We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nicely located, efficient DC hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast Deal
Ranked #25 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A nicely located, efficient DC hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed two nights in late June 2013 on business (office right around the corner). Late check in was efficient, friendly staff, and room was clean and well appointed. Prices are very dear to this Midwestern traveler, but on par with what DC seems to cost in summer. I usually qualify for the government rate so the sticker shock (for whomever paid my bill) was an eye opener. I was assigned an awful room (inner 'court yard' overlooking cooking vents that created a white noise I could fall asleep to. Good news was I could n't hear when the

Room Tip: The inner 'circle' of low floors looks out over air conditioning units and is not very pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    642
    635
    125
    40
    15
See reviews for
443
400
94
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, NJ
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I travel to DC quite a bit. THe Hilton Garden Inn in DC is one of the first hotels that has improved drastically over the years. Service was efficient, friendly, and responsive. The rooms are decent-sized and the facilities very nice. The breakfast buffet is extensive and the quality high. Super location and smiling staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjtraveler2008
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stay at this Hilton when travelling for work. It's a good location, walking distance to the business district and the monuments, white house. Clean, very friendly staff, and warm cookies. The gym is underground so a little dreary but other than that it's pretty nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a good value in very pricey Washington DC. The location is excellent. As Hilton Honors Diamond members, we were given vouchers for breakfast and water bottles. Breakfast was very good. Two of us used the fitness center which could be better maintained (one treadmill squeaked, another had a nonworking TV), but met our needs.

Room Tip: We ended up with an accessible room. That type of room may be a little larger. It did feel spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were extremely comfortable at the Hilton Garden Hotel. The hotel has large, comfortable rooms and beds. Our room on a high floor at the back of the hotel was peaceful and quiet and we were able to have a peaceful nights sleep after our long days walking around the Smithsonian Museums. It is close to restaurants, shops, trolley bus stops and the Smithsonian museums. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and free coffee, tea & beverage in the lobby every morning was an excellent gesture. Excellent value for such a convenient hotel. There is a gym and a small pool, but as the weather was very hot the pool was often full of small children. Laundry facilities were also available. We found this hotel excellent value for money,



Genuine Hotels.com guest review

Room Tip: Rooms High up at the back of the hotel are bright and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We rented a family suite with a king and a sofabed for 4 nights. The staff is exceptional here. They are absolutely superb: helpful, aware of the details, etc.
The rooms , hum, beds a little worned and carpet are very tired. Our room window had a view to other rooms and the noise of ac on top of building downward the window was quite loud and annoying, could hardly say if it was night or day looking thru the window. But who stays in-room while visiting Washington? The pool is very small. Breakfast is fine. All in all a good stay. You are at a walking distance of whitehouse, and museum and the mall.
There are a lot of nice restaurant near by.
Would recommend this place for a short business stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

You cannot beat this hotel for the location, comfort, and price. I was trying to decide between this hotel and the Capital Hilton but glad I picked this one as I think it is better located to the metro as well as DC sites. Plus, it has free wifi!!

So, as others have stated, it is right across the street from the metro to the airport and walking distance to the White House as well as the Smithsonian. It is also a block away from the buses that take you to Georgetown, the zoo, Union Station, etc for $1.00, if you like to view DC above ground (it is a very nice bus).

The rooms were great, and the beds were comfortable. They have all the amenities and it doesn't feel like a category below regular Hiltons (in contrast to Sheraton v. Four Points Sheraton). In fact, they are better because you get free wifi!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.