We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but very pricey for what you get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown to your Saves list
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel) (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for 3, pay for 2
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orlando
Level Contributor
186 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good hotel but very pricey for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It's a nice urban hotel. Everything was great. No problems whatsoever. My only comment is that it is priced way too high for what you get. Location is ok, but not great for a pleasure trip. I have stayed at several similarly priced or less expensive hotels in D.C. That were just as nice or better. Again, nothing wrong, just expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Floridagator! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the disparity in price and what you get. We strive to offer our guests the highest possible value with extraordinary service and are sorry we were not able to do that for you.

We hope to have you back and turn you into a Fairmont loyalist,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    419
    105
    46
    16
See reviews for
439
518
97
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this Hotel. My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for 6 nights and everything was perfect! The staff was very helpful and always available. Concierge was great and took care of dinner reservations with wonderful suggestions. Adam one of the Doormen was the best! We celebrated our wedding anniversary during our stay and we were so surprised to find champagne and strawberries waiting in our room for us. What a nice touch! The location of The Fairmont can't be beat. It is so close to everything. Nice walk to plenty of great sights and resturants. Our room was very spacious with a lovely view of the atrium below. 5 stars for this Fairmont and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much MacMar! We are honored that you chose to spend your wedding anniversary with us and are so pleased that our team was able to make it special for you. They love making our guests feel special and valued as individuals.

Adem is amazing and we will certainly pass along your compliments. You are always in good hands with him!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever been. From check-in to check-out service was perfect. Staff always gentle and efficient. On top of that the hotel is very well located.
We also used the academy after check-out to have a shower before flying home. Very good also.

Room Tip: Fairmont gold floor has nice rooms and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much Marcelo A! It looks like you traveled a long way to visit and we’re glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. That’s exactly what we want to hear!

So nice of you to share your compliments toward our team. They really are “perfect.” Thank you again and please come visit next time you’re in the area,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The only negative about our whole weekend experience was Friday afternoon check-in. We had received an email earlier in the day offering us early check in for our 12:45 p.m. arrival. When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready. Even though we had told them we wanted to check in earlier than the standard 4:00 check in time, and we had received an email saying that they were expecting us at 12:45 we were forced to sit in the lobby. We were told that they would call us on our cell,phone when the room was ready. I reminded them that we had a religious service to attend at 5:00 and needed to get into the room to change beforehand. By 4:10 they still had not called us to say that our room was ready. We approached the front desk, once again, and they said "Yes, your room is now ready." But still we hadn't received a phone call. We went up to our room but told them we needed our bags right away. The valet had taken them out of the taxi for us. By 4:45 we had still not received our bags. We needed to change and get over to our 5:00 service. We went downstairs and took our suitcases ourselves out of the valet station. No one stopped us, or asked us to prove that the suitcases were ours, it was not until later that evening that the valet called our room asking if we had received our bags!

But once we were in our room, with our bags, everything was very nice. The hotel is beautiful. The people were very helpful and pleasant. The food in the restaurants was excellent and the check out procedure was quick and efficient. it is too bad that our check in experience didn't match the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: We were on the tenth floor and later learned that some of the lower floors had more recently remodel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you Freddaema! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. The feedback you offer is very valuable to us. We constantly strive to improve our offerings and phone calls during check-in is definitely an area we can look into. You will be happy to know that Mr. Andrew, our General Manager and Regional Vice President, has named speed of check-in and check-out a top priority for the next year. We look forward to showing you a great check-in on your next visit!

Again, thank you for the feedback and compliments toward the “very helpful and pleasant” team. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Going to DC for meetings, we wanted to stay outside the usual fray of activity, so we selected the Fairmont in Georgetown. Great decision. Loved, really loved, the ambience of their lobby bar. It's an atrium with skylights that covers the entire width of the hotel and faces the inner garden courtyard. We enjoyed having drinks there in the late afternoon. I especially liked the pianist that played for a couple of hours. Hope they keep him for a long time!

Location is great as well. We walked everywhere--to the Foundry Methodist Church on Sunday (great service and amazing acoustics in the rotunda sanctuary), to the Georgetown shopping area and local restaurants, and easily 3 blocks to the Metro.

We ate both breakfast and dinner at their restaurant. My wife particularly like the optional meals they had prepare for people with specific diet need: she is diabetic. Food was creative and reasonably priced for a high-end restaurant. Service was slightly slow, but quite acceptable. At least, all the servers we had were intent on doing a good job. (Speaking of slow, I hope they will add a faster internet server for the wireless connections in the rooms--free if you "join" their club for no cost. It worked, but you needed lots of patience.)

This hotel will probably be our first choice for DC stays in the future. It is a wonderful property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for the five-star review rjmartintx! We are so glad to be your “new go-to hotel in DC.” That’s what we want to hear from every guest!

Your compliments toward the property and location are spot on. The lobby is a wonderful retreat in the heart of the busy city; we refer to it as an “urban oasis.” So glad you thought the same! Your feedback about the Internet is also appreciated. We have a Task Force within the hotel specifically dedicated to maintaining and improving our Internet offerings and this is useful to them.

Thank you again and we can’t wait to have you back. Tell your wife the diabetic offers will continue to be here and are always fabulous thanks to our incredibly talented Culinary team.

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The concierge is extremely helpful. The staff from the front desk all the way upto management are as friendly and helpful as can be. Gave me tips and places to eat and overall great experience. Room was much much bigger than I thought it would be and the shower was heavenly. Extremely close to white house and all major sites.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much Imran J! What a wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and help future travelers make their hotel choice. We are especially grateful for your compliments toward our team. They are dedicated to what they do and their devotion shows in the service they offer. We’re so proud to work with them!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at the Fairmont for a conference and found it very suitable and pleasant. Particularly impressed by the excellent food quality, conference facilities and great location. Definitely a great place to hold a large gathering.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontDC, Manager at Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much DCKB! A five-star review from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor is a great compliment. We’re honored to have your endorsement!

We’re glad that you enjoyed the conference and enjoyed the food quality and location. We will pass your compliments along to our Culinary team.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#1 of 135 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,452 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown

Address: 2401 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly The Monarch Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#4 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#5 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sunlit urban oasis that soothes the spirit, the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown is authentically local from its airy "bringing the outside in" design by renowned architect Vlastimil Koubek, to its celebrated cuisine by Juniper Chef Ian Bens and resident beekeeper who is continually creating seasonal and innovative dishes using ingredients from nearby farms.Our luxury Washington, D.C. hotel offers 415 spacious guest rooms and suites that will provide you with a welcome retreat. Try a relaxing visit to our hotel’s large health club and indoor pool or sit outside with your laptop or book in our serene courtyard garden. Whether here for business or your annual family vacation, we understand that your visit to Washington is important. During this important time, our goal is to help create wonderful memories for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Fairmont Washington Dc
Fairmont Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.