We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but lacking basics” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #96 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful but lacking basics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed this past weekend and it was a pretty typical Marriott. The room was fine, the beds comfy, and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great near the Metro and inexpensive restaurants were along the street next to the hotel. I was surprised to find a fridge in the room, it was great bonus and enabled us to have more food/snack options.

There were some issues however. I don't think of myself as a very fussy guest, I don't ask for anything beyond the basics and rarely have had to contact the hotel staff when I travel. This weekend was an exception. First, the remote for the TV didn't work. When I was getting ready the first morning, I realized we didn't have shampoo in the bathroom (all other toiletries were present just not the shampoo). Housekeeping barely serviced the room - someone definitely came in and emptied the bathroom trash and left some fresh towels but the beds were left unmade, the room trashcan full, and the coffee/tea area wasn't refilled. All these things were fixed relatively quickly with (multiple) calls down to the front desk but it was annoying to have to ask for the basics services I would expect from a hotel of this level.

Some other issues were with the room itself that can't be fixed by a quick call downstairs. The walls were thin so we could hear our neighbors. There was something going on with the pipes because anytime our neighbors flushed their toilet or used their shower, our toilet would run (and it was noisy!). Our toilet was running pretty much all weekend. Also the layout of the center tower put most of the rooms far away from the elevators. There were 8 elevators next to each other but the guest rooms fanned out in 3 hallways away from the elevators - just poor design when the building was constructed. Our room was about as far from the elevators as it could be which was disappointing since I always request to be close to the elevators through my Marriott Rewards profile.

Overall, it wasn't the best experience but wasn't the worst either. I'm willing to give the hotel staff the benefit of the doubt that they were off their A-game due to a busy weekend. I would give this hotel another chance if the price was right.

Room Tip: Request a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim R, Resident Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear phillyjolie,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience regarding your stay at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we fell short of our standards and your expectations in the service that you were provided. I have reviewed each and every one of your concerns with the leadership team at the hotel. If you have time, I would like to personally speak with you regarding your stay. If you have the ability to do so and would like to discuss your concerns further please contact me at 202.328.2000. Again, my sincerest apologies for not delivering you a better experience.

Respectfully,
Jim Redington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    637
    353
    124
    70
See reviews for
210
222
93
845
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were greeted by a very very nice gentlemen upon our arrival, who even let us check in early so we could get a start on sight seeing. I loved the hotel structure and beautiful rooms. Rooms were very clean. It was the perfect location to hop on the metro and get to all the places we wanted to see during our stay.

My only two complaints about the place were the noise level in the rooms. Above us and next to us were quite loud. My second was the concierge. He was chatting on the phone with a friend while three of us were waiting in line to talk to him and seem very annoyed that he had to get off.

Love to give a huge shout out to bartender Nick in Harry's Pub. Fantastic guy, real pleasure to talk to and great suggestions on places to go and eat. We didn't even go out the second night in town and just went back to Harry's to hangout with him again.

I really did enjoy my stay here and would definitely consider it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for a work event and really enjoyed the historical area and location of the hotel. It was so close to a Metro Stop and had some great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is HUGE, so be prepared to get lost once or twice. Did not eat or drink at the hotel. The pool was small but cute. Again our favorite part of this hotel was the location, the parks nearby are beautiful and the restaurants and bars were great. Would recommend for a group, but may not be the place for a family vacation

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights for a work conference and I really enjoyed staying here. It is a beautiful hotel and it is on a rather large property. I stayed in the Center Tower (which is right in the middle, off of the lobby) which is very convenient for getting around the hotel to the meeting rooms. However, the other tower is a little bit of a walk to get to. But if you are not having to go to the meeting rooms (i.e., you are staying there for vacation, staying in this other tower might be a better situation as it is closer to the metro station. The hotel property is right next to a stop on the red line which makes this hotel a super convenient location. However, the one thing that drove me nuts was that you have to walk up a somewhat steep hill and the distance was enough to make it a little bit of a challenge. After 5 days, I did not look forward to returning to the hotel because of that walk back up the hill i would have to make. However, that is the only reason why i gave this hotel a 4 instead of a 5. Service is great. Room was a good, comfortable size and bed was very comfortable. On the same block as the hotel are several eateries, a CVS and a small market which made this location very convenient for a number of reasons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel was easy to get to by car. They have parking onsite at a pricey $36/day for self-park (the same price on our first day when we arrived at 4:00 p.m.). The best thing about this hotel is the 1 minute walk to the metro. Our room was in the centre tower - it was very small. There were 2 beds - we don't think they were doubles. The bathroom was also tiny and the toilet did not flush properly (plugged more than once during a 3 night stay). You could hear lots of noise room to room so earplugs were necessary. Lots of places to eat close by, including McDonalds if that's your thing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights the first week of September, the hotel is a one minute walk from the Woodley Park Metro station, bus stops, and about a dozen restaurants (McD's, organic Indian, Irish pub, lebanese, etc). The room was very nice, with easy to adjust air-conditioning. Staff were very helpful and pleasant during check-in. The pool was 'seasonal' , which means closed after Labor Day, which was a bit surprising to us. The huge lobby area had 6 internet terminals, 4 of which were working while we were there. It is a 5 minute walk to the National Zoo, the National Cathedral would be a 30 minute walk. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Standard Marriot in terms of amenities and finish. Right next to the metro, so easy access to the DC downtown core. Enough restaurants in the area that you can choose to stay close in the evening. Food in the hotel is expensive and so-so. Lines for food can be extremely long during convention breaks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even among the most sophisticated hotels in Washington, DC, Wardman Park Marriott rises above the rest. With a blend of charm, modern elegance and a historic landmark setting, comfortable guest rooms, extensive event space and experienced staff make our hotel the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers. Situated on 16 garden acres with 1,314 guest rooms including 125 VIP suites, plus an outdoor pool and sundeck, our hotel is the perfect place for vacationers to enjoy their down time. Families will delight in our close proximity to the National Zoo and other top area attractions. With 195,000 sq ft of event space and 95,000 sq ft of exhibit space, meeting and conference planners find Washington Marriott Wardman Park a perfect venue for events of any size. Additionally, the comprehensive conference services and expert staff ensure that every event runs smoothly and flawlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.