We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but odd layout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #97 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Maumelle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice location, but odd layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Recently I traveled to D.C. with my husband on business. The hotel booked for us was Marriott Wardman Park. The building seems to be an old one linked to a newer building, so this spacious hotel has a very odd layout. To get to the room we had been given, we had to walk through several lobby areas and down a long hall to the only elevator that accessed our floor. Our king room was very nice, but small with a very small bathroom. It had a safe and a little frig which helped a lot! And the location of the hotel was awesome! It was 2 or 3 blocks to the zoo where we enjoyed the Christmas Zoo Lights for free. And the Metro stop was around the corner from the hotel entrance. Several really good restaurants and a McDonalds were all within easy walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    707
    408
    144
    75
See reviews for
243
235
100
966
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed one night here at this very impressive looking hotel from outside. Aside from being
extremely large and confusing hotel, it was shared with a mass of humanity for some
business weekend. For $300 plus a night, our room was tired. Bathroom was small with
no exhaust fan when showering. Poor drainage and beds were not up to Marriott standards.
Very disappointing for a Marriott property. If your not with large business group...stay somewhere
else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear brooklyn48,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Our goal at Wardman Park is to exceed all of our customer's expectations and I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect. We are the largest convention hotel in Washington, DC and I do apologize that we did not to a better job personalizing your stay. I am also sorry to read about the cleanliness issues in your guest room. I have shared your review with the appropriate departments and will be sure to personally address your concerns with the leadership in the housekeeping areas.

Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Enjoyed a quick overnight at the Marriott Wardman Park back in September. This was not the first time we've stayed here. Overall stay was fine as usual. The hotel is HUGE, the rooms are not but they are suitable for the area. The corridors are starting to stThe pub in the hotel is very nice and the service was wonderful. Our only complaint was the large (100+) group of young students who were running through the lobby area at 11pm. My guess is the hotel thought it best to have them running around the lobby versus room corridors but it was still a bit dysfunctional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Hotel is located in a very nice neighborhood near the National Zoo and next the Metro. The hotel itself is nice, but overwhelmingly large. My room was comfortable and quiet with a nice view of the city. My sense is that this hotel is largely for conference attendees in that you have everything you need under one roof…..restaurants, gym etc. You could conceivably stay for days and not need to leave the premises. For the individual traveler it's a bit huge. But still a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just got back from a conference and was not very impressed. I have stayed at many Marriots, but this has to be the most uncomfortable nights sleep ever at a Marriot! The beds were hard as a rock! The pillows were high and hard. When I woke up I had a neck ache. My co- worker had the same problem. Needless to say I was very disappointed. The worst part was it was 300 a night for a terrible stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear tlccorkmaster,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Our goal at Wardman Park is to exceed all of our customer's expectations and I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect. I am sorry to read that you did not get a good night rest due to the quality of the bed in the room you occupied. If possible could you contact me at 202.328.2000 to discuss your stay in further detail.

Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night and that was more than enough. The bathtub had multiple stray hairs all over it, including a particularly nasty-looking one on the soap dish. The shower curtain was torn in several places, and the hair dryer looked like it hadn't been cleaned *ever*. There was a problem with the door to the room shutting all the way, and in the morning there was a lot of noise in the alley over which my room's windows faced. The walls were also very thin so I could hear conversations in the hall.

On the positive side (for me, because I had a lot of luggage), I was able to park in the parking garage near my hotel room so I was close to my car. The garage was literally on the other side of the hall outside my room. Had there been a door to the garage directly in front of my room, I would have been 10 feet from my car. The reason that this was possible was because I was given a room in the hotel's "Park Tower", and those rooms are underground (the hotel was built on a hill so one side is underground and the other side overlooks an alley).

However, if you are not driving and you don't need to park (or if you don't care about being near your car), I would absolutely avoid the "Park Tower" wing of the hotel. I can't help but think the term "Park Tower" itself is a cruel joke on the hotel's guests, who think they will be sleeping in a room on a high floor overlooking a tranquil garden, when in actuality they will be sleeping in an underground room attached to a parking garage on one side and overlooking a noisy alley on the other.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Sarah7038,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Washington, DC Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Our goal at Wardman Park is to exceed all of our customer's expectations and I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect. Given the number of your concerns I would like to discuss these matters directly. If you are willing to do so and have the time, your additional feedback will be extremely valuable in providing our future guests a problem free stay. I can be reached at 202.328.2000.

Best regards,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to the Wardman Park Marriott for business and up until this most recent stay have never experienced a problem at all. In fact, the Wardman Park Marriott has been one of my preferred options in DC. I stayed as recently as July of 2012 so the dramatic deterioration of the property caught me highly off-guard.

My experience prior to check in was excellent as I was attending a conference and knew the hotel would be at capacity so I called to see what type of room might be available based on my elite status. I was upgraded to an executive suite and very appreciate for that. I realize that upgrades are never guaranteed and I may sound a bit ungrateful based on the following complaints, but I feel that I spend enough nights in a Marriott each year to be able to make a fair judgment.

The suite I was given was on the 2nd floor so that was the first "uh-oh" in my book. I have a stated preference for high floors, but give the upgrade I was okay with it. The room itself was large and impressive, however, upon closer look the furnishings were worn and a complete mish-mash of items with no consistency. It looked like the most worn items were replaced with less worn items from different rooms. Still, that's not a complete deal breaker. The real problem was the suite being adjacent to the elevators and with this being the largest hotel in DC the never-ending noise of elevators going up and down in their shafts made sleep problematic. I was informed that there was no availability to change rooms that evening, but to check back the following morning. So I did check back and was given the option to take a junior suite away from the elevators. I was happy to downgrade if it meant a quieter room (and I was thinking a higher floor). So I moved rooms and ended up staying on the second floor. There was no longer elevator noise, but the room as in awful condition. Paint was peeling off of the walls, furniture was chipped and cracked, shiny surfaces had spots all over them, and even the box containing coffee/tea items had its lid broken off. Frankly, I was surprised this is a room Marriott would put a platinum guest in. To top it off, the room next door was filled with obnoxious guests speaking so loudly that I could hear every word of their conversation. And this room was as close as possible to a major construction site on the hotel property. So to put a noise sensitive guest in a room adjacent to a construction site after moving from a room with elevator noise struck me as odd.

I went back to the front desk and spoke with the front desk manager. He apologized for the entire experience, but indicated room-wise that I was stuck there unless I wanted to downgrade yet again to a standard room. To his credit, he had security take care of the noisy guests next door and did offer me some rewards points for my trouble.

At the end of the day, I stay at many large conference hotels and have not seen one in as poor condition as the Wardman Park. Yes, it takes more work and costs more money to keep such a busy hotel in top physical shape, but it's also money well spent as I can't imagine returning until the hotel goes through a major room renovation.

I realize I've spent a long time on this review, but wanted to share my experience. As you can see from many of my prior reviews, I typically am not so critical, but this was a very disappointing stay at a hotel that had previously been high on my list.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#27 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,119 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#91 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#23 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#81 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.