We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Lovely historical building retaining features from it's banking past - including vaults in the basement! Rooms basic but comfy enough with usual coffee machine and plenty of towels. However, some shower gel would have been useful and windows that open to provide air!
Bar / restaurant was fun and buzzing. Free internet and very good 10th floor executive lounge for complimentary breakfast and evening apperativ.

On a negative the pool area was very disappointing! Very small, hot tub too hot to use, only tiny hand-towels (only half-a-dozen of those!) and no real changing area so had to drip out (past people breakfasting!) to dress in the toilets - No robes provided in rooms!
Great location especially for the Verizon - the aim of our trip - to see amazing Santana and Rod Stewart in concert! Also easy walk for museum and sights including the delightful sculpture park, National Portrait gallery, open-top bus stop, McCormick & Schmick's Seafood restaurant opposite!

Last but by no means least - all the delightful staff really made our stay enjoyable - with special thanks to David on front desk and Meme concierge.

Room Tip: Rooms at front on 7th floor have lovely large arched windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear TeddingtonGap,

We appreciate you staying at the Courtyard Convention Center, Washington, DC., and for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. It was a pleasure having you with us as our guests and we are happy that you enjoyed the Santana and Rod Stewart concert as well. Our team takes great pride in ensuring all of our guests have a memorable experience and it is fabulous to know all of your expectations were met. We would be honored to be at your service once again during your next visit to the area.

Nicole, Hotel Operations Manager
Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center
Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    274
    88
    28
    10
See reviews for
255
171
48
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel was reasonably priced as well as conveniently located to many attractions and restaurants. Stayed there for 5 nights with my family of 5. The staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear dillonmj12,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center. We would be honored to be at your service again the next time you find yourself in the Washington, DC area.

Nicole, Hotel Operations Manager
Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center
Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We traveled to Washington DC for a family vacation before school started. We booked our room online not going through the hotel. We knew parking was expensive at this hotel so we drove to Reagan National Airport and parked and took the yellow line metro right to the hotel. Get off at the Gallery/Chinatown stop and you are right at the hotel. We were able to check in very early, before lunch, and our room was ready and waiting. We had initially booked a king bed but the staff changed it to two doubles and even made arrangements for a roll-away bed. We stayed in room 702 and it is very!!!! very!!!! small and had no view. My family of five was crowded in it but all we did was sleep so it was manageable. The pool and hot tub are small but adequate as we were the only ones enjoying at the time. We walked everywhere!!! The White House and most of the museums are blocks away. Metrostops are very close by including Metro Center, 3 blocks. We found it very convenient, clean, and quiet. If you are staying longer than 2 or 3 days I would make sure you got a bigger room with a view. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear 661catheriner,

We truly appreciate the review of your recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center, Washington, DC. We understand that there were many choices in hotels within the and we sincerely appreciate that you and your family chose us during your visit. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and any feedback is extremely valuable. We would be honored to have you return as a guest of ours in the future and ensure that stay is truly memorable with a bigger guestroom to accommodate all of your needs.

At your service,
Nicole, Hotel Operations Manager
Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center
Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This a nice clean hotel in a location near the Smithsonian and White House. Everything is walkable. Rooms are spacious. Only downside was that they did not have safes in the room. The safety deposit boxes they offer do not fit laptops. Otherwise it's perfect!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Kerri W,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center. While we do not have safes located within our guestrooms as you mentioned, we do offer on property alternatives for the safe keeping of personal items and will ensure you experience that during your next visit while in Washington, DC.

Thank you once again,
Nicole, Operations Manager
Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center
Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed here for a 2 night stop over between Manchester and New Orleans. Very clean and helpful staff. Great location for walking to Adams Morgan district for good food and drinks. Easy metro access to the cry centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Stuart D,

Thank you for staying at Courtyard Convention Washington DC; and for taking your time to write a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you with us as our guest. We are very happy to know that our location and value, all around met your expectations. Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

At your service,
Nicole, Hotel Operations Manager
Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center, Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week during a recent family trip to Washington DC. The hotel had everything we could want and a perfect location. There was a small bistro in the basement with a walk up counter for ordering cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, pancakes, egg dishes, etc, and a moderate number of tables. The service was terrific, and everything was tasty. There was also a small pool, perfect for kids, and a jacuzzi, on the basement level, as well as a fitness room. The hotel staff, valet and maids were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The hotel was within walking distance of the Smithsonian museums, National Archives, many restaurants, most monuments, the White House, etc. It was also across the street from the Spy Museum, which the kids loves. Overall, a great hotel in a perfect location.

Room Tip: We got a room with 2 double beds and pull out coach, which comfortably could sleep 2 adults and 2 ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Familyof4nyc,

Thank you so much for staying at Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center, Washington DC; and for sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. It was a pleasure having you and your family with us as our guests and we would be honored to be at your service once again.

Thank you again and we will look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Nicole, Hotel Operations Manager
Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center
Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night in June. This hotel has the known quality associated with the Marriott Courtyard line of hotels and is in an excellent location. The hotel building itself is interesting, dating back to the turn of 19th to 20th Century. The Metro stop is diagonally across the street (be sure to take the 9th St and not 7th St exit). In the same building as the hotel is Gordon Biersch brewery, great for late night food and drinks. A nearby upscale restaurant is Proof, which offers excellent food, outside dining, and without the noise of Zantinya. Down the street from the hotel for a nice breakfast is Le Pain Quotidien. Across the street is the National Portrait Gallery, a lesser known but really excellent museum with good permanent and generally several fun temporary exhibitions. Within easy walking are the Shakespeare Theater Company (two theaters) as well as the Smithsonian museums on the mall. You get the idea . . . this is a great place for a home base for nice weekend getaway in DC.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole G, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Stephen R.,

Thank you very much for staying at Courtyard Convention Center Washington DC, and for taking your time to write this wonderful review of our property. We work very hard in delivering memorable experiences to all of our guests and we were proud to be your "home base" for the time you were with us.

We look forward to your next visit and would be honored to be at your service once again.

Sincerely,
Nicole, Hotel Operations Manager
Courtyard by Marriott, Convention Center
Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#54 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#106 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.