We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #97 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Took the train to DC and then the Metro to the Marriott. Easy Peasy! Kids wanted to see the pandas at the National Zoo. Trip couldn't have been easier. The hotel was perfect. A quick walk to the zoo. The room was clean and quite spacious. Harry's Pub was great. So was room service! Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    707
    408
    144
    75
See reviews for
243
235
100
966
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Would never stay here again. Terrible service at the higher levels, although some of the low-level staff is very good. We dropped over $4000 at a reception and they couldn't give us the time of day. Sent us an invoice with no info, charging us even more than they first said. Anywhere you stay is likely to be better.

Room Tip: Best room choice would be Omni Shoreham, across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Andy A,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Our goal at Wardman Park is to exceed all of our customer's expectations and I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and the property and service fell short of your expectations. I have shared your review with the appropriate departments and will be sure to personally address your concerns with the leadership in those areas. Please let me know if you would like to discuss the issues further.

Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and the welcome group is awesome. We walked a couple of blocks and then uphill, they showed us a short cut through the lobby to elevator down to street level; 8 level difference. Waiting to check out Harry ' s pub.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I hope I never have to stay here again. The rooms are very small -- even the coffee maker was mini. There is no vent in the small bathroom. The air conditioning was sporadic -- the kind of thing you expect in a cheap roadside motel, not a Marriott. The hallways were ice cold. Worst part of the experience: the fire. I don't blame the hotel for the fact that an arsonist set fires in 3-5 stairwells. I do blame the hotel for its poor and disorganized response. It was absolute chaos, no information, no guidance, no structure. At one point, hundreds of us were herded into a ballroom -- but this made no sense insofar as hundreds of others were sleeping all over the lobby, restaurant, lawn, and another tower of the hotel. Staff handed out sheets and bottles of water --which was basically a pretty random thing to do. The alarm didn't go off in everyone room. Some people didn't know what was going on for hours, and might have inhaled a lot of smoke or worse. The one good thing about the hotel is the location, but next time I will stay at the Omni.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear j7768,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. However, due to the unforeseen occurrences, I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and the property and service fell short of your expectations. There were multiple fires that took place inside the hotel and I can assure you that management was here during this terrible incident going on floors knocking on doors evacuating all the guests that chose not to leave when the alarm sounded to ensure their safety. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments and will be sure to personally address your concerns with the leadership in those areas.

James Redington
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed here for a big meeting. The room was convenient and comfortable but nothing special. The meeting spaces were fantastic however. The steakhouse was good but I felt it was a little overpriced.
This is conveniently located near the metro and within walking distance of the national zoo and national cathedral. Overall, this makes a great launching pad for excursions around DC.
The hotel has a classic tower and then a newer tower with cool glass elevators.
Outdoor pool is a little small given how many rooms this place has but the kids had fun anyway. Once the sun went down some, the fireflies added a nice little charm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I just returned from Washington DC and stayed at this Marriott property. This is a huge hotel located only steps from other hotels (such as Omni) and restaurants. A subway station is located across the street, but taxi fare from DCA is only twenty dollars. Initial impressions were 'so-so.' Seemed the walls were 'paper thin' on the 9th floor. Made the 'upgrade' to the junior suite less appealing. When I went to bed on Friday night, I figured the kids in the room next to mine would be getting everyone up at 6:00AM. However, at 1:00 AM the fire alarm woke me up. Much to my surprise, there was a genuine fire in the hotel. Turns out that someone was intentionally setting them. Throughout this 7 or 8 hour ordeal, the hotel staff went the extra miles to ensure the safety of all the guests. As the night wore on, we were provided with sheets to keep us warm and eventually coffee, Danish pastries, bananas and more was served to over 1,000 displaced guests. IMHO, the hotel did a great job handling an emergency and their behavior helps explain why no one was hurt. Eventually, it was rumored that the police took the arsonist into custody and we were allowed to return to our room. So, thanks to the great staff of this hotel for a job well done!

Room Tip: Ask for upper level floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I am a Marriott Platinum Member and I am very disappointed in this property so far. I came here for a wedding so I am staying. In any other situation I would have checked out. I am leaving for the wedding at about 3:30. I went on a tour of the city at 9 this morning. I returned to the room after 1 PM hoping to relax for a couple of hours, however the room was not made up. I have never found this at another Marriott. I told them not to make up the room until after 4 since I wanted to relax. I have a concern that this may not be done. Perhaps a Marriott in a major city does not show the same care as the other properties. Perhaps there should be a sign to "make up the room" when you leave. I am not even going to talk about a "people mover" that is needed for older or handicapped guests who wish to navigate to Connecticut Avenue.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Our goal at Wardman Park is to exceed all of our customer's expectations and I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect and the property and service fell short of your expectations. I have shared your review with the appropriate departments and will be sure to personally address your concerns with the leadership in those areas.

Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#27 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,119 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#91 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#23 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#81 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.