We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the size of the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel to your Saves list
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Deal: 20% Off
Ranked #96 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the size of the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in two other hotels during this trip and this was the most expensive with the smallest bathroom. Overall we had a good stay though, the room was cozy, we were able to check in early, the provided lots of comfortable pillows, the personal products they supplied were lovely, and the staff was very friendly. It was very clean, very quiet, we had great views of D.C., and there are a lot of places to eat that are within very close walking distance. Also the Old Town Trolley picks up at this location in the morning. There is also a metro station within walking distance. The zoo is supposedly close, but we never made it due to bad weather. It was also a great place for the conference I attended with 1000 people. You are pretty far from the heart of D.C. but it is very accessible with the metro, taxi, etc.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of D.C., it is very worth it. We could see the Capital and Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Ally B,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you've taken to provide feedback of our hotel and am pleased that aside from the room size your overall stay was enjoyable. I invite you to stay with us again in the future and suggest that you try staying in one of our Wardman Tower rooms, which can be bigger than our other towers.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    733
    417
    144
    75
See reviews for
255
242
100
1,001
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in the beginning of February for one night for a business trip. The room was very nice and clean. I think it is important for people to be aware that this place is huge. So, if you have a problem walking far, you should ask for a room in the main building. Did not stay long, so I cannot comment on any meals.

Room Tip: if walking is a problem, ask for room in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mermaid Val,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay with us at the Marriott Wardman Park hotel. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us in the future.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed there recently for an event. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. The staff were friendly and very helpful though they had several events each with a large number of people. You would think you'd see some semblance of stress, but they were riding it very well. Kudos to the staff. Rooms were well cleaned and quiet. I'm sensitive to chemicals and sometimes have to move hotels because the cleaning chemicals can be too strong. Not with this hotel. It was perfect. Inside the hotel/on property, there are good eating options, shops and boutiques that kicked it up a notch for a longer stay.

We had the evenings to ourselves and found plenty of great close by good restaurants. LOVED Open City Cafe around the corner. I may go back just to go to that cafe. You must try the Italian Pizza Kitchen around the corner if you like Italian. It's a gem that doesn't appear like one. I had a meatball craving like no other and they more than satisfied.

Nearby, there are fun places to visit all within walking distance. The National Zoo is nearby... check out the Pandas :).

Enjoy!

Room Tip: The cafe downstairs has good hot breakfast sandwiches ready to go. For a sit down breakfast, go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear TracyTravelAdventure,

I am genuinely delighted by your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback of our property. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was upgraded to an executive room, and it was fabulous. The hotel has great service, and comfy beds. The staff in the concierge lounge went out of their way to make travelers feel appreciated, and the food was great. I really enjoyed my stay, and would stay here again. Close to the metro, and several places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear cntrygal71,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such and wonderful and glowing review of the Marriott Wardman Park. I am pleased that we were able to provide you with such a positive stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Wardman Park for a conference in February. The meeting facilities are very good; the staff was friendly and efficient. We stayed in a larger executive suite that was very roomy and comfortable. There are two restaurants in the hotel -- both decent but a little pricey. The bar was very pricey but a fun atmosphere. The hotel is only a short walk from a stretch of Connecticut Avenue where there is a row of restaurants (the Lebanese Taverna and Tono Sushi were both good), as well as the Woodley Park metro station. Very easy to get to the Mall, museums, monuments, etc. For those who like to work out, there is a good fitness room with lots of machines that appear to be well-maintained. Overall, a good stay and we would return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear PHX100,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Marriott Wardman Park. Thank you for your wonderful review. We always want our guests to take full advantage of our proximity to a number of restaurants and of course the metro. Furthermore we are delighted when our guests are able to take advantage of our 24 hour fitness center. We will look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel staff was awesome for every experience from check-in to check-out. Very nicely appointed, if a bit dated. Within walking distance to the zoo, right next to a metro stop, and many restaurants are right nearby. BUT--be careful if you want american style food--mostly ethnic in this neighborhood except for McDonalds!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Melody P,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Marriott Wardman Park. It is a true pleasure to know that your stay was overall an enjoyable experience. I will be sure to let our staff know to keep up the good work. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had a nice one-night stay here with my husband and 17-year old daughter for a campus visit @ American University. The staff was very helpful in getting Metro details, cabs, and general info. We were place in the older section of the hotel with 2 full size beds in the room. Let's just say full-size beds are NOT made for two-adults - how soon we foget!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WardmanPark, General Manager at Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Debba17,

I apologize that the bed sizes were not ideal for your stay. I do appreciate you taking the time to review the Marriott Wardman Park hotel and am glad to hear that the rest of your stay was pleasant. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Safe Travels,
Dan Nadeau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#30 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 4,258 reviews
Adams Morgan
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC \ Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#67 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#88 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#82 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#23 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Address: 2660 Woodley Road, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you arrive at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park, you'll find a charming neighborhood in the heart of Washington, DC filled with amazing restaurants and quaint shops. Just a few steps away, you'll discover the funky stores and ethnic cuisine of Adams Morgan or the exciting night life of Dupont Circle. Head north to hear the sounds of animals coming from the National Zoo. Or venture into the hotel's natural surroundings to enjoy a quiet hike or invigorating run through Rock Creek Park. With a Metro stop just outside the doors and area airports close by, it's a premier city destination just two Metro stops from everything DC has to offer. We believe that brilliant meetings begin with brilliant space and offer an astounding 195,000 square feet of versatile space that can be customized for groups of all sizes. It's an unmatched place to meet where accommodating venues and equally helpful planners can bring any groups unique ideas to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.