We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to explore Washington DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #32 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location to explore Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, Dec 24 - Dec 28, with my wife and 6 year old daughter. We traveled on the subway from the airport and were pleasantly surprised to see our hotel across the street from the McPherson Square stop. Having the subway so close was important because we did not need to rent a car and worry about parking during our stay. Between the three of us we spent over $60 dollars on the subway to see all the various Museums and traveling once to Bethesda - Maryland.
I recommend booking your room with the breakfast package, because you can load up in the morning with cooked to order omelets and pancakes, fresh fruit, crispy bacon, yogurts and cereals.
The staff was always very pleasant when asked questions, or when you entered or left the hotel.. The coffee and cookies in the foyer were a nice addition that my daughter appreciated.
The pool was not really warm, but we used it one night to the delight of our 6 year old daughter. We had a room with 2 double beds, nice large bathroom with spacious shower, free wifi, refridgerator, microwave and coffee maker.
When checking out of the hotel, they allowed us to stay in the room until 3p because our flight was in the evening. This was so accommodating because it allowed us to see more of Washington DC. After checking out at 3p, they held our luggage at the front desk while we went for lunch. After lunch we picked up our luggage and used the Subway to get back to Reagan National Airport.
Here is the best part of the hotel - when we arrived back home, our daughter started crying because she left her panda slippers in the room under the bed. The following morning I telephoned the hotel and was excited to speak with the head of housekeeping who informed me that the new guest in the room found the slippers and set them aside. Five days later the slippers arrived via FedEx from the hotel.
Kudos to the General Manager and houskeeping staff for putting the slippers into a FedEx box and sending them to my house. My 6 yeard old daughter was happy to see her slippers again.
When we come back to Washington DC, I will definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend this hotel to anybody else who visits DC.
Thank you for a great family vacation.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on an upper floor to minimize street noise coming into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    833
    176
    46
    18
See reviews for
617
517
114
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Make sure you understand the length of time you are allowed to park you car since we had problems and were missinformed at time of reservation. We checked in late (11 pm) and we needed to make sure the car could stay until about 6 pm the following day since we had booked tours at the White House and the Capitol (i. e. less than 24 hrs).Had some run around with front desk and valet once in the morning and then again in the afternoon (since apparently the morning staff at the front desk did not follow thru). Overall the hotel was nice and modern but the issue with parking left a lasting impression and will most likely be a deciding factor next time when we are in DC.

Room Tip: Took forever to get hot water in the shower (we were on 8th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice in two years. It's a great hotel in the perfect location. We parked at Franconia-Springfield, took the blue line in, and exited the metro and you can see the hotel as you exit!

We nearly stayed at the Homewood Suites this time because of free breakfast and more space, but we are glad we stayed at the HG Inn, because of the location. The cookies and coffee are good though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this property during our sight seeing trip to Washington. The hotel was modern and comfortable. The bathroom was updated and had great amenities(Bath and Body Works) and a great shower and large sink counter for getting ready. The breakfast at the restaurant was $14 for the buffet. We passed and went elsewhere as this would have been expensive for our family and there were cheaper options close by. The hotel is situated close to the White House but it is a reasonable walk to most all tourist attractions. We parked the car with the hotel (38 per night) and walked everywhere. No issues with location. We reserved the hotel far in advance and got a good rate. Our room was ready upon arrival just after lunch which was great. No street noise in our room. Hotel was clean and safe. Overall very pleased with our stay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a DC native, it's strange for me to stay in hotels. We selected this one based on it's location- which is great. Walking distance to everything- Chinatown, The Mall, etc. It's a 7 minute taxi ride to Union Station. We flew directly in to National. It's an easy Metro ride but much luggage and a cranky 8 year-old? We took a cab. It was less than $20 from the airport to the hotel.

The room itself was clean and neat. We looked out to the dumpsters but really, it's a hotel in a major city. I wasn't paying for premium views, I was paying for a place to sleep. The heater wasn't working right but I let the front desk know on our way out and it was fixed when we returned a few hours later. The beds were comfortable and clean. I didn't notice any noise at all but I live in a downtown area so that's probably why.

We ate at the Grist Mill, their restaurant, and were very pleasantly surprised at how good it was. We did not have breakfast there as it seemed incredibly expensive for what you get, and there's a ton of bagel places and Au Bon Pain, etc. within blocks of the hotel.

It was a nice place to stay and while not a 'regular' Garden Inn (obviously it hasn't always been a Garden Inn, it's a pretty old building I think!) it was as well managed as they all have been. My son in particular thought the doorman was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very clean rooms and a big bathroom that was clean too. The room was comfortable and so was the bed! Close to all the tourist attractions and staff where very friendly. Some people mention the noise of the streets and views out onto an alley which I had. But come one, you are ina mjor city you have to expect these things. I can handle street noise, and I am not in Washington to sit looking out a window at the view!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Like most dc hotels, bring ear plugs or ask them to set your fan to run constantly for the white noise. On the 14th street side the road noise is a bit much but manageable if you plan ahead. Very clean hotel, safe, great service. Both Jessica and Jojo at the bar are simply delightful and work their butt off. As a frequent traveler I appreciate great service and a friendly smile. Because of the road noise and mix up at check in, I give the hotel facility 4 stars but I give the staff 5+++ stars.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC ...
#22 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#88 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,637 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.