We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants...bad, indifferent service, even from management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #99 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
West Palm Beach
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Ants...bad, indifferent service, even from management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

It was a simple thing, really, There were ants in my bathroom. At 6:30 a.m. I went to the front desk and asked that they send someone to spray. No worries. But they insisted that they would have to move me to another room--unfortunately no other rooms were available. So they asked that I checked back. I did so--5 different times throughout the day. I also left my cell phone number so that they could call me to let me know when the new room was available. All through the day--up to 9:00 p.m. at night, they never moved me to another room nor did they spray for the ants. Finally at 9:30 p.m. the night manager Jared told me there was nothing he could do--no rooms were available. When I told him that I couldn't believe that no rooms became empty throughout the day, he agreed saying simply that they didn't get around to getting me in a room. He could have cared less. His solution was just to credit me a night's stay. Nice--but it didn't take care of the ants. I still had to ask them to spray. Which they did at 10 at night. Next morning there were still ants in the bathroom. I moved to another room after that and asked for a day-time manager to contact me. It never happened. They really could care less. The hotel is in a decent location--next to a metro stop. It is large, great for conferences--too bad that they don't have the customer service attitude that makes guests feel welcome and attended to. I would not recommend this hotel based on the service I received.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    670
    381
    136
    73
See reviews for
224
227
96
908
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

The other reviews are spot on. Close to the metro and restaurants in Adams Morgan. Restaurants and services in hotel are WAY overpriced and crappy. They act like they're doing you a favor by serving you. Quiet location and the rooms were quiet except for the fact that there was a 1" gap between the floor and the front door so we could hear everything in the hallway and the light from the hallway was very bright. I noticed that in a number of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My grown daughters & I planned a DC weekend getaway and picked this hotel. It was fabulous! Check in was swift and easy..bell stand was so nice and friendly...concierge was very very helpful in mapping out some travel issues with the metro....restaurants were very good, service excellent. We stayed in the older Tower and it was colonial decor...so beautiful! It is very close to the zoo...but we choose to ride the Metro to the Smithsonian and downtown...metro stop is right down the hill from the hotel. The grounds are immaculate! I walked around the looking at the beautiful flowers. We did take a couple cabs to the hotel and it was about $13.00 from Georgetown to the Marriott.
It's mostly for groups and businesses but very tourist, family friendly as well. The bedding was the best...AND it was soooooooo quiet, I felt like I was sleeping at home! Bed was very comfy! You will not find a more friendly hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was so close to the Subway station, as others have noted. The hotel is very large and can be hard to get your bearings. Our room was very large, and had 2 double beds as we requested. The lady who checked us in was very rude (as others have noted as well). The food in the restaurants was VERY overpriced - but it is a big city, so we anticipated that. We had a small refrigerator in our room and we packed breakfast. For dinner, I took the advice of another reviewer and went across the street to Murphy's Irish Pub. The food was reasonably priced and my son loved his dinner (if you want a place a kid will enjoy). We all really enjoyed Murphy's - good prices, big portions. All in all, a good stay. The purpose of our trip was to do the Smithsonian, which we needed the subway to do. If you want to do the free National Zoo, it's walking distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We booked our stay at the Marriot through Priceline and received a great deal for our family trip to the DC attractions. We loved the fact the Metro was right across the street and there was a variety of restuarants for all different tastes within walking distance. We didn't feel the need to use our car the whole time we were there. The pool was a great hit with our girls and the surrounding landscape was beautiful. The zoo is 3 blocks away.

We had read the comments on Trip Advisor about noise. It didn't seem that much louder than other hotels, but we brought a sound machine to block out the noise for a good night's sleep. Our double beds were comfortable but we would have preferred queen beds. The parking and internet fees were steep but we knew that going in. We felt that with our great deal with Priceline that we still came out cheaper if we had gone to another hotel.

The staff was friendly and helpful and our rooms were clean. We had a very nice experience and would definitely do it all over again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My fiancee and I traveled to the DC area for the Fourth of July weekend, we were very excited to stay at this hotel. It is a very big and beautiful hotel. When we arrived the front desk clerk was very bland and was not friendly. None of the staff was friendly or seemed to have a personality. When we got into the room we were sooooo disappointed. The room was very small, no microwave, the fridge was outdated and wobbly. The bathroom floor was covered with hair and the tub was not very clean. The hotel does have bars, but they close way too early. Parking, high speed internet and breakfast was very expensive. The whole hotel was just a disappointment... maybe I just had my hopes too high.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

MY first stay here. They say first impressions mean allot.

If that's the case. I am not impressed! I pulled after traveling cross country at 10:30pm. 3 staff people are standing there ignoring me and my 6 bags and rental car. I finally had to carry them to bellman then go back and move my car closer so valet would pay attention. These 3 watched the whole thing. THEN, then! I waited 45 minutes for my bags before I could get to sleep.

Service means everything, I guess this Marriott didn't get the memo.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#81 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Despegar.com so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.