We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for DC visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% off
Ranked #93 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Holland, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location for DC visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the centEr tower. Rooms wer clean and comfortable. We were able to get a rollaway bed so we had more sleeping room. Valet parking was expensive ($41/night) but the car was always ready in 5 minutes. Room rate was more reasonable than hotels closer to the National Mall.

Red metro station is literally right outside the door for easy access to National Mall and other DC areas. National Zoo is a short walk away. National Cathedral is a 5 minute drive (or a 1 mile walk) away. Some might be interested in Embassy Row nearby.

Great places to run; National Zoo, Embassy Row, Rock Creek Trails (start at the National Mall and run back to the hotel via Rock Creek Trails for a six mile run), local neighborhoods.

Lebanese Taverna and Open City Cafe were good choices for dining right around the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    612
    339
    117
    65
See reviews for
202
215
92
803
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I used a free pass for the night then I got upgraded to an executive suite - sweet. The hotel is a bit old but has stories. When I was booking it, the Marriott staff told me it had received many presidents in the past. I don't know which might have stayed in my room. The room was spacious, well decorated, French style. However, there're two down sides: 1. The bath room was very small, small like one in a regular Residence Inn room. For an executive suite, it's wrong. 2. There're no mini bar, no glasses in the fancy bar kitchen. We didn't have chance to use other service like gym or pool.

The location is also great. 1min to a metro station which we didn't use. The street in front is a very social avenue with lots of restaurants and shops.

Parking, oh, right, we gotta pay parking in DC. 36$ over night is not a good deal and the ramp is very tight, very very tight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you like quaint, historical architecture, stay in the Wardman Tower. Unless you have difficulty walking it isn't really far from the main part of the hotel, just about a 2 minute walk. And it is lovely, with some gorgeous views and beautiful details in the rooms. However, the rooms aren't well maintained and mine had a noisy heating system with no thermostat, a smelly air vent, drapes that didn't close all the way, and other problems. I had to ask for a real blanket as the down blanket is more like a double sheet and provides little warmth. The windows open, though, which is a big plus for me because i like fresh air. The staff aren't particularly interested in being helpful or friendly. They are usually talking to each other and seem annoyed to be bothered. The last day I called the desk in the morning to ask if late checkout was possible, as I had been told I should by the desk clerk on duty, and the clerk who answered snapped at me, "Checkout is at NOON!" in an exasperated voice as if I had been pestering her for hours. But minor bothers were made up to for me by the lovely view and delightful neighborhood.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view. And get a blanket when you check in because the heating is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently I spent three days the The Marriott Wardman Hotel in Washington DC.
The staff members at the front desk, bartenders, room service folks, and fitness center personnel were very helpful and exhibited excellent customer service. the beds were very comfortable. I highly recommend this Marriott property.

Room Tip: If you're traveling on Washington's Metro. The hotel in on the Red Line, and just a short wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights with wife and kids to visit colleges. A bit out of the way but they give you in and out garage privileges and opportunity to self park. So, if you must drive to DC, this is a great feature. Rooms were small but clean and check in/ check out we're courteous and without problem. If you are intimidated by huge hotels and big conference groups, this hotel is not for you. Had appetizers in hotel and cocktails, they were average. Ate across the street at the Lebanese restaurant and it was very good. All in all, a good hotel to stay at but I would be careful as to what I pay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a place that achieves its goal of being an entirely average, serviceable conference facility. The rooms are fine but not great, the meeting spaces life-sucking but adequate, the food nothing special but it probably won't kill you. All in all, the perfect place for warehousing large numbers of conference-goers. It's only special attribute for me is that it is a stone's throw from the Metro which makes it easy to escape when it's time to flee the conference and hotel food for the many finer options DC has to offer. Definitely NOT a good choice for personal travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. The lady at the checkin was very friendly and nice. The lobby is nice as well. I went up to my room on the 6th floor and it was obvious this is an old hotel. I could hear people running up and down the hall (there was some sort of military ball going on). I also woke up in the middle of the night to the people in the room next to me having an argument. I could hear every word as if they were in the room with me and they were not screaming at each other. I also was again woken up early in the morning to hear the very loud house keeping staff discussing thier Saturday evening activities in the hall outside my room. The bathroom is really small and would be very difficult for more than one person to get ready in at a time. I also could smell a burning smell when the lights near the door and coffee maker were on for an extended time. The sit down restaurants have good food. The coffee cafe had the worst service. I went there three times and every time had to ask the staff if they could take my order after standing there and waiting while they chatted to each other. The fitness center is really nice and big. It has an extensive weight room (for a hotel) and lots of cardio machine. The last complaint is the pillows. I slept horribly on them. They seemed fluffy but within an hour went completely flat. I woke up with a horrible knot in my shoulder/neck, as did other people that I was traveling with who stayed in other rooms. The temperature control in my room did not work. I was freezing the entire time. I had the tempuerature up to 76 and it was still freezing. I travel often and usually keep my room under 70.Overall this is not a hotel I would stay at by choice in the future.

Pros- Weight room, sit down restaurants, check in staff, mini fridge/coffee maker in room
Cons- Thin walls in rooms, small bathrooms, dated overall, uncomfortable for sleeping, rude coffee shop staff

Room Tip: Try to stay in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear beachbreeze66,

We genuinely appreciate you taking the time to review the Marriott Wardman Park. I deeply regret that your stay was not an enjoyable experience as it should have been. A member of our management team will be in contact with you shortly.

Yours in Hospitality,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Even among the most sophisticated hotels in Washington, DC, Wardman Park Marriott rises above the rest. With a blend of charm, modern elegance and a historic landmark setting, comfortable guest rooms, extensive event space and experienced staff make our hotel the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers. Situated on 16 garden acres with 1,314 guest rooms including 125 VIP suites, plus an outdoor pool and sundeck, our hotel is the perfect place for vacationers to enjoy their down time. Families will delight in our close proximity to the National Zoo and other top area attractions. With 195,000 sq ft of event space and 95,000 sq ft of exhibit space, meeting and conference planners find Washington Marriott Wardman Park a perfect venue for events of any size. Additionally, the comprehensive conference services and expert staff ensure that every event runs smoothly and flawlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.