We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel. good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“average hotel. good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel was neat, architectually, but other than that very average. Okay service. They only had 2 working elevators out of floor. The breakfast room is in the basement with no window and not a lot of light or tables. The rooms are the same as most typical Courtyard, nothing fancy. Great location though...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    203
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
193
124
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is across the street from the Metro which makes it convenient. The rooms are small but this is DC. There is not a lot of work space so it isn't a great business choice but it's comfortable otherwise. It was quiet which is the key issue for me.

There is a decent restaurant attached. The staff were helpful

the morning breakfast is not a comp - but it's decent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is not a luxury hotel but is very good for your price of 110 dollar per night.the rooms is like 4 star hotels.very clean and big enough .very good location within 5 min walk to metro station and 5-10 min walk to attractions(the Hall with all the museums,white house,capitol and manuments).very friendly staff.they let us have an early check in at 12 pm instead of 3 pm.They provide us a free baby crab.The streets nearby are full of resturants and also Zara and H&M for shopping.it has pool and fitness center but I did not use it.If you do not want to pay for breakfast you can have it in the very close Mc Donald in the 7th street within 5 min walk but that Mc Donald has many homeless men and I do not recomment for family.
The negative point is the nearby streets at night.you should know that this hotel and all the museums and white house are in downtown.there are many homeless men in the nearby streets.I do not recomment wallking after 10 p.m.
Overally,if you do not have a car and want to be within walking distance to all attractions,it is perfect for you.But if you have a car or you do not mind to pay for taxi and you need a safe and live amenity for night life,,it is not suitable for you and I recomment take hotel in George Town or Dupont circle.

Room Tip: Our room had no view to the outside with only walls ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your visit to the Nations Capital. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay experience.

We look forward towards welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There are lots of restaurants nearby. The one located very near is Zaytinya which is very good. Gallery Place metro station is half yard away. You can see lot of people around because of Verizon centre (basketball/concerts etc) and Regal cinemas.

The hotel itself is pretty neat. Friendly staff. Ask for a room with a street view to have a better feel in the morning. The bed is very comfortable. The room I got had a microwave and a small refrigirator. Very nicely maintained bathroom. You get free USA Today paper in the lobby.

Room Tip: Room on upper floor (8th), facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operation Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. We agree our downtown location is excellent and convenient to all points of interest. We are glad that you found our hotel staff friendly and we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving break and couldn't have had a better time. The hotel has a couple of metro stops nearby, one just a block away. There are great restaurants and things to do close by---Jaleo, Zaytina, Spy Museum, Portrait Gallery to name a few. The pool is pretty small but my kids had a great time and loved that the hotel provided a ton of pool toys. The fitness center is surprisingly good for an old hotel as well. Service was great and the rooms were clean. The concierge desk was always helpful with directions and questions. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott on F St because we were in town for an event at the Verizon Center. Despite a small mishap with the room availability (our room was not ready; they gave us a room that had not been made up. Then finally were given a room on the third floor), we had a very enjoyable stay. The location is perfect if you are in town for a Verizon Center event. It is also across the street from the amazing Spy Museum and a few blocks from China Town. The hotel is in an old bank. The downstairs, where the pool is, feels as if you are going to an old vault. The pool is fantastic. Very small but a perfect temperature and it also had quite a few toys for kids. The exercise rooms are small, and split up (weights in one room and cardio machines in another). The Bistro, where breakfast is served, is also the business center. The cafe is like a Starbucks, but the food is made to order and brought to the table. We had a very good breakfast, free with the room. The Courtyard is run by a Marriott licensee, so being a Marriott rewards member did not have much pull, it seems. The only other comment is that it takes a long time for the valet to get the car. Otherwise, our stay was great. We will return to the hotel. It was a great price and a great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operation Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. We agree our downtown location is excellent and convenient to all points of interest. Our staff and service is what continues to give our hotel the competitive edge over our competition. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the initial check in experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spent three nights at this property during the middle of November. As a number of other reviewers have noted, it is in a great location for business and vacation/recreation. The property is a short walk from the Gallery Place Metro stop, Chinatown, and numerous restaurants. If you appreciate older buildings, this former bank will interest you, as a number of interior architectural details remain in the lobby and adjacent restaurant.

My room was spacious and quiet, and near the stairwell. I know this because we had a false fire alarm on my last night.

The Bistro "restaurant" is located on the lower level of the hotel. It serves a limited range of Starbucks coffees and breakfast. My first (and only) meal there was a flavorless breakfast sandwich on microwave-hardened bread. If you want to eat on the cheap, walk around the corner to the Subway and get a comparable flatbread sandwich for a much lower price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.