We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best mattress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Washington DC

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best mattress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I want to find out the name of the mattress because it
was the best sleep I had in years. It was a bit of
a walk to the Museums but not far from the White House.
There are some nice restaurants and outside cafes.

Room Tip: We had an exterior room with no view but very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much Jack D! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

The mattresses at the hotel are Seally Posturepedic Luxury Plush Pillowtop mattresses. They certainly contribute to a wonderful night’s sleep!

Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    877
    317
    81
    38
    10
See reviews for
305
376
85
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i recently stayed for one night at the Fairmont and found the hotel to be very good, with just one minor niggle.

The pros:
- Very good location and pretty much walking distance (a bit long) to all the major sights in DC.
- The rooms were very large and spacious and very well doen up with all modern amentiies.
- The bathrooms were large. Though the shower and tub area were the same, it was still adequate with some nice amenities,
- I ordered in room dining and the food was good and served on time.
- The check in / check out was swift with no hassle.
- The hotel has a nice lively lobby with a bar that was quite active and served some nice drinks.

The only one niggle faced was with housekeeping. The TV remote in the room didnt work and i finally got the same after making 2 calls and waiting for a good 45 minutes. This seemed a bit odd abd would have expected better prompt service.

Overall, its a good hotel and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much RMJK! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize for the inconvenience with the television remote and appreciate you mentioning it. Feedback like this is very useful to us. We are grateful for your compliments toward our location and property.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived until checking out The Fairmont Washington was wonderful. It was clean and beds very comfortable. The service from the staff was outstanding. The piano playing in the Lobby was yet another plus. Would recommend without reservation.

The renovations being done did not bother us.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much Adrienne O! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are grateful for the five star review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time with us.

We are very pleased with all of your kind remarks and are especially appreciative of your compliments toward our team. We agree that their service is outstanding – we could not be more proud!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Fairmont is conviniently located and a great hotel. You can't beat the location for it's proximity to Georgetown and all the major sites to see in D.C. The room is comfortable and clean. For the price paid, this is an excellent option when visiting D.C.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much Cory P! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review.

We completely agree with you regarding the location – the whole city opens up from our doorstep. It sounds like you did a great job taking advantage of exploring all that Washington has to offer.

Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Fairmont is located a short walk from Georgetown and close to Dupont, and lots of places to eat and shop. The hotel restaurants are excellent and I highly recommend trying the daily "shrub" on the breakfast menu - something different!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you kindly Cm W! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review.

We are grateful for all of your kind words and your remarks regarding the location and dining options. It sounds like you did a wonderful job of exploring the city and we are glad that we got to be your home base!

Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Incredibly warm and attentive staff, excellent accommodations and a five minute walk through a very safe neighborhood to the Metro. The lobby bar serves what may be the greatest cheeseburger on earth.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you kindly Christopher M! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are honored to be your first TripAdvisor review.

We are grateful for all of your compliments and especially pleased with your kind words toward our team. “Incredibly warm and attentive” are great ways to describe them—they truly are our greatest asset.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a conference. Great, comfortable room & common areas. Stadium seating for meetings which were more executive education. Great set-up. Fantastic gym space also, although somewhat cut-up on different floors. Location is sort of in dead area of DC between Foggy Bottom and Georgetown, but easy to get around.

There is some outside construction going on to the hotel facade so make sure you ask for a room away from the construction.

Room Tip: Note construction comment above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at The Fairmont Washington DC, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much jvaj60! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad you had a “fantastic” stay with us.

Our Executive Forum was designed to facilitate guests when they have a speaker and is certainly an ideal setup for executive education.

We are glad to have had the opportunity to host you and your group and hope to see you back in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Washington DC

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Washington DC 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.