We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Washington DC to your Saves list
The Fairmont Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Returned here for another visit because the service is excellent (especially on the Fairmont Gold floor) and the rooms are well-appointed. Staff are professional and happy to help with any requests.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    342
    82
    44
    12
See reviews for
334
406
89
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

We were in DC for the Cherry Blossoms and we missed the peak by nine days. The Kanzan trees in the courtyard however seemed to be at their peak and they were very lovely.
We are a fan of the Fairmont and this one definitely meets our Fairmont expectation. The lemon-water station by the lobby was a nice welcome. We were on the 8th floor and were told that the room was recently renovated. It was very nice and clean. The location is also pretty good with short walk to Foggy Bottom metro station and Georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

While the rooms and facilities were elegant, clean and comfortable, it was the staff at the Fairmont Washington DC that made our stay worthy of an A+. From the moment we arrived, the professional yet friendly parking attendants and bellhops greeted us and once inside, the front desk staff offered water in the lobby and included our three-and-a-half year old in the check-in process by enlisting his help and explaining things of interest to a kid like the use of door keys, directions to the pool, evening room service suggestions, etc. It was cute, made it fun for him, and kept him well-behaved while in the lobby.

The concierge provided maps, good insights and advice, and the housekeeping staff were attentive and thorough. All greeted us with a smile and hello when we approached or walked past. When a bathroom light went out, an engineer was up to look at it within minutes.

The location was perfect for us - close enough to walk to the sites, yet far enough to get us moving while on vacation. Easy to get to all of the typical tourist/family travel spots from the hotel. We wouldn't have changed a thing about our weekend stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Hotel is beautiful, great location, reasonably priced; you already knew all that from prior reviews. My story is about the Concierge, Chris. Tickets for Game 1 of Capitals v. Penguins went on sale last Thurs. Tried to book online, but Ticketmaster will sell only to credit cards with a D.C. billing address - I'm in Toronto! So, I called the Concierge, and spoke to Chris. Told him I'm arriving the next day, asked if he can get me a pair of tickets. The guy spent the day on the phone tracking these down. Were great seats! We had a blast, and it made our trip. (Though "Museum" & "Spy Museum" were also huge hits with my kids, 14 & 12.) (So was the lemon water next to the Concierge desk.) So happy we chose the Fairmont! Thanks to everyone and, of course, particularly Chris.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Had reserved a longer stay but due to family illness, needed to shorten it. Staff could not have been more gracious. Room beautiful, great location, spotless and elegant. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

My wife, 12-yr old daughter and I stayed at the Fairmont Washington for three nights ending May 2, 2009. Though not our first time at a Fairmont property, this was our first time at this location. Overall, we had an excellent experience. The hotel is very nicely appointed, from the lobby, to the restaurant, the courtyard, and the rooms. We stayed in a spacious suite and the furnishings, layout, and bathroom fittings, we all top notch. The fitnesss facility was expansive, though a little more TLC needed in certain areas (inflate the basketballs please and tighten the rim on the backboard). Great location too, close to Georgetown with proximity to its many shops and restaurants (and neighborhood streets for a quick run). The breakfast buffet and service were good, but not great. Overall service level was excellent, including the concierge, who was very helpful in recommending the best way to see the city.

Overall, a very classy hotel and 4.5 out of 5. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We stayed here with my friends and all of our children for 3 nights during Spring Break. I had absolutely no complaints. The rooms were pretty and clean and there concierge service was amazing. They were friendly and helpful and always had smile on their face. We ate the buffet breakfast at the hotel every morning. It was diverse and the food was delicious wasn't overly expensive. The location was very good. Close to Georgetown. In order for me to rate a hotel 5 stars I have to be "Wowed" and all though this hotel does deserve close to 5 stars it does not have the over the top special feeling as a Rosewood, Ritz or Four Seasons. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Washington DC

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.