We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #97 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three days while attending a conference. I debated between three and four stars on this hotel, but decided on three because of the lack of value for the money.

PROS:
The room (double bed in the center tower) was fairly clean and quiet. The grounds (especially around the pool and Wardman Tower) were well manicured and featured plenty of seating and lots of beautiful flowers. The conference rooms were spacious, well lit, and well marked (the conference center at this hotel is quite massive). The hotel is located within walking distance of the National Zoo, the Woodley Park Metro Station, and several nice restaurants. There was also a cafe/coffee shop in the hotel that had good coffee and a decent selection of pastries, sandwiches, etc. for breakfast.

CONS:
I got the feeling this hotel catered to people traveling for business (myself included), and as such everything was way overpriced (since it is assumed the employer/client are picking up the bill). I had a conference rate room (which was still around $300 a night) and it was nothing to brag about. The room and bathroom were fairly small, and the bathroom was in need of some updates (or at least a new bathtub - there were cracks on the tub and the grout around the tub was looking a little grimy). For $300 a night I also had a rather disappointing view of the roof and an air conditioner. Self-parking was a whopping $36 a night, and wi-fi access was $12 a night. (This is my personal soap box, but I feel wi-fi should be treated like electricity - it should be included in the price of the room.)

Overall, the hotel was decent and conveniently located, but if returning to DC for a personal trip, I believe I could find better value for my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    706
    406
    144
    75
See reviews for
243
235
100
963
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is huge. I only stayed here one night, but it was very comfortable. The rooms are spacious with great beds and linens. The bathrooms are large with good lighting. I had breakfast in the hotel and my omelette was delicious. It is very big and a bit of a hike depending on what area of the hotel you are staying in. The parking is expensive, but that's to be expected in D.C. It's not in the tourist area of D.C., so you will need to take the metro to get to any sights. All in all, nice hotel with clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Short stay early June - family member had moved to that part of D.C. Impressive appearance, outside and in, but massive construction site right next door does detract from ambiance. Routine staff appropriately behaved, but made no requests other than to ask Concierge if safe to walk in neighborhood in late evening. Apparently we were put in older part of hotel. Room decent size and looked good - though dated, bed reasonable, but bathroom small; surprised no shaving/make-up mirror in such an expensive room. Also needs a full-length mirror somewhere. Real disappointments were very, very slow wi-fi and also atrocious cable TV that had a poor quality analog signal and a very limited selection of channels - unlike any other Marriott we've ever seen. Very annoying when trying to relax at the end of a long busy day out with family. Did not use dining or convention facilities, which sound from other reviews like positive aspects of this property.

Room Tip: Ask if any updates to more modern amenties have been done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Wardman Park hotel for a week in June. It was a pleasure trip so we were interested in DC sights and things to do. The staff at the Wardman was very helpful in making recommendations and suggestions on how best to get to each location of interest. The room seemed to have been remodeled during the last decade but everything still seemed fairly new. The room was clean and spacious and pretty well centrally located to see many things. It is very close to the National Zoo, National Cathedral, Embassy Row, and American University and is a couple subway stops away from the mall, museums, monuments, capitol, and white house. Plenty of restaurants are within walking distance and the hotel is situated in a forested park-like setting. It is considered a four star hotel which we reserved via the priceline web site. So for what we paid we thought it was a great value. The two annoying things we noticed was that the room carts seemed to be left in the hallways throughout the day. Sometimes as many as four carts were in our hallway blocking the path with nobody anywhere near them. This was the case for the entire week. The second thing was for a four star hotel the room should have had an in room refrigerator, ours had none. For staying a week I require a refrigerator so I had to find other means.

Room Tip: If you wish to have access to a microwave or refrigerator look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for a convention. The room, one of the larger ones, was well appointed, and the bed was dreamy. The mattress was perfect. It is large, that is what it is, but it is grand. Convention food was very good, even thought our speakers were always late and they had to hold the food. The staff was quick and efficient at serving, very polite, and cheerful.

The hotel is near the metro and there is even available parking on the street a block away if you do not want to pay a parking fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

very large hotel, but staff were very helpful. our room was a decent size but the bathroom was very small and outdated, although the shower was powerful enough. we flew back to the UK from Dulles airport and asked the front desk how much to expect to pay by taxi, we were told $4o but ended up paying $75! quite a difference. lots of nice restaurants nearby but food was good at the hotel too. use the one dollar bus from the square at the main road to get into the centre (one dollar per trip) its much nicer than the metro which is also in the square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Ive at the Wardman four times now for conventions and i really like this hotel. Its not located right in the heart of DC but is close enough that a short cab ride will take you to everything. Its in a leafy green setting about a mile or so away from Dupont Circle. The original old tower was an apartment building before it was a hotel and the rooms reflect it...large multi-roomed rooms with a retro 60's decor. I feel like im in Mad Men when i stay there. The newer tower has modern rooms but they are small. The lounges and coffee bar are great and so are the conference facilities. My only complaint would be the food...it isnt anything special at any of the options. But that doesnt really matter because there is a wide selection of options a block away. I like this hotel and look forward to staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#27 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,112 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#91 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#26 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#22 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#82 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.