We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #34 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent two days at HGI on 14th & were satisfied overall. The location is great, but the rooms are a bit small, the housekeeping could have been better & the card key required to use the elevator wasn't very convenient. We asked for a high room on the back side as recommended based upon reviews & didn't have any problems with noise. Would stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    834
    176
    46
    18
See reviews for
618
519
114
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Nice hotel, clean rooms, great location. The concierge and staff were quick on the bags and attentive with guiding to good restaurants. Nothing out of place, all as it should be. A nice experience and worth the reservation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Spent two days in DC on business and I am so happy that I chose the Hilton Garden Inn on 14th. I plan to stay there as many times as I possibly can while traveling to the District. The weather was snowy and windy when I arrived but I was greeted by Mark who took care of all my luggage and parking my vehicle. He has such a pleasant personality, is so accommodating, helpful and funny! I asked only for his service while I was there. I met Joel and Mark at the front desk. These gentlemen were like a tag team of charm, wit and knowledge. Joel assured me that it was okay that the front desk was practically taller than I (and, later, recommended a good liquor store within a 5-minute sprint) and Deangelo wowed me with his culinary lexicon and restaurant recommendations.

The hotel room was delightfully clean and the location was so convenient...close to everything! The only complaint I have is the lack of surface parking and the high price to valet. But, it IS the capital city so that is to be expected.

I LOVED my stay there and hope the next time I return my new friends will be there to take care of me.

Well done, Hilton Garden Inn. Well done, indeed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Located downtown, reasonably close to Union Station and definitely within walking distance to the White House and Smithsonian. The hotel desk staff was pleasant, and we had no difficulties checking in. We thought they might be worn out from the inauguration, but the staff was very nice. The porters and bell captain were very attentive to our needs. We came in late, and the little 24 hour pantry was a nice amenity. The room was spacious and had refrigerator and microwave. The view was nothing; just the air handlers. But it made for a very dark room at night, which is how we like it. There is a full buffet breakfast with omelets to order. There are many extraordinary and classic hotels in D.C., but the Hilton Garden is plain vanilla. Just fine with us, we were out to see the city.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no views at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel we've stayed in since I can't remember when. The service is better than the Ritz. The rooms are great and quiet. The pool was refreshing, the restaurant was great, the location perfect, and the price just right. This is the place to stay in DC!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband, myself and my friend from England visited Washington DC in September 2012 and enjoyed the whole experience.
We had booked the hotel through Hotels.com, which is a great way to book hotels. The hotel staff were more than willing to help make any arrangements we needed and to assist on how and what to see in Washington. We discovered that the hotel breakfast and dinner was competitive and were particularly good, therefore we usually ate there, as we were tired after all the sightseeing. One waitress was extremely helpfully and went out of her way to arrange anything we needed. Her name was Daria Chandler at the Grist Mill Restaurant. The sleeping accommodations were especially good considering there was three of us in the room and we did not keep bumping into each other, and it was kept very clean. The safe in the room was worth using.

Room Tip: State clearly what type of room you want, eg smoking or non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and all members of the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. It was. We were right across the street from a Metro station and could get around D.C. rapidly. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#22 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#88 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,639 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.