We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff & Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast Deal
Ranked #26 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff & Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just finished 5 nights at HGI in DC over Thanksgiving holiday. The location is perfect for visiting all the Washington DC sights. The White House is just 3-4 blocks away, the Smithsonian museums & National Mall are just 8 blocks south on 14th Street. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area too. We booked a room & breakfast package that really helped cut costs as food in DC can be expensive. The buffet breakfast at HCI was very good with many hot & cold options every day. The room was a bit small for 4 people but was otherwise fine and clean. Without a doubt the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Every single staff person we interacted with over 5 days was really friendly and ready to help. From the desk staff that helped us with an early arrival to the restaurant staff who had our kids laughing at every meal, we truly enjoyed meeting the fine people who work at HCI in DC. If Hilton management is reading this, you need to tell your staff that they are doing a great job! Families visiting Washington DC would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    714
    148
    44
    14
See reviews for
517
456
105
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and 2 children 10,16 stayed here just last week, the location was great, staff was extremely friendly and helpful, most service oriented hotel staff I've ever encountered! The room overall was clean and provided the necessary amenities for our stay. I cannot emphasize how good the location of this hotel was, just about 1/2 mile from national park mall and the White House
When we go back we will definitely consider this hotel as a top spot for a great value.
Thank you Hilton staff you are the main reason we would return!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travel a lot for business, in-country and globally, and I loved this hotel. I needed to check in early, no problem, no fee. My room was clean (view awful, but heck, I'm not here for the view), plentiful coffee and tea, as well as good bathroom toiletries including mouthwash - why doesn't everyone have this? Internet free and fast, no problems logging in, and plentiful newspapers for those of us who still love paper.
I was giving a talk at the Washington Press Club, and the concierge printed out a list of nearby places I could get my hair done, the cheerful doorman whistled up a cab. Later the Press Club was a short walk away. When I dashed down to the Business Center to print my speech, another patient client service person helped me. I'll definitely stay here again - and oh yes, the price - wow, great bargain. Accolades to the staff, you certainly understand the meaning of client service, I hope the Hilton hierarchy rewards you well.

Room Tip: If you want a view, choose a street view, I wasn't spending time in my room apart from working s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn is a good location for several of Washington's major attractions, including the White House, which was an easy two blocks walk. The rooms are very small and 'old' and it was extremely noisy. We had two rooms for our stay and one on the street side and the other was facing the lane way and the noise in both rooms made it difficult to sleep. Breakfast was ok but we had to wait nearly 30 minutes on both days for a table, as this was Thanksgiving weekend this could attribute to the long delay in seating. The $38 fee (plus tax) to park the car was a huge rip off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIDC, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry you had to wait for a table for breakfast. During the weekends we are happy to have many families stay with us. We see on the weekends folks like to dine together with other guests they may be traveling with and stay longer. They visit and plan their day which is fine but it also means we cannot turn the tables as fast. As we are in the heart of the action, there is some street noise which I wish I could abate.

Parking is expensive at $38. I assure you if you were to shop other hotels in the Downtown area, you will find we are the lowest with the exception of one hotel which has an open air, self park lot.

Thank you for responding and we will work on turning tables faster in the morning and on the noise on the street.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Excellent location and price! Very close to tourist attractions, walking distance from the Smithsonian and if you walk up to K street excellent restaurants! Large rooms and a great concierge! There is a small "grocery store" in the lobby so that you can enjoy a beer or bottle of wine at the end of the day with some popcorn for your in room movie! Clean bathroom and very comfy beds! Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were first time visitors to Washington DC and wanted a location central to the main attractions around the Mall, White House, museums, monuments etc, and found exactly what we were looking for in this hotel. You have to be crazy to drive in Washington with the constant traffic jams, not to mention rich with the very high parking charges. So the central location of this hotel in walking distance to all the attractions was first class. In addition they are opposite a metro station which we took the three stops to visit Arlington.

The price was reasonable for a central location and the room more than adequate for our needs. It was fitted with king bed, fridge, micro wave and safe. The view was not great but as we planned to be out all day that was off secondary importance.

The concierge staff are very knowledgable and willing to share with you where to go, where to dine etc, without being pushy. They will also make phone calls for you, as in our case to check up on the whereabouts of the shuttle we had ordered to take us back to the airport.

Check in and out was speedy and they were good enough to give us a later check out to accommodate our time to go to the airport with no fuss or charge. Our package included breakfast which consists of the usual buffet and also omelette station. We ate at their restaurant one night, and it was very good.

There is a happy hour each evening with cut priced drinks, and they also supplied hot apple juice ( they called this cider but it is nothing like the cider in the UK) and cookies free of charge. Coffee, apples and newspapers are also provided free.

They also have a small gym and indoor swimming pool. Not massive but enough for a holiday workout.

Could find no fault with it so recommend if you are looking for something similar as we have described then go for it.

Room Tip: High floor is always welcomed in a city with busy traffic although the double glazing seemed effecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paonia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Booked a room here to avoid paying $240 a night at the Grand Hyatt where my conference was, this was about 160 a night. This clean hotel with excellent staff (front desk crew had a great sense of humor) and a great breakfast set up was well worth the money, and sitting on H and 14th, is close to everything I wanted to see, and just a 15 minute cab ride from the airport. The negative is the bed -- for some reason all HG Inns have these weird mattresses which adjust via a dial on the top side of the mattress. Believe me, as a larger person, they are torture. The chain uses them but in my opinion, they should dump these loser mattresses for a normal innerspring bed like all other Hilton properties use.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a large person
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St., NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.