We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #32 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for two nights here on a weekend getaway to DC. Primary reason for selecting this hotel was location, it's right opposite McPherson square stop on the orange/blue lines. Very convenient, direct 17 minutes from Reagan Airport. Clean, comfortable, nice finishings. Loved that they had a safe to hold laptop and valuables while out of the room. Concierges were very helpful in helping to plan, and complimentary coffee was available early morning. That was super useful on our dawn trip to Lincoln Memorial which I highly recommend visiting while its still dark! There was a COSI right nearby, which has great sandwiches and a pharmacy nearby. Good location, easy access to White House, Smithsonian etc. Would stay again! We got a pretty decent rate under $150 for October 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    816
    173
    46
    18
See reviews for
596
513
113
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for one night in May. The price was decent for the location and quality of the hotel but the parking was pricey and mandatory if you drive.
The hotel was clean and the rooms as well. The rooms were on the small side for the price you pay.
The pool was super small and a little on the cold side and should have had change rooms connected and maybe a hot tub. This is a Hilton so I kind of expected more.
Breakfast was not included and the onsite restaurant was way too expensive for our liking.
The front desk staff wasn't very friendly and quite snobby to be exact. I was given a map of the city but wasn't told that the metro was across the street. This would have been quite informative since we were only there one night.
The lobby is inviting with cold lemon or orange water and chocolate chip cookies which this kids enjoyed.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all pretty basic and small. If you are there to sight see - it shouldnt matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Convenient location and helpful staff. About a mile to the mall and couple of blocks from the white house. The room is typical of Hilton Garden Inn. Hotel tax and parking garage tax in DC is 18 % which was a little shocking to us. We don't visit DC often. Expensive city to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had only one night in DC and were looking for some place that wouldn't bust the budget yet still be close to much of the sightseeing (or at least on one of the major transit lines). I am HIlton Diamond level so my first choice is usually a Hilton product. However, I am not so loyal that price and location won't trump loyalty. Yet I was very happy to see that this Hilton Garden Inn filled the bill on price and location. This Hilton Garden Inn had a much more upscale feel than many of the HGI (which can be a bit cookie-cutter), perhaps because of its height (14 stories) and location. The room was very spacious, clean and well-appointed. Unfortunately, one aspect of the HGI experience was still there -- that awful air-conditioner, heater under the window that makes a horrible sound (luckily we did not have to turn it on!). A special plus to this place is that the restaurant and bar on site are really good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice hotel in great location in downtown, D.C. Rooms are good sized and good city views. Very close (1/2 block to Metro). Book early, especially on holiday weekends to avoid price hikes due to demand. Great option if you don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived at Hilton Garden Inn by taxi. Our luggage was swooped up before we even had a chance to touch it. We arrived at 9am but our check in time was 3. They tagged our luggage and stored it until check in. I don't know the man's name but he checked the luggage for us. He was so great with the kids. He played a game with them where they would try to give him five but he would quickly move his hand and slap his head. Whenever we came into the lobby our 7 yr old boy would look for him. He played this game each time he saw us. The check in staff were great. Our rooms were nice, 8th floor, but the street noise at 2am the last night was awful. We wanted to get a pizza ordered in. The staff offered to set us up with a table in the dining if we would like to eat it there. We chose to eat in the room. The pizza place was called Balis. It was recommended by the front desk. It was delicous and the top of the box was perforated so that it became plates. It cost $21 for a large pizza with a 2 liter soda. We had a breakfast package and it was good selection from cereal to made to order omelets and waffles. The subway entrance was across the street. We followed the signs and walked to the White House. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel mainly for business travelers BUT we stayed for our vacation to DC and loved it! We walked to the Whitehouse and all the monuments! There was a Metro (subway station) right across the street too! We got the "breakfast package" which consisted of a great buffet. Cooked to order omelets, the usual spread of eggs, breakfast meats, french toast, juice, fruit, cereal and chocolate milk. The rooms are typical for a downtown area. They were clean, not too small and just what we needed as my husband and I just needed to sleep here. Note! If you bring a car it is valet only! No self parking (which is usual for hotels in this area.) We drove and chose this hotel due to the close proximity to the tourist stuff (there is very limited parking around the monuments/museums etc.) We also liked that our car was valet parked under the hotel and was still accessible to us to get stuff in and out. I would stay here again. They put out free cookies every night too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.