We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast Deal
Ranked #23 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location & Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved this hotel! It's in the perfect location - walking distance to the White House, across the street from a metro station (McPherson), near other metro stations, walking distance of lots of restaurants and shops, and more. There's a restaurant and bar in the hotel that is a little pricey but decent. There is a 24 hour pantry where you can buy water bottles (the vending machines don't have water, at least the ones on my floor didn't). My one negative of this hotel is that at the other 2 Hilton hotels I've stayed at this year (Hilton Garden Inn Times Square and Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall) I've been given 2 free water bottles everyday, and at the NYC one I even got a free cupcake upon arrival. At this DC Hilton Garden Inn, there was no free water. The rooms were a decent size, shower fine (although water pressure wasn't what I'm used to at home), the view was decent, and the rooms were clean. The AC worked (a plus in a DC summer) and the staff was very nice. I would definitely stay here again and I had a very enjoyable 6 nights here (7/17-7/23/14). Thanks Hilton Garden Inn for a great experience!

Room Tip: My room was facing 14th St. away from the elevator on the 8th floor (non-smoking as well). It was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    653
    640
    127
    40
    15
See reviews for
445
406
95
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 3 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn. Rooms are very spacious and clean. The staff are very helpful with a nice sense of humour. Within walking distance to quite a few of the attractions plus a subway directly across the road. I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again if I was to visit Washington.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor facing the street and it is very quiet of a night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel because it was across the street from a Metro and had a weekend package that included parking and breakfast. On all those accounts, it met our needs.

The customer service though, was above and beyond. I appreciated the staff anticipating and meeting our needs before we asked. The front desk supervisor did a great job, and the breakfast hosts were very welcoming.

We would definitely stay at this property should we return to downtown DC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a couple of nights on business. The hotel was busy as there was a Microsoft conference in town but this team handled it all perfectly.

Really friendly staff, doormen and porters hustle to help you with bags, doors and taxis. Front desk team really nice and helpful with directions, maps etc. It's a couple blocks from the famous Willard Hotel and then a few more to the White House. Very centrally located. My room was on the street side and while they did provide me with in room amenity of ear plugs, I never needed them as I had the air conditioning on and it created a bit of "White noise". Some others suggest the backside of the hotel so you won't have noise. My room was perfect and after a hot day of travel I was thrilled to crawl into the king bed with immaculate white sheets and soft duvet cover with lots of pillows. Bathroom was squeaky clean and all amenities were in place. I was close to the elevator but did not hear any noise.

I ate dinner here both nights. Food was tasty and the service was top notch--nice little bar too. The servers on both nights were very accommodating, sharing with me the specials and being totally on their game in terms of anticipating my needs for food and beverage. Very nice team. When I am in DC on business again, I will definitely make this my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just blocks from the mall and the White House, the hotel is centrally located to a number of great attractions. And, for getting around on the subway, the hotel is situated across the street from the McPherson Metro station. But, by far, the best part of the hotel is the staff - the front desk are courteous and efficient (friendly!); wait staff in the restaurant are professional and knowledgeable; the bartender even remembers my name although its usually months between visits; and housekeeping is always willing to go that extra step to provide additional things if needed.

It's a good hotel with GREAT staff!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side face the street and have something of a view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not only was the hotel in a perfect location, the concierge was beyond helpful. Jonathan was a tremendous help! He helped with dinner reservations and recommended a fabulous tour!! He took a lot of time to ensure we had a wonderful time in DC! He definitely went above and beyond!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you want a hotel with a walkable location, a couple blocks from from the White House and several blocks from the museums, with wonderful restaurants all around, this is it. The metro station is just across the street so there is easy access from the airport. A wonderful place to serve as your DC base while you explore the city. For coffee drinkers, there is a Keurig coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.