lady upon check-out, I was told that "This happens all the time with Booking.com."

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a really good three star hotel. Clean with very helpful staff and large rooms that even have a microwave, fridge. And coffee maker.

The location is fantastic, with most attractions within walking distance. Good restaurants and shops can all be found locally. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, the 4 of us fit very comfortably in a king suite and had plenty of room to spread out! Breakfast was delicious and the restaurant staff made us feel so welcome and was so friendly! The location is perfect, we walked to the White House and to all the museums along the mall. There is a Starbucks just down the street and many restaurants within walking distance. The only thing that could have made this stay any better would have been a better view, our room looked out at the back alley, but they let us check in at 9 am so that was a worthwhile trade off! We would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is friendly, comfortable, and convenient. The lobby is small, but the social space to the right is expansive. The beds were comfortable and the room was a good size with a large bathroom and a comfortable chair. We enjoyed warming ourselves by the fireplace after walking around the mall for two hours looking at the Memorials.There is coffee all morning and a bar to grab a glass of wine at the end of the day. We had guests stop by one day who joined us to visit for an hour in the social area. The hotel provided coffee service for us even though it was 5:00 pm. The service came with a smile and no sign of inconvenience. Now, that is a very friendly and customer service oriented staff! Good dining choices were within walking distance of the hotel for both breakfast and dinner. The hotel staff went above and beyond for us. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here to do the museum tour thing. This is a very nice hotel in an excellent location. Our room was very nice and it was quiet inside ( adjacent rooms and hallways).The noise was from the city OUTSIDE. We were on the second floor directly behind the street front hotel sign and the honking horns, sirens, and screeching tires occurred all night. We turned the a/c unit fan on and that did a great job of filtering out most of the noise. I would stay here again but would attempt to choose a room on a higher floor and possibly away from the street ( 14th ) side which may decrease the street sounds. All of the staff we encountered were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. The valet fee was rather steep ( at least that's my opinion) but there are several garages within a block or two that I would investigate parking at next time I go down. Plenty of restaurants and conveniences within walking distance as well.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family met me on the tail end of a business trip. We took an extended weekend in DC so that we could take my daughter to the museums and monuments. The location of this hotel cannot be beat! We were able to walk to most of the things that we wanted to see. For the places that were a bit farther, the metro is directly across the street and easy to use.
Warning, if you have a room overlooking the street it is a bit loud.... it's downtown DC, what do you expect? They do however provide ear plugs which were helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, get a room on the inside without a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.