We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family and I were recently guests at your hotel in DC (March, 2014). The purpose of the trip was for sightseeing and we saw almost everything we planned.
I just wanted to drop you a quick message about how great the hotel was. The room was very comfortable, and the location was terrific. All the employees in the hotel that we dealt with were very friendly and quite helpful, from the moment we checked in, starting with the concierge. We also greatly appreciated the note from the general manager that we received upon check-in telling us to let him know if there were any problems. More hotels should do this-it takes only a small amount of effort, but as guests, it was greatly appreciated.
Whenever we return to DC, I would certainly look to stay at your hotel again.
Of course, we will definitely recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    217
    79
    28
    10
See reviews for
205
136
44
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here with our grandson. Near everything you'd want for family visit. Room refrigerator without minibar was handy. Staff was very helpful. Hotel should provide better directions from Metro, and better street signage.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

In town for a conference - Renaissance did not have availability for all of my dates and they recommended this one. The building is a remodeled old bank with marble bannisters and beautiful tray ceilings. Arrived Thursday afternoon during rush hour and our first impression was provided by the valet. He saw us pause on the street - no place to park, of course, and also no place to pull out of the way. He motioned to us to stay put and had someone move a car that I assume had just checked in so that we could move out of the travel lane. We were immediately greeted by this man and a bellman, bags quickly unloaded and brought in out of the cold. Both men were efficient, courteous and friendly. Check in was quick and easy and we were escorted to our room right away with our luggage. Room was large and comfortable and very clean. The shower enclosure is 100% glass and was absolutely spotless - I can't even get my bathroom mirrors completely spotless and that's only one side :) Location is across the street from the national portrait museum and spy musium, close to the mall, a block or so away from the FBI building and only a few blocks (short walk - felt completely safe) to the convention center where my conference was being held. Foodie paradise - lots of great places to eat within a block in any direction, from paninis and pizza to fine dining and lots in between. The cafe serves starbucks chai latte, which wins lots of points from me, and also had a good variety of quick breakfast choices. There is a gym, but looks are deceiving. What you can see from the entry is not everything there is - another room has the majority of equipment. Staff was extremely freindly and helpful, and anyone who had met us during our stay called us by name every time we saw them. Bellmen were very knowledgeable about the area and more than happy to make recommendations. Our first night there was very cold and we didn't want to drive anywhere or go outside, so we went to the restaurant that shares the building with the hotel. A beautiful glass and brass sliding door connects the entry of the hotel with a back entrance to the restaurant. It was crowded, but we found two seats at the bar right next to the connecting door and were greeted immediately. We tried samples of the day's craft beer, which was delightful. I don't really like beer much, but this was good, so we ordered two glasses. The glasses were huge and I couldn't finish quite half. My husband did a little better, but still only drank about 2/3. Real beer drinkers probably would have no problem. Food was wonderful - garlic shrimp for my hubby and bourbon salmon for me. When we were finished, we were escorted back through the beautiful siding door right back to the lobby. Each day as I left for the convention center I was greeted by the person manning the front door, and then greeted again upon my return. Check out was fast and efficient - bellman was in our room even before the car was brought around. Bellman let us know that there was a marathon that day and directed us to the interstate so we could avoid closed roads that our navigation system would not be aware of. Start to finish a wonderful stay. Next time we go to DC, this will be our temporary home.

Room Tip: If you enjoy people-watching from your window, choose a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Conveniently located, very comfortable and excellent customer service. Small fridge in room, variety of cable TV channels available. I did not take advantage of any of the food service available. Especially like the "security" - need room key card to activate your floor on the elevator.

Room Tip: Room 703 - I would request this room again. It has 2 huge arched windows overlooking a nice view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel was fantastic. From the valet service, check-in and the room. The hotel is so convenient to D.C. sights, including Verizon Center. It was easy to get to and leave the city. I would recommend this hotel.
Hotel Entrance / Lobby is fantastic. Has great architectural detail.

Room Tip: We got an "interior" room, which was facing other rooms. If I were to travel to D.C. agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Courtyard is a very nice hotel. It is clean and friendly! It's valet parking only which is just an added bonus. The resturant inside serves really good food it's just super pricey, that would be my only complaint. The rooms are really nice and the beds are comfortable. All in all a wonderful place to stay in DC and it's close to attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was our first time in DC and could not have picked a better hotel. The check-in process was fast and easy and had a very pleasant letter waiting for me from hotel management. I'm not sure if this is done for everyone but a very nice touch and personable. The room was a great size, comfortable bed, and water pressure. The breakfast down stairs was good but we only had it one day and a bit pricey but I understood we were DC. There many other options near the hotel for breakfast. The hotel was located close to many shops restaurants and near all the landmarks. The metro was 3 blocks away from the hotel and the service was top notch! There is really nothing bad I can say about this hotel. I had great experience.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.