We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Deal
Ranked #30 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice hotel in great location in downtown, D.C. Rooms are good sized and good city views. Very close (1/2 block to Metro). Book early, especially on holiday weekends to avoid price hikes due to demand. Great option if you don't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    782
    163
    46
    17
See reviews for
568
496
109
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Hill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived at Hilton Garden Inn by taxi. Our luggage was swooped up before we even had a chance to touch it. We arrived at 9am but our check in time was 3. They tagged our luggage and stored it until check in. I don't know the man's name but he checked the luggage for us. He was so great with the kids. He played a game with them where they would try to give him five but he would quickly move his hand and slap his head. Whenever we came into the lobby our 7 yr old boy would look for him. He played this game each time he saw us. The check in staff were great. Our rooms were nice, 8th floor, but the street noise at 2am the last night was awful. We wanted to get a pizza ordered in. The staff offered to set us up with a table in the dining if we would like to eat it there. We chose to eat in the room. The pizza place was called Balis. It was recommended by the front desk. It was delicous and the top of the box was perforated so that it became plates. It cost $21 for a large pizza with a 2 liter soda. We had a breakfast package and it was good selection from cereal to made to order omelets and waffles. The subway entrance was across the street. We followed the signs and walked to the White House. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel mainly for business travelers BUT we stayed for our vacation to DC and loved it! We walked to the Whitehouse and all the monuments! There was a Metro (subway station) right across the street too! We got the "breakfast package" which consisted of a great buffet. Cooked to order omelets, the usual spread of eggs, breakfast meats, french toast, juice, fruit, cereal and chocolate milk. The rooms are typical for a downtown area. They were clean, not too small and just what we needed as my husband and I just needed to sleep here. Note! If you bring a car it is valet only! No self parking (which is usual for hotels in this area.) We drove and chose this hotel due to the close proximity to the tourist stuff (there is very limited parking around the monuments/museums etc.) We also liked that our car was valet parked under the hotel and was still accessible to us to get stuff in and out. I would stay here again. They put out free cookies every night too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Our room and the entire hotel was spotlessly clean. Our first night (or rather morning) we could hear garbage trucks from the alley, so we requested a room change and were moved to a room that was much quieter. The location is great...about 10 - 20 minute walk from the Smithsonian museums, less to the White House, Ford's Theater, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We chose this hotel because the value appeared to be good, and the location seemed quite central. Overall we liked the hotel. It was our first trip to Washington, so we didn't have a sense of which neighbourhood would be the most convenient / interesting. Downtown was convenient, but it wasn't interesting. There wasn't a whole lot of life immediately around the hotel. That said, we never felt unsafe, even at night. Also, Franklin Park was close by where a number of food trucks congregate during the week. Food trucks are a fun way to sample savories and sweets in Washington!

The bad stuff: After our first night we had to switch rooms. We were on the 6th floor facing the alleyway complete with a dumpster that saw action starting at 2:00 am or so. We hardly slept at all. We moved to the 9th floor which was better. My partner still had his sleep interrupted by the noise from the street.

The good stuff: The hotel staff was great throughout. Our rooms were spotless. Nice to be able to get a cup of tea in the lobby at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hilton Garden in DC is very well localized near the main attractionsand the Hotel's personnel is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and big. Sometimes the traffic is difficult due to the vicinity of the white house, but this is a price we pay for staying so near.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fiora, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

i liked almost everything about this hotel.first of all the staff was great.even before we got out of the cab someone came to welcome us and arrange for a luggage cart.the room was spacious and very clean.everyone went out of their way to be helpful.the location was super,within walking and circulator distance of most places plus 2 metro lines nearby.breakfast a bit pricey,lots of cafes in the area.the only problem was the phone didn't work and since it was thanksgiving weekend was not fixed before i left.they offered me another room but after 2 days there didn't feel like moving.the heating system was very noisy and didn't work well.i would stay here again.a high floor is best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.