We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #95 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Upland, ca
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Noisy rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is not as nice as most Marriotts I have stayed in. The rooms here are noisy from the hall way staff to the other guests. I can hear people cough in the next room and when they leave the door shuts hard making a lot of noise for other guests. The rates were inflated because of spring break, checking a few weeks later prices were cheaper. The hotel is located on a hill, this may make it hard for some people who are walking around. It is close to some places to eat, but lacks the major appeal of the Marriott regulars. There is a Marriott Courtyard down the street which is closer to Dupont Circle, maybe at a little less cost. It does have all the main amenities as the usual Marriotts. The local coffe bar/stand is too high priced and does not carry any fresh items, all packaged goods.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the end of the hall maybe it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    733
    418
    144
    75
See reviews for
255
243
100
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was attending a board meeting followed by a conference. The staff is exceptional. Every interaction was pleasant. The maids, bellhops waiters shop clerks all made me feel special. The rooms are nicely appointed and clean. It's close to the train. and I was able to get around easily by taxi. It's not new, but its comfortable. If you like the bar scene it's friendly and safe. Shopping is close by as are many ethnic restaurants, Can be pricey, but a good value.

Room Tip: Get a room on the floor with the lounge. The snacks are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abingdon va
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the Woodley Park/Zoo Metro Station [just go out the Bus Entrance and walk down the drive, cross the street and go up a few steps and on your left are the escalators to go down]. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was plenty big and tastefully decorated, clean, with nice linens and lots of towels, a large closet with iron and board and lots of hangers, a nice coffee station and fridge, great bathroom with pretty tile floor and hairdryer and a built-in clothes line. And the heating/cooling system was quiet and effcient. Try to get a room in the Central Tower [ours was 108] to be closer to everything. I was very ill with food poisoning one night [from an outside restaurant] and called the desk to see if they had a doctor. Within 30 minutes a wonderful doctor from the city [affiliated with Johns Hopkins] knocked on the door with a security officer. He brought several over- the- counter remedies with him and got me over the worst part and wouldn't take any money. This is a wonderful service that I never knew Marriott had.
The only complaints I had were only 1 towel rack [it's in the shower] and a hook on the door, our wake-up call was 30 minutes early 1 morning [better than late], the pillows do get a little flat but there are 4 on each bed. But none of these would deter me from going back there.

Room Tip: Room 108 on the mezzanine in the Central Tower was convenient and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the centEr tower. Rooms wer clean and comfortable. We were able to get a rollaway bed so we had more sleeping room. Valet parking was expensive ($41/night) but the car was always ready in 5 minutes. Room rate was more reasonable than hotels closer to the National Mall.

Red metro station is literally right outside the door for easy access to National Mall and other DC areas. National Zoo is a short walk away. National Cathedral is a 5 minute drive (or a 1 mile walk) away. Some might be interested in Embassy Row nearby.

Great places to run; National Zoo, Embassy Row, Rock Creek Trails (start at the National Mall and run back to the hotel via Rock Creek Trails for a six mile run), local neighborhoods.

Lebanese Taverna and Open City Cafe were good choices for dining right around the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I used a free pass for the night then I got upgraded to an executive suite - sweet. The hotel is a bit old but has stories. When I was booking it, the Marriott staff told me it had received many presidents in the past. I don't know which might have stayed in my room. The room was spacious, well decorated, French style. However, there're two down sides: 1. The bath room was very small, small like one in a regular Residence Inn room. For an executive suite, it's wrong. 2. There're no mini bar, no glasses in the fancy bar kitchen. We didn't have chance to use other service like gym or pool.

The location is also great. 1min to a metro station which we didn't use. The street in front is a very social avenue with lots of restaurants and shops.

Parking, oh, right, we gotta pay parking in DC. 36$ over night is not a good deal and the ramp is very tight, very very tight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you like quaint, historical architecture, stay in the Wardman Tower. Unless you have difficulty walking it isn't really far from the main part of the hotel, just about a 2 minute walk. And it is lovely, with some gorgeous views and beautiful details in the rooms. However, the rooms aren't well maintained and mine had a noisy heating system with no thermostat, a smelly air vent, drapes that didn't close all the way, and other problems. I had to ask for a real blanket as the down blanket is more like a double sheet and provides little warmth. The windows open, though, which is a big plus for me because i like fresh air. The staff aren't particularly interested in being helpful or friendly. They are usually talking to each other and seem annoyed to be bothered. The last day I called the desk in the morning to ask if late checkout was possible, as I had been told I should by the desk clerk on duty, and the clerk who answered snapped at me, "Checkout is at NOON!" in an exasperated voice as if I had been pestering her for hours. But minor bothers were made up to for me by the lovely view and delightful neighborhood.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view. And get a blanket when you check in because the heating is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently I spent three days the The Marriott Wardman Hotel in Washington DC.
The staff members at the front desk, bartenders, room service folks, and fitness center personnel were very helpful and exhibited excellent customer service. the beds were very comfortable. I highly recommend this Marriott property.

Room Tip: If you're traveling on Washington's Metro. The hotel in on the Red Line, and just a short wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#29 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,290 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#88 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#23 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#83 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#27 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#81 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.