We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast Deal
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was nice and seemed clean. The hotel was located close to lots of restaurants and sight seeing.
Cons: Our room was on the second floor on the 14th Street side so we could hear a lot of vehicle and people noise, ask for a room on a high floor to avoid this. The bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab (this would not be a con for people who like firm beds.) I felt the parking fee was way too expensive.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor on the 14th Street side so we could hear a lot of vehicle and peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    680
    134
    41
    14
See reviews for
489
431
100
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location was great - could walk or take the Metro to all that Washington has to offer. The rooms were clean, elevators were fast, breakfast was good... best of all was the staff, especially the front desk (Eddie).The friendly service was the highlight of our trip! We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights here on a weekend getaway to DC. Primary reason for selecting this hotel was location, it's right opposite McPherson square stop on the orange/blue lines. Very convenient, direct 17 minutes from Reagan Airport. Clean, comfortable, nice finishings. Loved that they had a safe to hold laptop and valuables while out of the room. Concierges were very helpful in helping to plan, and complimentary coffee was available early morning. That was super useful on our dawn trip to Lincoln Memorial which I highly recommend visiting while its still dark! There was a COSI right nearby, which has great sandwiches and a pharmacy nearby. Good location, easy access to White House, Smithsonian etc. Would stay again! We got a pretty decent rate under $150 for October 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for one night in May. The price was decent for the location and quality of the hotel but the parking was pricey and mandatory if you drive.
The hotel was clean and the rooms as well. The rooms were on the small side for the price you pay.
The pool was super small and a little on the cold side and should have had change rooms connected and maybe a hot tub. This is a Hilton so I kind of expected more.
Breakfast was not included and the onsite restaurant was way too expensive for our liking.
The front desk staff wasn't very friendly and quite snobby to be exact. I was given a map of the city but wasn't told that the metro was across the street. This would have been quite informative since we were only there one night.
The lobby is inviting with cold lemon or orange water and chocolate chip cookies which this kids enjoyed.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all pretty basic and small. If you are there to sight see - it shouldnt matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Convenient location and helpful staff. About a mile to the mall and couple of blocks from the white house. The room is typical of Hilton Garden Inn. Hotel tax and parking garage tax in DC is 18 % which was a little shocking to us. We don't visit DC often. Expensive city to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had only one night in DC and were looking for some place that wouldn't bust the budget yet still be close to much of the sightseeing (or at least on one of the major transit lines). I am HIlton Diamond level so my first choice is usually a Hilton product. However, I am not so loyal that price and location won't trump loyalty. Yet I was very happy to see that this Hilton Garden Inn filled the bill on price and location. This Hilton Garden Inn had a much more upscale feel than many of the HGI (which can be a bit cookie-cutter), perhaps because of its height (14 stories) and location. The room was very spacious, clean and well-appointed. Unfortunately, one aspect of the HGI experience was still there -- that awful air-conditioner, heater under the window that makes a horrible sound (luckily we did not have to turn it on!). A special plus to this place is that the restaurant and bar on site are really good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice hotel in great location in downtown, D.C. Rooms are good sized and good city views. Very close (1/2 block to Metro). Book early, especially on holiday weekends to avoid price hikes due to demand. Great option if you don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;