We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
400 Michigan Ave., NE, Washington DC, DC 20017-1566
202 526 8300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Is the most beautiful church I ever seen. This time because the time I couldn't have the guide tour but I would absolutely come back and do the full tour experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    120
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredonia, Ny
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Easter at the Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

What a beautiful way for our family to celebrate Easter! While planning our visit to DC, this was at the top of our list.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I wasn't certain I would have time for a visit to the National Shrine during my recent DC visit, but I was ultimately delighted that I made the time. The basilica is absolutely breathtaking, and I suspect one could spend an entire day wandering throughout. I will certainly recommend a visit to my colleagues and friends visiting DC, Catholics and non-Catholics alike.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We visited as a result of reading about it in Trip Advisor. It is a little out of town but easily found from the Brookland Metro station. It is very impressive from the outside with its blue dome. Inside, it has so many altars dedicated to Mary, all different and beautifully decorated. The ceilings are all mosaic which sparkle. Despite its busyness, it does retain a sense of serenity and holiness. There was a sung litany in one part of the church and exposition if the blessed sacrament in the crypt church. The guards were friendly and helpful. We had a pretty good lunch there as well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am not a Catholic but was taken here by a relative who is, otherwise I doubt it would have been on my agenda whilst in Washington. But I'm so glad he did, this church is simply amazing, simply the most beautiful church I have ever been in. The mosaics are stunning, I guess Americans would say "awesome" [somewhat overused though so inadequate in this case!]. A bit out of the way but worth the short metro trip. Tip - if on the metro in the rush-hour, get near the train exit doors before you arrive at your station, they don't stay open long and two of our party once found themselves 'trapped' inside because people charging on didn't give them a chance to exit and they had to go to the next station and come back!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.