We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, except for my bathroom!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #97 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Brussels
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine, except for my bathroom!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is well-situated, next to a metro station, if not in the center of Washington, and it has good facilities restaurants and shops. It seems to be designed for conferences, as it has a huge amount of conference rooms and auditoriums. The breakfast was fine too. There were some nice touches, like the complimentary warm cider in the lobby. My main problem was with my bathroom, which was disigned for a midget (I'm 5ft7/170com, and I had to bend my knees in the bath and bend my head down to get it under the shower, which was fixed on the wall. The bathroom fittings were quite old-fashioned too. Oh, and the mini-bar was totally empty. No big deal, just details, and overall it was quite OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    696
    393
    141
    75
See reviews for
238
231
99
940
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stay here at least once a year for a conference. It's one of the nicer Marriotts in the family. The common areas, while large, still give an intimate family feel. The hotel is extremely open so it's easy to connect with people at the conference.

The staff is always accommodating and friendly. The rooms are small, but in great shape. So why not five stars? (1) the location is a bit away from the action (2) the exhibit hall area is jacked up and (3) it's overpriced for what you get.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for a conference in November. The room (Wardham Tower) was ample for two, clean, beds were comfortable. Two small complaints about the room: There is nowhere to hang towels except in the shower, which isn't workable with two people sharing the room. And very skimpy on tea bags.

The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Also, I was at a 5000 person conference and there was never ever a wait for the elevators, which was unprecedented! The lobby “market” has sandwiches, salads, etc.; on two days I had just a large $3 muffin for lunch, which was more than adequate.

Go to the Metro stop and take the escalator down, just for the experience. Someone said it's ten stories long; it was like descending into a sci-fi movie.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It is really sad when a hotel cannot even deliver room service on time..or at all. That seems to be the case with this hotel. It is a huge property! Today I ordered breakfast (room service) in an effort to avoid the traffic of the conference. By 8:10am I knew that it wasn't coming. It just seemed like they didn't care. I explained to the manage very calmly and luckily she took the time to comp me service on the concierge floor. But really delivering room service should not be that difficult. I am still at the hotel and hopefully it will improve. They need to pay special to attention to all details.

Room Tip: Make sure that you make the reservations in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family and I came to DC for two days just before New Years in 2013. If you have stayed in a full service Marriott you know what to expect with this Marriott (which is of course, why one stay's in a Marriott). I am surprised that a hotel this size (it's a big hotel, I think we read 1300 rooms or so) does not have an indoor pool. So,. this is not necessarily the best hotel for kids. We did not experience the bar or the restaurant so I can't comment on those.

My only complaint is that on the first night the suite next to our room was having a significant party and it was quote loud. The door closing every few minutes was quite frustrating. Fortunately, the front desk accommodated a room move at 11 PM.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We recently visited again the Marriott Wardman Park for a three night stay. This hotel is immediately located at Woodley Park metro station (very convenient!). The National Zoo is an 8-10 minute walk up Connecticut Avenue. There is also an assortment of restaurants that are located just steps from the hotel entrance. Reception staff were quite friendly and eager to accommodate our requests. We had a king-bed room on the concierge level (10th floor) that was comfortable and of decent size (the bathroom with tub/shower was a bit on the small size but certainly adequate; my overall rating would have been higher if the bathroom were more spacious). The decor was traditional and included a minibar/fridge, coffee maker, desk with easily accessible power panel for plugging in multiple electronic devices, flat-panel tv, and focused l.e.d. reading lights on each side of the bed. Our room rate included buffet breakfasts so we were quite pleased with the economy of our stay (breakfast buffet is $22.95 pp). The other highlight of this property (as I have written in the past) is the fitness center (no additional fee). This is one of the best hotel fitness centers that I have visited without having to pay a spa/fitness fee: machines, free weights, treadmills with video screens, etc., exercise balls, stretch mats, elastic bands, lockerroom and 24 hour access.

Room Tip: When looking for a room on the Marriott website, check the "flexible dates" box. This wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Warman Marriot is located close to the zoo and a mile north of Dupont Circle, and a nice walk to Adams Morgan. The hotel is nice, the rooms are comfortable and the service is good. It's a good venue for a conference. The metro stop is at the bottom of the driveway and it's an easy commute to many places in the District. Nice restaurants in the area. Food service in the hotel is just OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Marriott and Otel so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.