We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
milwaukee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Booked an incredible rate through priceline compared to what their website was advertising. Staff was very nice. Can't beat the location. We were steps from Ford's theater, and very close to National Mall and all the monuments. We got a very nice King bed room, equipped with free wi-fi. Room was very spacious for 2. The beds were probably the most comfortable beds I have laid on in a hotel. Overall this is a perfect hotel if you are going to do the whole D.C tour thing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    250
    84
    28
    10
See reviews for
230
152
46
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Staff was friendly. Everything was clean. Happy hour was okay, but I sure would prefer beer over wine. My room had two double beds, but I was by myself. Because of the awkward shape of the room, I think it would have been crowded with two people. Bathroom was really an awkward shape. View out window was of another building. Tv was good. Beds were okay, but doubles are too short for me. AC was loud. Elevators sometimes worked, sometimes they did not.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The service was incredible from the valet to the people at the front desk. Everyone was extremely polite, always offering easy directions and advice to the main attractions and local places to eat. One gentleman stands out by the name of Colby Brite. He was part of the Marriotts food and beverage team. Always with a generous smile and serperb manners, he really made me and my family very comfortable. Thank you again to all the staff at the Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

A decent conversion of historic building, like other hotels in this area. Less successful than the conversion at the nearby Monaco. Banks are not as well suited to hotel use as Treasury buildings.

Location is great, with easy access to Metro and convention center. I asked for a room facing the street for light and view, and was satisfied with my room. A bit smaller than other hotels in this class, with decent furnishings. One of those odd new showers. Would have preferred old fashioned bath. Hotels offers a late afternoon buffet as a bonus to guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The front desk staff (David King and Yael) were awesome! They were friendly and really made me feel welcome. While my room wasn't quite ready (I was early) I had a great lunch at Gordon Biersch (adjacent to the hotel) and when finished with the fantastic lunch, my room was ready and waiting!
The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. Totally impressed with this hotel, and I want to go back to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center. Close to the metro and wonderful sites!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel is in a converted bank building - you can see the vault in the basement. The lobby is one of a kind - clearly a converted use building, but you'll probably not spend much time here. Basement fitness center is adequately furnished; pool is suitable for kids who want to splash, not for anyone who wants to swim laps. I got the impression that the free wi-fi and breakfast coupons were a special consideration given my corporate reservation, but perhaps everyone gets this offer. It's half a block from the Gallery Place yellow line stop - a real benefit when it's raining and you forgot an umbrella. You'll feel like you're in the heart of the capital at this location.

Room Tip: If you want 2 queen or a king bed - ASK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I had a very dangerous fall in the bathtub at this hotel, Warning: if you see some grey, patching like material in the tub, DO NOT STEP ONTO IT, especially if it is wet! Ask for a mat, or better yet ask for a different room. The material became slick when wet and I ended up flying across the tub, hitting my head and ended up at the ER getting a CAT scan. I had huge bump on my head and 2 black eyes. No Injury law firm will sue because DC has " contributory negligence" , which means that it was apparently partly my fault. I have not heard anything from the hotel since either apologizing or assuring that they have fixed this problem in any room, Also, they gave me 4 vouchers instead of crediting my stay...should have at least done both! the place wasn't that nice in any way. Ruined a special vacation and caused me allot of pain and anxiety.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center

Address: 900 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Hotel
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.