We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #27 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really great location, literally a few blocks from the White House and a metro stop across the street and a 5 minute ride to the Mall. Room was average to good, a bit on the small side but we were rarely there. No view, but it was very quiet and we slept great. Staff was excellent and friendly, even brought our twin 6 year old's back into the kitchen to scoop their own ice cream (which they didn't charge me for). Booked online for $200 a night and feel like the entire weekend was a winner. Would definitely return. Only criticism was the swimming pool was ice cold. If my kids say it's too cold, you know it is way too cold!

Room Tip: High floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    730
    152
    44
    16
See reviews for
528
468
108
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Hilton Garden Inn in Downtown Washington. We found the location to be the most attractive part of our stay. The hotel is a short walk from almost everything that you would want to see. There are a plethora of restaurants and bars located just a few steps from the hotel. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean, quiet and tastefully decorated as was the rest of the hotel. The warm cookies come out daily at 5:00 pm and are worth the trip down to the lobby. The lobby supplies fresh coffee daily and there is a small bar and restaurant there as well but we did not eat or drink there. The pool is very small so if you have kids it may not be the best place. We felt very secure in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good nights rest for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice hotel, just dont let the drab foyer fool you. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Up to date furniture inside rooms is a plus. BIG HINT, try to avoid a room with that sits on 14th street (front of hotel) there is a lot of noise, ie. sirens, traffic and horns that go on all night. The windows and curtains do little to block the sounds. Other then that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room with that sits on 14th street (front of hotel) there is a lot of noise, ie. sire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Perfect for family going to DC to see the site. Walking distance to major sites and monuments. Across the street from Metro station. Hotel was more than accommodating during check-in; lobby has free coffee, fruit and cookies in the afternoon. Buffet breakfast was a great way to start the kids' day off (included in room rate was even better). Family suites are one room with a bathroom dividing the room. King bed on one side, pullout coach on the other. TVs on both sides. Note: second floor family suite is next to the laundry room (good or bad depending on your preferences). Didn’t try to restaurant as there are so many options in DC!

Room Tip: Note: second floor family suite is next to the laundry room (good or bad depending on your preferen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, CT, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel has good downtown location to see monuments and other sites. Close to quick, cheap food as well as nicer dining as well. AC/heating units were a problem; would not hold temperature and extremely noisy. Maintenance was unable to revsolve so set on "emergency heat." Next morining shower valve was difficult to start howeve, once running, would not turn off. Front desk agreed to move us but new room was smaller with view of inner courtyard/office building. Basically had to keep the drapes shut for the next two days. Overall not a place I 'd recommend unless a last resort to be downtown. Likely would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and appreciate your feedback.

Without a doubt, you should not have experienced any issues with your room and apologize for the malfunction with the faucet and heat. Our location is in the heart of Downtown DC and is though convenient to the sites, some of the views are of neighboring buildings and alleys though the majority face front.

If you your travels ever bring you back to Washington, DC, please contact me in advance and I will make sure we have a room with a view for you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn was a very nice hotel in a great location. The room was in excellent condition and very clean, especially the bathroom. No view, but who cares, we spent most of the day outdoors for that. Free wi-fi was a nice perk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stopped for a short visit with my two teenage daughters. Hotel is walking distance from many attractions. Room was nice, clean. Hotel appearance is very nice. Front desk staff was particularly friendly. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.