We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel, crappy restaurant service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #97 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Huge hotel, crappy restaurant service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights with a friend while visiting DC. It’s a pretty good location if you want to take the DC Metro around the city; it is right next to a train stop. There are a few restaurants in the area and it’s also near the Smithsonian Zoo.

This hotel is huge!!!! Its easy to get lost there are different towers and its confusing. The staff was okay, I can’t say fantastic or great. Some of the people at the front desk were really nice others couldn’t care if I was standing in front of them or not. The operators are not very polite when calling either. Pool is open seasonaly. Parking is expensive about $30 a day I think, but thats just DC. Internet is about $10 a day.

The rooms are nice. Very modern. The hotel is well maintained which I was surprised to see given it was so large.

I do not recommend the restaurants. The staff that I came across was horrrrrrrrrrrrriable. I ordered food to go from the pub/bar that’s there (cant recall the name, it was that bad). 1st I tried to call down and got transferred about 5 times to only find that no one could help me. So I then went down to the bar and ordered food to go. They add a lot of fees on to their room service so I just wanted to get it myself. The bar tender was horrible. I had to repeat my order several times and he acted like he had no clue what I was ordering, like he had never seen a menu before. He got my order wrong as well. So if you stay here I would say just eat out, better service in local restaurants and its cheaper.

Overall, it was a nice stay. I would stay again because of the location and room quality, that’s the only reason why.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    706
    406
    144
    75
See reviews for
243
235
100
963
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed here for a conference. The place is large and has plenty to offer. some of the workout equipment was not funtioning which was surprising as I felt liek the same pieces were out of operation when I was there last week. I stayed in the older part of the hotel and did not have hot water a couple mornings for showers (at least for 10 minutes and then it typically came on)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

This conference hotel has frankly ridiculous prices for what it offers. It offers a basic chain hotel room in an interesting building and charges as though it is a high end hotel with top line amenities.

I came for a conference and stayed in the older part of the hotel, the Wardman Tower. This was quite a hike from the rest of the hotel, and had some problems. First was the temperature, the drafts in that building were continual. I had to wear a jacket to walk form my room to the conference portion of the hotel. Second, most of the furniture was old and fairly heavily used. Not antique, the furniture looked like antique reproductions that had been used for at least a decade. Also, for the size of the room I was in, there wasn't enough furniture. It wound up looking empty and unfinished.

The service was indifferent. There was little to know care from the staff. Housekeeping is spotty. Tissues weren't replaced, nor was the card you can use to request that they replace the linens more often than once every three days. I actually came back to the room one day to find that someone had put a do not disturb sign on my door rather than actually clean my room. I don't use the do not disturb sign, so it definitely wasn't put there by me.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

When I arrived at the Marriott Wardman Park at 11PM, I was told that the hotel was overbooked and they had no rooms left. They rebooked me at their cost at the nearby Omni Shoreham, and they paid for my taxi to/from the Omni. While the Omni is a comparable hotel, the Omni only had a smoking room to offer me upon my arrival. This is the second time I have booked a Marriott hotel thru Priceline "Name Your Own Price" and been denied a room upon arrival due to overbooking (the other time was about 6 months ago at the Marriott Westshore in Tampa, FL).

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I went to D.C. for the weekend with my husband and another couple. We stayed here and LOVED the location. It is in a quiet neighborhood off of a main street, right next to a Metro stop. We easily travelled into the touristy locations of D.C. and loved that the Metro put us right back at the hotel. The room was beautiful, clean, and no bed bugs!! We were able to open the windows to let in the cool, fresh air and enjoyed the shower and large walk-in closet. The beds were classic Marriott and we all slept great. The hotel is much larger than we thought, with a few restaurants, and conference center. The one restaurant had an AWESOME breakfast buffet for $20 that we all could not stop eating! Everyone was extremely nice and helpful, and we had such a great time. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is an old-fashioned sprawling convention hotel in the leafy Woodley Park Neighborhood. From the sound of the other reviews, the main hotel appears to be a challenge--but the historic Wardman Tower, where I managed to snag a room for only $159 per night, is a real treat. The tower is connected to the rest of the hotel by a sun-drenched corridor filled with comfy chairs, potted palms and what I’m guessing is historically accurate floral carpeting. (The tower is probably a not good place to stay if you hate walking; you might need a sherpa to find your room the first night.) My room was large and beautiful with a walk-in closet. Great view of the city. Water pressure like a fire hose. Real windows that open. Friendly front desk. Metro station right across the street, easy walk to the National Zoo and the Adams Morgan neighborhood. Only downside is that there isn’t a ton of counter space in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I was more than shocked upon arriving at the registration desk on Saturday, November 6. I had made my reservation three months in advance. I had requested and was promised a room in the Towers. Upon speaking to the clerk, he said to me, "we do not have a room for you. We are overbooked." I replied "You must be joking as I made my reservation over three months ago. Furthermore, you have my email address and you never contacted me at any time, telling me that you were overbooked. You left me no option but to come to this desk and be told "Too bad, we are sorry, we have no rooms." The fact that you offered me another hotel, and would pay for it, was of little consolation. It was 6 miles away, and all of my colleagues and meetings were at the Marriott. It is a sad day that a hotel chain that prides itself on friendliness and professionalism has fallen so far and perhaps so fast."

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#27 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,107 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#91 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#22 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#82 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.