We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and freindly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #30 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location and freindly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Was in town for a half mararthon and didnt want to rent a car so i picked this hotel based on location to metro and main attractions (smithosonians, White house and monuments). I was not disappointed the metro is right across the street and easy ot navigate and the amin attractions are a short walk from the hotel. There are some great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well. It was a great stay for a couple and families alike. The price was high too high in my option but the hotel ended up lowering the rate the week before we came which made it more reasonable.

Room Tip: We ended up with a handy cap room which was actually really nice the shower was not wheel in it just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    764
    156
    46
    17
See reviews for
552
482
109
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute for a weekend in Washington DC and to be honest wsa not my first choice.

I was mostly happy with the selection.

The Good: Location is excellent for walking around the city. Close to the White House and shops, Starbucks everything you could possibly want.

The room is very "homely" and comfortable. The beds are nice. Finally US hotels have woken up to the rest of the world and started supplying fridges for your own use in the room which was great. A nice coffee machine, LCD TV, everything you could want with a very comfortable and clean feel.

The breakfast was acceptable and WiFi was included which was also great. valet costs $32 / day although can take a while to get your car if it's busy so call ahead.

Overall a well balanced and nice hotel.

The Bad: The room I got had a view out the window of another window about 10ft away. I couldn't see the sky to check the weather. I really didn't like this at all and made me feel claustrophobic. Please ask about your room prior to going in.

The shower had a water saving shower head which saved a LOT of water. It was like waiting for the next drop of water so expect long showers. I didn't like the shower at all.

Finally, this is one of those hotels where house keeping uses the door latches to keep the doors open and the door banging starts early and goes most of the morning until they have cleaned the rooms. I don't know why hotels allow this and makes for a very noisy hotel. So don't expect to sleep in if it's busy..

Its a cost effective well located hotel. Not my #1 choice but a nice selection.

Room Tip: Please check which room you have been given otherwise out your window will be someone else's win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and both times we were extremely pleased with our room and the service. Kristin at the front desk was so welcoming and helpful with all of our needs. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast buffet. The entire staff was friendly and very courteous. We are looking forward to our next stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is located right near the White House and downtown businesses and was a good value. My room was attractive, clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff at the desk were very helpful and happily accommodated a specific request I had. I would definately recommend this hotel compared to more of the higher priced ones nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my family during a week vacation to explore Washington D.C. for the first time. There are so many positives with this hotel and you can't beat the location, only 2-3 blocks from the White House and across the street from the metro! The staff at the hotel is exemplary! Eddie checked us in and was more than helpful all the days we were there and greeted us by name everytime we saw him in the lobby. The other employees of the hotel were just as welcoming and kind as they too greeted us and asked about our day every time we came back to the hotel. The rooms are all renovated, very clean, and well furnished. The only slight downside was the noise from our neighbors since we were in a room with a connecting door. We clearly heard every conversation in the neighboring room every evening. But other than that it is a great hotel and ideally located. As a gold member we received free breakfast for 2 everyday which was nice to start off our all day adventures around DC. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great location. Walking distance to Smithsonian. Hotel was very clean, well maintained and a good price for downtown DC. The restaurant was very good. Service was friendly and helpful. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: stayed at the end of the hall and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the service and the location! Directly across from metro access, it made the trip to Washington D.C. very convenient! I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are visiting all the touristy sites in D.C. There is a CVS and several restraunts within walking distance as well. The room we stayed in overlooked the street and was quite loud at 2am but no other complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.