We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient and So good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kennedy Center Rooftop Terrace Restaurant

Kennedy Center Rooftop Terrace Restaurant
2700 F St NW, Washington DC, DC 20566-0002 (National Mall)
202-416-8555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kennedy Center Rooftop Terrace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #758 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: National Mall
Cross street: Virginia Avenue NW
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro on the Orange & Blue Lines. Kennedy Center provides free shuttle to/from Foggy Bottom Metro.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“So convenient and So good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Traveling to Kennedy Center for performances via the Metro is so easy now with their complimentary shuttle from Foggy Bottom to Kennedy Center. Due to bar weather we made a reservation for the Terrace Restaurant before our show. Service was excellent. My baby lettuce salad was crisp with a tasty dressing. My husband had fresh seafood chowder and said it was best he ever had. My scallops were so great I would go back tonite. My husband had sole which was also very good. The dessert and coffee were Ok but not outstanding. It was a bit pricy but considering it was a quality location in DC - not more than elsewhere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    15
    38
    23
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
567 reviews 567 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Convenience isn't worth it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My friend and I went here before a play this week, and we were terribly unimpressed with the unimaginativeness of the menu and dated decore. The waitstaff were uppity and tried their best to rush us along. The food came out so fast, we knew it couldn't have been made fresh; the options were more strange than avant-garde or creative; and it was all incredibly overpriced. There are so many fabulous places nearby, it's ridiculous for this place to be so underwhelming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great start to the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Kennedy Center has a very nice view of the Potomac Georgetown waterfront. We were seated with a mind to the spectacular sunset, without having to ask. The entres (filet mignon and poached salmon) were very good and nicely portioned. Our server, Abo, was perfect - attentive without being intrusive, and a great personality. It was the perfect start to a dinner and a show evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A crying shame!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The view from this restaurant is one of the best in Washington. With its elegant decor, it could have been one of the top places to dine. But the food was disappointing and overpriced. Our white wine arrived less than cold, and my crispy salmon tasted warmed over. The polenta was lukewarm and the whole dish seemed to have waited quite a while in the kitchen before it was brought to our table. The waiter we had was nice but not on the ball. My friends also thought their dishes were mediocre. There was no excuse for this on a slow, early evening or anytime at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Elegant and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had dinner before a play at the Kennedy Center here. We loved it and wished we would've arrived earlier to relax and enjoy the room and the service. The place is like a step back in time to the large formal dining rooms of the past. Not that it's outdated, you just don't find many places like this anymore. Reminded me of the formal dining on a luxury cruise ship. We were seated next to a window which provided a great view of the DC skyline. Our waiter was great and right there the moment our glass needed filling or our plates cleared away. He knew all about each dish on the menu. I had the scallops on a pureed pumpkin with a fantastic sauce. Still craving them! Wish we would've had time for dessert. This was certainly one of the highlights of our trip to eat at the Kennedy Center before our theater experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennedy Center Rooftop Terrace Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Kennedy Center Rooftop Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennedy Center Rooftop Terrace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.