We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception
400 Michigan Ave., NE, Washington DC, DC 20017-1566
202 526 8300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 486 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Magnificent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Truly beautiful. I 'm amazed that you could build
something so beautiful. Easy to get there take
Metro Red line to Brookland station and walk
thru Catholic University Campus about five blocks.
You can't get lost you can see dome of church for miles.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    155
    24
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Universal Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If ever I am in Washington DC on a Sunday, this is the sanctuary of my choice. As amazing and awe-inspiring as is the first view of the Byzantine-Romanesque basilica edifice that is as distinctive as the great cathedrals of Europe, it is within that one can capture a degree of serenity, even in the "Great Upper Church" during Mass but for anyone closely connected to his idigenous or ethnic roots it may be found in any one of the numerous side chapels dedicated to the Blessed Virgin, each represented artistically in the environs and mystique of a different country and nation. For the Irish-American the side chapel of Our Lady of Knock evokes the faith of our ancestors and its carriage to the United States. For Catholics it is a "must see," for others it is for those who find beauty in art and architecture and perhaps for an opportunity to communicate with his or hers "Higher Power."

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Fabulous period architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Standing at the back of the cathedral looking at the sanctuary makes one feel in awe. It may be a catholic facility but I'm spelling catholic with a lower case c to emphasize that it is a universal place of peace and calm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Such a Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Incredibly beautiful church on the campus of the Catholic University of America. Similar to the churches in Rome. Mass here was such an enjoyable experience. Very worth the Metro Trip out to the site.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The tour felt rushed. There was not an open interchange for questions. I would have like to have moved through the shrine with a little more information a pittle slower. It was worth the visit. There's no entrance fee. The Shrine is absolutely beautiful. My husband and I loved walking through the Shrine and visiting the crypt church for a quiet moment of prayer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.