We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small plate Italian that's quite good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graffiato

Graffiato
707 6th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-289-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Graffiato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #301 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small plate Italian that's quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The 2nd floor of the restaurant has a nice ambiance with brick walls and pleasant seating areas (the first floor is a bar). The pastas are really excellent, and we especially enjoyed the potato gnocchi. All the dishes we tried had a creative twist to them, and the pizzas were expertly done. The small plates add up quick though, and the meal can be quick pricey once you're done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    135
    53
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not your typical, classical Italian Restaurant - but a pleasant surprise and change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Three of us, all work associates, went to Graffiato for a business lunch. It was the first time there for any of us, and we went there because it was close to the office and labeled "Italian". We were looking forward for a typical Italian meal -- pasta, bread, butter, salad, etc. However, we were pleasantly surprised when the restaurant turned out to be a small, upscale "tasting" restaurant, with small portions and "sharing" of all dishes, including appetizers and entrees, etc.

Having said the above, probably most patrons are aware of it's reputation as a culinary destination, with a noted chef concocting small, specialty dishes, but I wanted to clearly note this should any potential guests think it's a typical Italian family restaurant. Again, however, let me note that the food was excellent, quite tasty (we had appetizers, salad, and shared a pizza), the ambiance was balanced and pleasant, and the wait staff was 100% professional, attentive, and very friendly. Portions were small compared to the typical Italian family restaurant, but adequate and undoubtedly much more cholesterol-friendly!

All in all, we probably won't return, but it was a visit worth making, and we'll continue to spread the word amongst our friends who enjoy this particular type of dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pizza pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As a New Yorker, I tend to be very judgmental of the pizza I consume in other cities, but Graffiato was just interesting enough to keep me engaged. The White House house was excellent, well balanced with ricotta, taleggio, persciutto and black pepper honey. I wanted to love the countryman, but ended up being mildly satisfied. The burrata with kumquat puree and shaved pork loin was also quite decadent. The prosecco on tap was a nice bonus, as were the grilled vegetable appetizers. Great place for a big group.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Food should be served on heated plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

First visit got a table upstairs on walk in. Wine was good but overpriced and not a generous pour. Had the squash blossoms which were ok, enjoyed the gnocchi and the sweetbreads were outstanding. Only problem was the food cooled down so quickly we were eating everything cold. Waitress was attentive if somewhat misleading in her description of the food. Love the small plates to share concept. Who needs a groaning plate of food when you can sample yummy selections of a variety of favors!?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gotta get the Pepperoni Sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here a couple of times and I'm never disappointed! If you've never been here you have to try Mike's "famous" pepperoni sauce from when he was on Top Chef! My husband actually said his pizza is the best that he has ever had and I would agree! I had the Soft Shell Crab special, which was so yummy that I ordered a second one! Our bartender was awesome and we'll definitely be back...thanks Mike!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graffiato also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Graffiato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graffiato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.