We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Remodeled, Nice, and Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Newly Remodeled, Nice, and Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was in DC on business in October 2012, and stayed at this hotel. It is in an old brick bank building caddy-corner from the National Portrait Gallery - and since I traveled to DC on an early Sunday morning, I was able to spend some time at the wonderful museum across the street on Sunday afternoon. The Spy Museum is also next door, but I didn't have time to do both.

When I travel I try to stay in hotels that belong to major national hotel chains, and I've always found Courtyards by Marriot to be quite nice. I chose this hotel due to the easy walking distance to my meeting on Monday morning, and I was very glad I stayed here. The bed was comfortable, and I slept well. The property has been remodeled since I was here last, and I recommend it for business travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your business and for sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear that you experience was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    199
    73
    27
    10
See reviews for
188
122
39
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a long day of driving from atlantic city we were greeted by the valet with bottles of water due to the extreme heat that DC had been experiencing. thankfully over the next 2 days it was nice and cool. Our hotel room was adequate, nothing fancy and there is a nice bar right at the entrance. across the road is the Spy museum which was fun and just down the block is the Ford theatre and across the road is the hop on hop off bus. Our only one complaint was that breakfast was included with our stay and the the first morning was complete chaos. We arrived 30 minutes before closing and there was hardly anything left except some awful liquid scrambled eggs however the next 2 mornings which were a weekend, all went well. Other than that, this hotel is very good and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location. We apologize for the not so good dining experience. The service you receive is not a true reflection or our staff. Our restaurant team always delivers outstanding service and as you experienced the follow day of your stay. Thank you once again for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fabulous location. We attended a concert at the Verizon Center which was a block away. We walked to all of the major tourist locations. The hotel courtesy lotion is YUMMY. Comfy beds. Nice views of pedestrians. It was clean. I didn't like the breakfast voucher, it made no sense. We just for milk & cereal from the cvs around the corner. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Just get a room, the location will save $$$ on cabs & mass transit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations's Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I am so pleased we helped to make your weekend special. Thank you for your kind remarks, for your business and for coming to stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our in-room amenties, and we hope to welcome you back again in future.


Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Courtyard hotel is in a great location in Washington DC. Near the tourist attractions and a Metro stop. Great restaurants close by. What makes it really excellent though is the staff. David behind the checkin desk was super helpful and the bellman Robbie was great. Remembered our name and called us by name throughout our 4 day visit. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. David and Robbie provided such an excellent service and assistance to you. The both of them along with our entire team is our greatest assets and makes us that much better than our neighboring hotels. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Marriotts can be hit or miss but this one was definitely a hit - nice size room, attractively decorated, large spotless walk-in shower, very clean room overall, and extremely helpful, friendly staff at a good price. The hotel is very conveniently located just 2 blocks from the metro and right across the street from National Portrait Gallery. The bed was very comfy too and best of all, no nasty bedspread! And when I requested a room change bc the view was of the side of a building, they immediately did so and I had a great view down F street.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face a wall so be sure to ask for one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location ideal. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and are glad you experience our property to be a “Marriott Hit”. Thank you for your sharing your feedback, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our family took a four day trip to Washington DC this past week. We had the most wonderful time at this hotel. It was centrally located between the White House, Smithsonians, and Capital building, so we could all walk to any one of them within minutes.! There were also many restaurants to walk and eat at, and we loved the pizza at "PI" next door and FRozen YO for a treat down the street.
We arrived Friday evening and were promptly greeted by Francis the bellman with a smile. The front desk clerk(Dave) sweetly checked us in and called up to the room minutes after we got in to make sure we were happy and comfortable. We loved the view from our corner 9th floor room and the only thing lacking was a microwave, that Dave made sure to have sent up right away!
The hotel was clean and bright. The breakfast served on the lower level was delicious and the ladies who worked down there were extra friendly to my children(age 7 and 9). When ever we did need our car (driving to Arlington and the National Zoo) the bellman had it pulled up to the front door within minutes! The kids were able to swim in the pool at night after our long outings while my husband and I enjoyed the hot tub. I cant tell you enough how much we enjoyed this hotel and our entire trip to beautiful DC. I will stay hear the next time I visit the city, for sure!

Room Tip: If you can choose a corner room on a high floor. You will get great views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location ideal. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and are glad you enjoyed our friendly service and food offerings in our Bistro restaurant. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

At the Courtyard by Marriott, there are customers, and there are the dregs - which means anyone with a Living Social coupon. First, there are dozens of blackout dates, which at least they're honest about and show you up front. BUT THEN, there are severe restrictions on how many of the coupons they will accept each week, so you have to book minimum four weeks in advance. This they don't tell you until AFTER you purchase the coupon. I spoke with the Sales Director who told me there are plenty of rooms available on various dates for regular customers, but not for the (lowlife) Living Social people. It's the Back Of The Bus for us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rshorter913, Operation Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I’m deeply sorry to hear of your less than favorable experience with booking the “Living Social” promotional package. The service that you received and as evident through the many great comments from our guests, is not a true reflection of our team. I am committed to ensuring that we change this perception you may have of us. Please feel free to contact me directly at 202-638-4600 or via e-mail ralphshorter@cmccdc.com.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.